Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thorndyke Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 410 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2013

good school with good parent teacher involvement, nice work at school and good approach to the evaluation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

The school is great, staff is too. If your kids ever go here Ms. Long is one teacher you have to request! She really knows her job well and the kids. I have never seen a better teacher. My kids improved so much in reading and she really takes the time to help them and get to know there needs as students. My son adores her! These school is very diverse as is the Tukwila school district, which is, I believe, number one nationwide in diversity!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

I was reading through the comments below and I so agree with the comments made on Ms. Long. She is a fabulous teacher and thinks outside of the box which is refreshing. Not everything is in a book, life experience really plays a part in the values that she instills in our children. My children in the past have had her as a teacher in 5th grade and keep coming back to see her as she changed their lives and they LOVE her. My children learned to be respectful and accountable, something Ms. Long expects. This is so appreciated. My children have bright futures ahead thanks to Ms. Long. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

I believe this is an excellent school. My daughter completed 1rst grade there last year and she came home every day and did her homework on her own. I never had to remind her. She made so many friends. She recieved 2 honor awards, a strive for five award, and was student of the month in October. The year before, she was at a different school and although she didn't have any problems there, she wasnt motivated like she was last year. I am looking forward to seeing what this year brings for my Kindergarten age student and my daughter who is going into 2nd grade. I would never want them to go to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

this school is very bad . the kids don't do ther work.the kids do what ever they want do and they don't get in trouble.


Posted September 16, 2009

We strive for '5' here at Thorndyke. 1. Be safe. 2. Be respectful. 3. Be responsible. 4. Be accepting. 5. Be here to learn! The Thorndyke family is a powerful learning team. Our staff and students are positive and working together to achieve goals set by our principle and district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

My kids love Thorndyke.I don't think they'd want any other school.They have made so many friends. Teacher's are awesome.They'll wrk with you and your child so they can get the help that's needed for your child.I really apprceciate this school and the people that work there.The office staff are very welcoming people.They won't turn you away.They are alway's happy to see people and kids.My oldest child is entering 4th grade and she get's the help she needs outside of her regular class in special ed class which is great.Thorndyke keep up the great job, 'Your awesome'.A.EricksRoberson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2007

Mr. Sabol is an excellent teacher who is very concerned with his students. I just wish that the more funds were allotted to the district to allow more tutoring for students who are behind. I have had great experiences with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2005

Thorndyke Elementary consists of a very dedicated team of teachers. Thorndyke has changed from a PSO to a PTA. Parent involvement is growing. The PTA is up and running strong. Teachers are invloved in the PTA. Principal Brian Hutchison is extremely dedicated to the students at Thorndyke and is very involved in the PTA. There is always some new and positive ideas and programs being discussed or implemented. I have noticed that the teachers are concerned and dedicated to providing the correct level of work for each student. For example, some students are stronger readers and need books that are more challenging, at thorndyke they are provided with the level of book that is needed to help them grow and improve their reading. Teachers interact with each other and are on top of each students needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

Thorndyke is a smaller school where the kids get more attention. I liked that teachers and students knew each other by name. There are several programs for special need children such as speech therapy and others. I would recommend this school. There is also a preschool onside and high school students come frequently to help in the class room.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2004

I thank God for this school and for the staff, they are very friendly and just good people at heart they take their time to teach. They get the kids involved with the activities they are doing they put/or leave no child behind. I love this school and hope my other too children will have the opportunity to go there. I also want to say that the office staff is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2004

This is a wonderful school. The office staff is extremely pleasant and they went the extra mile to make my daughters feel comfortable and welcome. The school is spotless and new, with all the latest technology.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female52%
Male65%
Black50%
Asian91%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Low income54%
Not low income83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited English38%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female70%
Male54%
Black50%
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income56%
Not low income75%
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited English38%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students54%
Female61%
Male49%
Black42%
Asian71%
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income56%
Not low income46%
Special educationn/a
Not special education59%
Limited English25%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students47%
Female52%
Male43%
Black50%
Asian50%
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income46%
Not low income55%
Special educationn/a
Not special education48%
Limited English4%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students41%
Female46%
Male37%
Black42%
Asian57%
Asian/Pacific Islander61%
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income39%
Not low income55%
Special educationn/a
Not special education44%
Limited English13%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students51%
Female58%
Male44%
Black50%
Asian75%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic22%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income43%
Not low income100%
Special education15%
Not special education63%
Limited English13%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female53%
Male49%
Black42%
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income46%
Not low income80%
Special education40%
Not special education54%
Limited English26%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students44%
Female50%
Male39%
Black31%
Asian67%
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic39%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Low income37%
Not low income90%
Special education5%
Not special education58%
Limited English13%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 28% 20%
Black 24% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 19% 7%
White 15% 60%
Two or more races 8% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 143%N/A8%
Special education 110%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 281%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 10N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 87%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Brian Hutchison

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4415 South 150th St
Seattle, WA 98188
Phone: (206) 901-7605

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Academy Schools
Tukwila, WA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT