Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cascade View Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 428 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2013

I attended C-View over 20 years ago, My brother and sister, my two girls who are now in Showalter ( They attended p-5) My son who is in Kindergarden has thee best kindergarden teacher in the world. I live this school. All of my kids love the staffd and teachers. I have known 1/3 of the teachers and staff for over 20 years. Thank You C-View and Officer Rutt for changing Tukwilas lives


Posted May 28, 2008

I have had 3 students attend this school since it's opening. Overall, I am happy with the school and it's teachers. There is always room for improvement though. I have found that some teachers are very good communicators and some are not so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

Cascade view is a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

My son has been in Cascade preschool since March 2007 and I have seen a great improvement in him. He is now speaking more clearly and is learning to play with others. Ms Claudia has been a special part of helping to speak and express his feelings so that we can understand what he is after. I am hoping to continue with everything that Ms Claudia has started this year. I wasn't too sure if preschool was a good thing but now I am very happy with all the progress that he has made! Thank you Cascade View Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

I have 2 children attending Cascade View. So far I have been very pleased with their teachers. I feel that they are challenged and enjoy the other students. I do feel the school is lacking in the physical education department. I have heard and seen wonderful things from parents of Riverview and their physical education department and would love to see our school follow their lead. I feel that words can fall on deaf ears in our school. They ask for input but there doesn't seem to be any action. The only other negative comment is that there is no updated or accurate website for our school. This needs to change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2003

My son has gone to Cascade View from K-present (5th grade). I am very pleased with the education and help my son has received while here at this school. They have extra reading help from early on, (I have step kids in different school district, and one is in 8th grade, and has kept passing, and is not able to read or write very well) and I am very pleased with the level of care my son has received from all teachers, especially in 4th & 5th grade. This district has lots of help and programs for after & before school care, and is very affordable, since I was a single parent during some of his years here at Cascade View. The 4th & 5th grade teachers my son has had, keep me well informed of his progress, and they were/are very prompt in emailing me back, with any concerns I may have regarding my son.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
23%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students80%
Female82%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian81%
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic78%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income77%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education79%
Limited English67%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female74%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income64%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited English47%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female77%
Male65%
Black46%
Asian77%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic65%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income69%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited English54%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female60%
Male60%
Black50%
Asian65%
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income58%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education61%
Limited English43%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students38%
Female48%
Male31%
Black36%
Asian29%
Asian/Pacific Islander29%
Hispanic37%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income37%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education38%
Limited English31%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students67%
Female73%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asian69%
Asian/Pacific Islander68%
Hispanic69%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income61%
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education67%
Limited English49%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female58%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asian46%
Asian/Pacific Islander45%
Hispanic63%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income47%
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education55%
Limited English32%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students55%
Female55%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asian49%
Asian/Pacific Islander48%
Hispanic69%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income47%
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education55%
Limited English29%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 32% 18%
Asian 31% 7%
White 17% 63%
Black 12% 5%
Two or more races 4% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 185%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 254%N/A8%
Special education 210%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 61%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jeffrey Baker

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13601 32nd South
Seattle, WA 98168
Phone: (206) 901-7700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Academy Schools
Tukwila, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT