Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Washington Middle School 5

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
Washington MS is an amazing place in the inner city that is home to a rich cross-section of families. I have sent two children to WMS because this environment has helped them understand how to collaborate and navigate the real world. Principal Susan Follmer is in her second year of leading this school and is making impactful cultural improvements including raising the quality of teaching and the expectations of all students and faculty. This school has an award winning music program where nearly half of all students participate in a musical ensemble. The teachers are dedicated, the staff cares and the Principal has vision. WMS is not without its issues - 1150 students come with different needs and abilities - but under Principal Follmer's leadership, WMS is a great school getting better all the time.

Washington Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 27, 2016
- a community member
The teachers I have met this year know my kid and do much more than just stand and talk all period.


Washington Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 27, 2016
- a community member
This varies, I like the homework that my child can do independently and that gets him into enjoyable learning.

Washington Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 27, 2016
- a community member
Many teachers let students retake tests and in the Student Led Conferences student share their academic goals.

Washington Middle School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted March 27, 2016
- a community member
I think so because kindness is modeled but I think this is primarily the role of parents.


Washington Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 27, 2016
- a community member
When I visit it looks like adults take time to listen to kids. Advisory started to give each student an adult that cares about them and teaches the importance of regulating feelings.

Washington Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 27, 2016
- a community member
This is no easy task in a huge middle school but the school is addressing these values in changed practices that give students more opportunities to develop their character such as leadership classes and advisory and community service.

Washington Middle School 5

Posted March 27, 2016
- a community member
A diverse and caring community, teachers go the extra mile and parent and the community have a strong and uplifting presence at the school.


Washington Middle School 1

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has gone to this school for two years and at this point I'm genuinely nauseated by how horrible the school is. We are literally hanging on until the end of the year because we have no other option, but I cannot express now awful our experience has been this year. First off, I will say we got lucky with some great teachers last year. SOME of the staff is wonderful. However, the administration is simply terrible. They hate kids, and hate parents even more. If you bring any problem to their attention, they will blame either the student or the parent and refuse to do anything to help. But by far the worst thing about the school is the institutionalized racism. First off, just walking down the halls you see how African American boys are constantly chastised, criticized and threatened. Then there is the school "dances." These take place during the school day—and cost money. $2 might not seem like a lot—but plenty of poor and homeless kids don't have $2. They are forced to sit in the "quiet room" while their friends go to the dance . They are not allowed leave school early unless a parent picks them up, which working parents cannot do. So, instead poorer students sit there, humiliated. I cannot understand the monstrosity of any adult who would set up a PAID dance during school hours. Oh, and by the way—tell your kids to watch out for their cell phones. On "dance" days, kids break into lockers, trying to find things to sell to be able to afford to go to the dance. If your son or daughter wants to be informed about institutionalized racism and classism, they won't be told that history at Washington Middle School. Instead, they will be treated to posters, slogans and coursework that tells them over and over again that "their future is their own choice!" As if circumstances play no role. They are told to sit down, shut up, & accept whatever scraps are given to them. Oh, and the bathrooms have non-potable water running from their sinks. Yep, there's a little bit of Flint Michigan happening in this Central District school. But I suppose since it's in the inner city, no one cares. I guess the kids are supposed to be "grateful" they can wash their hands at all. Basically, WMS is a great place to send your kid if you want them to witness the school-to-prison pipeline firsthand. Thank God we are almost out of there.

Washington Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
It's middle school. I don't expect teachers to work miracles. And some teachers are great. But others manage to alienate kids so badly no learning is possible.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington Middle School
2101 South Jackson St, Seattle, WA  98144
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. (206) 252-2600
Last modified Washington Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top