Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sanislo Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2010
- a community member
I love Sanislo the teachers are awesome I never want to leave Sanislo!Mr.Simmons and the other teachers are great they believe in us!They trust and they make a bond with us like we are family and I always feel like I'm family!And they feel like they're family to me too!

Sanislo Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2008
- a parent
Our family has been extremely happy with his Sanislo experience. Extremely diverse student body. Experienced and motivated teachers. A location among the trees and wetlands. Our principal, Ms. Nelson is in her second year and is working hard leading by example and setting high expectations. The art teacher is EXCEPTIONAL!


Sanislo Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2008
- a parent
Sanislo is a small school but it's a grate school my daughter loves sanislo. She seas it's the best school in seattle.And she enjoys unicicling after school. The teachers are grate teachers.For kinderegarten it's the beast schooling there could ever be.

Sanislo Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sanislo Elementary School 3

Posted January 30, 2008
- a parent
Still a great school, but when we lost Eric Nelson, an amazing principal & Mrs. T, a HUGE loss for Sanislo's PE & SCATTS program...well it just doesn't feel the same. We still have a fabulous Art teacher! My daughter loves the after school CDSA program, they are wonderful at helping her with homework!


Sanislo Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2007
- a parent
Amazing staff. Terrific teachers. Great parent support. Afterschool fun includes jump-rope club, tumbling, chess and much more. Highly recommend no matter where you live - worth the drive.

Sanislo Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2006
- a former student
I actually just graduated from Sanislo myself and I have to say Sanislo is the best school ever! The principal Eric Nelson is absolutly fabulous. My teachers Sherry Wicklund and Dennis Purcell have taught me great things and both have a passion for teaching. Best of all there is Ms. T (the P.E. teacher) She has been teaching for over 35 years now and her husband Mr. T and herself have started a program called SCATS which was established over 30 years ago. SCATS which I am in includes juggling, unicycling, tumbling, jumrope, double dutch and much more. We perform for schools and other groups and have a great time! I LOOOOOVE Sanislo so much and I hope anyone who reads this will find out more about this totally cool school and love it as much as I did!

Sanislo Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2006
- a parent
sanislo is by far one of the most hidden elementary school in west seattle. very structured, highly motivated staff under great leadership makes the school environment an outstanding place for children to learn and grow.


Sanislo Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2005
- a parent
I highly recommend Sanislo to other parents looking for a great elementary school. They have a variety of programs available to students - both to those who struggle academically as well as those who need more challenge and are able to excel beyond their peer level. Additionally, Sanislo provides a multitude of extra-curricular programs to challenge and develop awareness of the student including sports, music, art and things like environmental awareness. This is an ethnically diverse school and Eric Nelson, the principal, is amazing in the way he works to meet the needs of families in this community. Within the first few weeks of school Eric and the entire staff know the name of every student at Sanislo. If you're looking for a creative, warm, welcoming scool, with a commitment to academic exellence, Sanislo is the school for you!

Sanislo Elementary School 4

Posted June 10, 2004
- a parent
Sanislo is great! Caring teachers and staff members go over and above to get to know students and families. The environment is warm, friendly, and creative. The school provides many ways for students to shine. The ratios are a bit high, especially given the open-concept of the school. I was concerned about that at first, but I think the positive aspect of allowing the teachers and instructional assistants to truly team-teach and model cooperative behavior outweighs the downside. The principal at the school is a big-picture guy, who demonstrates respect towards faculty and staff and delegates easily. He maintains an excellent rapport with families and students. The disciplinary style at the school is to maintain high expectations for student behavior and to deal with problems with empathy and respect, rather than punitive measures, for the most part. Focus on whole child through extras like SCATS, music, art, community garden.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sanislo Elementary School
1812 SW Myrtle St, Seattle, WA  98106
(206) 252-8380
Last modified Sanislo Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sanislo Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top