Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Stevens Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2014
- a community member
I'm a grandparent of a Stevens Elementary child and am so very impressed with this school. The teachers seem to be well trained , nurturing, and effective. The kids seem happy. The space is beautiful and well maintained.

Stevens Elementary School 3

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
The leadership is really lacking at Stevens and it shows in how the teachers treat students and their families. The teachers are pretty good but the level of professionalism is lacking much of the time and I can't say they treat parents as equal partners in teaching the child. As a result well-behaved kids are ignored and learning differences aren't addressed. The class sizes are very large and there is a lot of seat work with tons of worksheets starting in kindergarten. The PTA and parent community are very generous with their time and money so Stevens should be a rock star of Seattle Schools but instead it is just okay and many families move their students to the APP program as soon as they qualify.


Stevens Elementary School 1

Posted January 06, 2014
- a community member
I mentor a kid attending Stevens Elementary. Despite going to class every day, the kid cannot read or write and yet gets passed on to the next grade. Trying to engage the teachers and principal gets a stiff rejection. Not surprisingly, the kid lacks a supportive parent, but the school is failing the kid just as much as the single parent. There is no excuse for this kid to not even learn the basics of reading and writing, and to be passed on year after year until the kid drops out and the school district no longer has to worry about it (but the rest of society does!). I am so glad that my children will not be attending this school. With the positive reviews, I suppose it's fair to say that kids with supportive and active parents do well here, but that's likely the case in any school, isn't it? In Seattle this reality leaves a lot of kids to fail, and they do.

Stevens Elementary School 4

Posted October 25, 2010
- a parent
I wish I could give Stevens 5 stars. I've had multiple children there for awhile. Stevens has many wonderful traits -- dedicated parent volunteers, some truly fantastic teachers, wonderful diversity. But the district is trying its hardest it seems to ruin Stevens. Some classes have 28-29 kids in them in early grades. How is the most wonderful teacher in the world able to be truly effective with that many students? And the district really needs to get a handle on teacher evaluations and marginal teachers -- there are a tiny number of ineffective teachers at Stevens but ugh if you get one for your own kid. Though I'm guessing this is a district-wide problem.

Stevens Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2010
- a parent
Stevens is a terrific elementary school. We've experienced excellent teaching all the way through (my kids are now in 3th and 5th grades). The school is wonderfully diverse with very strong parent involvement. I'm convinced that my kids got better teachers than I could have paid for in a private school.


Stevens Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
Outstanding and committed teachers, in a community that is diverse and embracing its diversity. A really healthy and stimulating place to be for kids.

Stevens Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
Great cultural diversity among students and stunningly effective PTSA. You rich girls sure know how to fundraise!

Stevens Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2010
- a parent
Amazingly good public school with tremendous support from family, parents and the community, located in a tolerant, progressive, multicultural setting. This school represents 'real' America at its best.


Stevens Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Stevens is very multicultural, serves a broad base ethnically and socially, and does it well. Stevens is a great asset to the neighborhood

Stevens Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 11, 2009
- a parent
Stevens is excellent. The community is genuinely diverse (social/econ) and deeply committed to the education of its children. The principal works very closely with the teachers and parents to make sure school needs are being prioritized and met. The PTA raises additional funds to fill the gaps that are mutually agreed upon by the parents and teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stevens Elementary School
1242 18 Av East, Seattle, WA  98112
(206) 252-3400
Last modified Stevens Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Stevens Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top