Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Washington Middle School 1

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has gone to this school for two years and at this point I'm genuinely nauseated by how horrible the school is. We are literally hanging on until the end of the year because we have no other option, but I cannot express now awful our experience has been this year. First off, I will say we got lucky with some great teachers last year. SOME of the staff is wonderful. However, the administration is simply terrible. They hate kids, and hate parents even more. If you bring any problem to their attention, they will blame either the student or the parent and refuse to do anything to help. But by far the worst thing about the school is the institutionalized racism. First off, just walking down the halls you see how African American boys are constantly chastised, criticized and threatened. Then there is the school "dances." These take place during the school day—and cost money. $2 might not seem like a lot—but plenty of poor and homeless kids don't have $2. They are forced to sit in the "quiet room" while their friends go to the dance . They are not allowed leave school early unless a parent picks them up, which working parents cannot do. So, instead poorer students sit there, humiliated. I cannot understand the monstrosity of any adult who would set up a PAID dance during school hours. Oh, and by the way—tell your kids to watch out for their cell phones. On "dance" days, kids break into lockers, trying to find things to sell to be able to afford to go to the dance. If your son or daughter wants to be informed about institutionalized racism and classism, they won't be told that history at Washington Middle School. Instead, they will be treated to posters, slogans and coursework that tells them over and over again that "their future is their own choice!" As if circumstances play no role. They are told to sit down, shut up, & accept whatever scraps are given to them. Oh, and the bathrooms have non-potable water running from their sinks. Yep, there's a little bit of Flint Michigan happening in this Central District school. But I suppose since it's in the inner city, no one cares. I guess the kids are supposed to be "grateful" they can wash their hands at all. Basically, WMS is a great place to send your kid if you want them to witness the school-to-prison pipeline firsthand. Thank God we are almost out of there.

Washington Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
It's middle school. I don't expect teachers to work miracles. And some teachers are great. But others manage to alienate kids so badly no learning is possible.


Washington Middle School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
I really can't speak to the homework load. My younger child goes to ORCAk-8 and has way more homework but is also far happier doing it.

Washington Middle School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
I'm a 43 year old professional woman, and *my* determination, grit and persistence has been undermined through my dealings with this school. I can't imagine students would fare any better.

Washington Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
It teaches them to be well behaved at th DMV. That's about the best I can say.


Washington Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
If anything, this school teaches kids to have no compassion. I honestly can't believe the callous disregard for students' emotional wellbeing.

Washington Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
This school teaches kids to paste a smile on their face while doing anything they can to skirt the system.

Washington Middle School 1

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
I am a very concerned parent, my son has attended Washington Middle School for 2 years. This is by far the worst school he has ever gone to. There are some very good support staff members here but it is out weighted by the staff you have to deal with on a regular basis. There are staff that work in the office that act like it is a chore to help or assist you. My philosophy is "if you don't like people/children don't work in an environment where you know you will have to encounter them" . The quality of education is very poor and communication at this school is non existence ( unless someone is brought in from a higher position to contact the person you are trying to communicate with). I moved to Seattle from a small town, for the diversity of people and life experiences for my child. I am however planning on moving out of Seattle come the end of the year because of my experience with this particular school and the administration at this school . I would NOT send your child to this school


Washington Middle School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
This historic middle school was where Seattle son Jimi Hendrix attended before he graduated to Garfield High. Although not much to look at on the outside, inside this school is a hive of some of the finest teachers and motivated students in the City. Regular, Spectrum and Advanced Programs are available to qualified pupils.Language Arts & Reading, Math & Science, Social Studies, Art & Technology, Special Education & ELD are perfectly balanced (inclusive in the curriculum) with a truly excellent Music Program. Students can acquire credits for School Bands and Orchestras and Choirs. Teachers cover beginners to the more advanced. Physical Education is also considered key for student participation. On offer is Co-ed Ultimate Frisbee, Girls & Boys Soccer, Boys & Girls Basketball, Co-ed Track, Girls Volleyball, Fencing and Yoga. Most importantly is the Social Justice of good "Student Citizenship" is encouraged (and enforced as needed). Middle School years are challenging. Washington's students are the beautiful, highly diverse faces of the real-world future. I feel most fortunate my child attends.

Washington Middle School 4

Posted January 21, 2012
- a community member
Washington has an odd dynamic, because it is trifurcated by its general education, spectrum, and APP programs, so it is better evaluated as three different schools sharing the same facilities and non-academic programs. When I was there just a few years ago, sports were very strong. As the poster below has alluded to, the once-outstanding music program has been crippled in the past few years. Half of the school's APP students have been moved to Hamilton, and Robert Knatt, nationally known music director, retired the year after I left. Academically, I can only speak from experience about APP: math is excellent, history is very good, language arts are fine, most of the science program is pathetic, and languages vary in quality. On the whole, Washington is certainly a letdown from Lowell, but the APP community, both of parents and students, remains wonderful - the primary reason I am giving this school a 4/5. This is really a solid school. It's just disappointing that Washington doesn't do more with what it has.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington Middle School
2101 South Jackson St, Seattle, WA  98144
(206) 252-2600
Last modified Washington Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Washington Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top