Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Seattle, WA
Students enrolled: 1,121

4 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Washington Middle School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
This historic middle school was where Seattle son Jimi Hendrix attended before he graduated to Garfield High. Although not much to look at on the outside, inside this school is a hive of some of the finest teachers and motivated students in the City. Regular, Spectrum and Advanced Programs are available to qualified pupils.Language Arts & Reading, Math & Science, Social Studies, Art & Technology, Special Education & ELD are perfectly balanced (inclusive in the curriculum) with a truly excellent Music Program. Students can acquire credits for School Bands and Orchestras and Choirs. Teachers cover beginners to the more advanced. Physical Education is also considered key for student participation. On offer is Co-ed Ultimate Frisbee, Girls & Boys Soccer, Boys & Girls Basketball, Co-ed Track, Girls Volleyball, Fencing and Yoga. Most importantly is the Social Justice of good "Student Citizenship" is encouraged (and enforced as needed). Middle School years are challenging. Washington's students are the beautiful, highly diverse faces of the real-world future. I feel most fortunate my child attends.

Washington Middle School 4

Posted January 21, 2012
- a community member
Washington has an odd dynamic, because it is trifurcated by its general education, spectrum, and APP programs, so it is better evaluated as three different schools sharing the same facilities and non-academic programs. When I was there just a few years ago, sports were very strong. As the poster below has alluded to, the once-outstanding music program has been crippled in the past few years. Half of the school's APP students have been moved to Hamilton, and Robert Knatt, nationally known music director, retired the year after I left. Academically, I can only speak from experience about APP: math is excellent, history is very good, language arts are fine, most of the science program is pathetic, and languages vary in quality. On the whole, Washington is certainly a letdown from Lowell, but the APP community, both of parents and students, remains wonderful - the primary reason I am giving this school a 4/5. This is really a solid school. It's just disappointing that Washington doesn't do more with what it has.


Washington Middle School 3

Posted January 06, 2012
- a community member
I have attended WMS as an APP student for three years. There are many highlights to the school, as well as many disappointments. As for teachers, I found that they are either excellent and passionate for their work or simply terrible. During the sixth and seventh grade, I had a teacher that was ill-tempered, dishonorable, and favored some over others. My other teachers however encouraged hard work, achievement, and were likable. The music program has declined since I arrived in the sixth grade, but, by normal standards, it would still be considered good. There are many after school opportunities and out-of-school music performances/trips Academically, the science programs are poor. The labs are redundant, and there is little room to make discoveries on ones' own or be creative. The teachers have little scientific knowledge beyond the curriculum. It is likely this way with most public middle schools though. WMS has APP and Spectrum learning programs, both of which are fairly challenging and have high expectations. Ultimately, it is at the student's discretion how much work to put into academics; the school provides an excellent foundation to do so.

Washington Middle School 5

Posted February 02, 2011
- a community member
I love this school!!! I have only been here for half a year and I absolutely love it! The APP program was a tad easy but it is still challenging at times. I don't know why people don't like the science program since it is awesome! My teachers are all really nice and try hard to improve the student's academic performance. 5/5

Washington Middle School 5

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Washington Middle School 1

Posted March 08, 2010
- a parent
My daughter's education in the APP program was uneven to be sure. While some teachers were extremely dedicated, the science program was appalling. The adminstrators, perhaps overworked, need to rethink their approach to interacting with the people they are there to serve. Like any bureaucracy, people get too comfortable in their jobs and forget that they are not doing parents 'favors' when it is their paid work. I know of no other place where people would keep their jobs by acting the way some of the administrators do.

Washington Middle School 5

Posted August 24, 2009
- a student
I rate this because I go to this school this year and I think it will be awesome and I have met the students and teachers and they are all friendly. I has a wonderful music program and Great school clubs.

Washington Middle School 1

Posted August 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Washington Middle School 1

Posted March 05, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Washington Middle School 5

Posted September 16, 2008
- a student
Great school. Incredible music department, excellent math, good language arts, tough social studies (but that's ok!), and absolutely awful science.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington Middle School
2101 South Jackson St, Seattle, WA  98144
(206) 252-2600
Last modified Washington Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Washington Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top