Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Schmitz Park Elementary School 4

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
I love this school! My son had a fantastic Kindergarten experience last year -- in large part because of our wonderful teacher. I also heard fantastic feedback about the other Kindergarten teachers, too, so I would tell new parents that your incoming kids are in excellent hands! Every staff member I have met has been engaging, and the principal is very available/approachable. The PTA is simply unparalleled -- family involvement (in terms of both time and dollars) is very generous, and I'm grateful for everyone's hard work. I feel proud every time I tell someone in the community Schmitz Park is our school. The only reason I can't offer 5 stars is because the facility itself is far too small and outdated for the 600+ students who go there. But a new school is in the works, and parents and staff are involved in that process, too.

Schmitz Park Elementary School 1

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
Over crowded. Very poor leadership. Read the school report card, staff and parent "grade" for leadership consistently dropping over the last few years. Parent complaints about principal mostly ignored. Parent concerns voiced to principal gets your child targeted for discipline. Only good thing is most teachers good but the best ones leave for other schools. Now my child out of there I'm very relieved.


Schmitz Park Elementary School 3

Posted August 21, 2014
- a parent
This is an incredibly overcrowded school. There are 12+ portables. Very uneven teacher quality, first year teachers are consistently hired. Overall there seems to be more interest in achieving high standardized test scores than any creative or inspired teaching. The active PTA is the best thing this school has going for it.

Schmitz Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school. The only issue I can think of is that it could be more ethnically diverse. The staff and principals are great, the expectations high, the PTA does wonderful things and raises large amounts of funds to add all types of before and after school enrichment programs. Haven't had a single bad experience there in 4 years. No complaints at all!

Schmitz Park Elementary School 2

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
This school used to be a great school until the new principal got rid of every old teacher that dared not to agree with everything that he tried to do. Teacher that were working at the school for decades were pushed out and the principal brought his own crew. I didn't think that this kind of Stalin style purges could happen in the schools. I though that's something that politicians did. It has actually been very disturbing to watch great teachers being pushed out. The teachers that didn't want to leave on their own were set up by the assistant principal and pushed out that way. Very, very disturbing.


Schmitz Park Elementary School 4

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
This school has the family supported Singapore Math curriculum unlike nearly all of the Seattle Schools. The PTA is powerful and demands a lot of time and $ from families. Its often called a "public private school" by locals. The PE program was superior, but has declined in the last few years . (The program swung to strongly favor girls.) The school is now so crowded, there are 14 portables on the property. A new school is slated to be built in 2016 blocks away. The school currently sits on acres of woodland, and classes are frequently guided on hikes through the woods. Kids get a broad education. Increasing extracirricular activities (like dance class) steadily reduce classroom time for core studies, which may or may not be good. The teachers are first rate, and to ensure this, poor performing teachers have been fired.

Schmitz Park Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
It's a great school, with wonderful teacher's and wonderful students.

Schmitz Park Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are engaged and creatively gifted. The staff is helpful beyond my expectations and we come together as a community with a common focus.


Schmitz Park Elementary School 4

Posted March 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Schmitz Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Schmitz Park Elementary School
5000 SW Spokane St, Seattle, WA  98116
(206) 252-9700
Last modified Schmitz Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Schmitz Park Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top