Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Schmitz Park Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
The homework assignments that are given are geared toward standardized tests. It's repetitious, not geared to the student's capabilities and guaranteed to drive the love of learning from children.

Schmitz Park Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
One teacher was very much in tune with our child's capabilities (Coincidentally her tenure preceded the current principal's arrival). One teacher was so checked out that three months into her class she was unaware our child could read. She instead engaged him in repetitive drudgery covering skills he had mastered three years prior. Overall most of the teachers seem to mean well, but it's extremely uneven as to how effective they are.


Schmitz Park Elementary School 3

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
Strengths: Parental involvement, plenty of resources to compensate for shameful public funding levels Weaknesses: Uneven teacher competency and commitment, administration that puts plausible deniability over children's interests, glaring oversights in regard to student safety (recent example: autistic child with egg allergy is given gingerbread house icing made from raw egg--class is offhandedly told "remember not to eat the icing") Bottom line: There's nothing special here. If your child is of average abilities and likely destined for a career of low-level bureaucracy and rote repetition, this school will be adequate--provided there's a parent with free time to pitch in and cover the gaps. If your child has any special capabilities or needs or is exceptional in any way, you would be better served elsewhere.

Schmitz Park Elementary School 4

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
I love this school! My son had a fantastic Kindergarten experience last year -- in large part because of our wonderful teacher. I also heard fantastic feedback about the other Kindergarten teachers, too, so I would tell new parents that your incoming kids are in excellent hands! Every staff member I have met has been engaging, and the principal is very available/approachable. The PTA is simply unparalleled -- family involvement (in terms of both time and dollars) is very generous, and I'm grateful for everyone's hard work. I feel proud every time I tell someone in the community Schmitz Park is our school. The only reason I can't offer 5 stars is because the facility itself is far too small and outdated for the 600+ students who go there. But a new school is in the works, and parents and staff are involved in that process, too.

Schmitz Park Elementary School 1

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
Over crowded. Very poor leadership. Read the school report card, staff and parent "grade" for leadership consistently dropping over the last few years. Parent complaints about principal mostly ignored. Parent concerns voiced to principal gets your child targeted for discipline. Only good thing is most teachers good but the best ones leave for other schools. Now my child out of there I'm very relieved.


Schmitz Park Elementary School 3

Posted August 21, 2014
- a parent
This is an incredibly overcrowded school. There are 12+ portables. Very uneven teacher quality, first year teachers are consistently hired. Overall there seems to be more interest in achieving high standardized test scores than any creative or inspired teaching. The active PTA is the best thing this school has going for it.

Schmitz Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school. The only issue I can think of is that it could be more ethnically diverse. The staff and principals are great, the expectations high, the PTA does wonderful things and raises large amounts of funds to add all types of before and after school enrichment programs. Haven't had a single bad experience there in 4 years. No complaints at all!

Schmitz Park Elementary School 2

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
This school used to be a great school until the new principal got rid of every old teacher that dared not to agree with everything that he tried to do. Teacher that were working at the school for decades were pushed out and the principal brought his own crew. I didn't think that this kind of Stalin style purges could happen in the schools. I though that's something that politicians did. It has actually been very disturbing to watch great teachers being pushed out. The teachers that didn't want to leave on their own were set up by the assistant principal and pushed out that way. Very, very disturbing.


Schmitz Park Elementary School 4

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
This school has the family supported Singapore Math curriculum unlike nearly all of the Seattle Schools. The PTA is powerful and demands a lot of time and $ from families. Its often called a "public private school" by locals. The PE program was superior, but has declined in the last few years . (The program swung to strongly favor girls.) The school is now so crowded, there are 14 portables on the property. A new school is slated to be built in 2016 blocks away. The school currently sits on acres of woodland, and classes are frequently guided on hikes through the woods. Kids get a broad education. Increasing extracirricular activities (like dance class) steadily reduce classroom time for core studies, which may or may not be good. The teachers are first rate, and to ensure this, poor performing teachers have been fired.

Schmitz Park Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
It's a great school, with wonderful teacher's and wonderful students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Schmitz Park Elementary School
5000 SW Spokane St, Seattle, WA  98116
(206) 252-9700
Last modified Schmitz Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Schmitz Park Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top