Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Villa Academy

Private | PK-8 | 388 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $447,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2014

At Villa, they not only encourage us to learn but to become independent thinkers and ask questions. There are SMARTBoards in every classroom (except for flex rooms) to help teachers show us diagrams and give us visual representations of the units. Villa has a beautiful brick building with five floors that are used (six & seven are just storage rooms), soccer field, outdoor classroom, garden, a trail down to Lake Washington, an orchard, two age appropriate playgrounds, an convent (where the preschool is located), a huge art room, a computer lab, a tech support room, parlor, chapel, cafeteria, kitchen & beautiful marble stairs and floors. Although my opinion is very biased, since I am a student, Villa is one of the best Catholic independent schools in the Seattle area and I would definitely encourage any parents considering Villa to check it out!


Posted October 24, 2014

Villa is an amazing school! Both of my children enjoy school, like their teachers and, most importantly, feel well-liked and confident. We are at the school thanks to financial aid, and I was worried my kids would have trouble fitting in, because we are not well-off financially, but that has not been the case at all. They both have friends and fit in perfectly. One of my children struggles academically, and he is making HUGE strides while receiving assistance through the academic support services. If you are looking for a school where students are taught respect, kindness, tolerance and the benefits of hard work, then Villa is a great choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2014

Fantastic school, educational program and community involvement. It has been a wonderful experience for our daughter
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Our daughter currently attends Villa and we are very happy with the character education. She is so social and doing good in academics. We just wish the school focussed a bit on design aspects w.r.t to technology and did more think out of the box projects. The school has an amazing technology lab. Parent community is good as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

I've been a Villa parent for over 10 years. The real strength of Villa Academy is the culture of the school and school community. Parents are supportive, the school is responsive and caring, and the kids that go there are exemplary--kids you want your kids to go to school with and have as friends. Academic are reasonably solid. The curriculum is incoherent and the instruction addled by the same psuedo-scientific puffery and trite nostrums that plague the educaton profession generally, but it's no worse than you'd find at most any other school, private or public. And graduates nonetheless enter high school well-prepared because teachers are earnest, responsive, and caring; and students come from affluent, well-educated and hyper-supportive families. The school, parent, and peer culture are all positively self-reinforcing. As for the Catholicism, it's present but diluted enough to make non-Catholics feel included. (About half of students are non-Catholic.) The school does a good job reinforcing the 7 principles of Catholic social teaching. I'd encourage interested non-Catholic parents to learn what those are, because they embody values most parents of any (or no) faith would endorse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

Our daughter entered Villa in kindergarten, and she is now a 6th grader. As part of the 50% that is not Catholic, I can assure you that Villa is academically rigorous independent school, not "just an expensive Catholic school". Class sizes max out at 15 kids in the lower grades and 20 in the older grades. The school isits on 25 acres of waterfront property in the heart of Laurelhurst,and the curriculum leverages the location by both using the amazing campus and also partnering with the UW for various projects. My sole criticism is that Villa's grading system is too steep (90%=B), giving kids artificially low GPAs. Kids leave Villa extraordinarily well prepared for high school, with a disproportionate number of kids going to Lakeside, Holy Names, U-Prep, and Seattle Prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

There are many wonderful things about Villa...every teacher we had was skilled, committed, and very dedicated to the children. There are small class sizes (at least during the 5 years we were there) and wonderful programs (music, art, languages, sports). The community is very tight and can be a bit "small town-ish," which is both a positive and a negative, depending on how well you and your children fit the mold. In the end we left to find a more diverse school that employs more up-to-date teaching methods and can adjust to different kinds of learners more effectively. We have not regretted the change in any way. We found a better fit for our children. Villa is a great place if your children fit the Villa type of student and as long as they don't develop an issue Villa cannot handle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

If you are looking for an expensive Catholic school, The Villa Academy will be a perfect fit. A few years ago, this school was on track to become a highly competitive independent elementary and middle school with increasing admission to top Seattle high schools. However, the new leadership is more focused on Catholic instruction and larger class sizes, which can just as easily be found at local (less expensive) parish schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 19, 2010

First, I will say that I have four children currently enrolled here. They all have completely different learning styles and personalities(!!!) however, Villa has been a great fit for each of them. To the student at Lakeside who commented on 3/23/10, I would suggest that because of the strenuous middle school years at Villa, and Villa's reputation for that, you got into Lakeside. Our experience with the middle school teachers has been only positive, and we are so impressed how they create such mature and independent thinkers. The comment posted on 11/29/09, was clearly (I hope) written by a child and is full of incorrect information. Recess/PE? We have it. 15 minutes to eat? False. Our family has continued to be amazed by the teachers and administration at Villa! It is truly a community where every teacher knows every child, with the entire staff working together to make each child succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

Both of our children attended Villa Academy and we had the pleasure of being in this community for 11 years. Villa Academy has excellent, skilled and attentive teachers. The teachers hold the students accountable and help students gain self confidence and self motivation. The school leadership is fabulous and works very hard to fulfill the mission and support the students and the faculty. The academic program is deep and rich and each portion of the curriculum is dovetailed throughout each class at that grade level. The language programs are great - both of my children tested into Honors Spanish at their high school. This is a wonderful school and it prepared my children exceptionally well for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

As an allumni who got into Lakeside School after VIlla, I can safely say that Villa gave me an excellent education. However, there are ridiculous amounts of homework and it is shockingly structured. This is especially over-done in the middle school. The community is fabulous, but many of the students are in a slightly delusional bubble of wealth, unaware that it is unusual to have a home on the water, a boat, a cabin and a sport court in one's back yard. Furthermore, the teaching style is very traditional, including much too much busy work. I would highly recommended it for Kindergarten to 5th grade, but the middle school is much more hit and miss. Great education overall, but too much homework, structure and terrible teachers in the middle school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2009

Homework is rediculous, some teachers rude, no recess, no fun, strict, lunch is terrible and students get only 15 minutes to eat, spanish program is horrible and the school can be very unwelcoming, some rich brats too... It used to be the greatest school, now its a terrible place


Posted November 9, 2009

My son went to Villa Academy for 9 years and received a wonderful education. He was well prepared for high school both academically and socially. One of the characteristics shared by Villa graduates that makes them stand out in high school is their confidence in public speaking. The math program is excellent. I highly recommend Villa Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

I Attended Villa Academy and it such a welcoming fun Environment I just adore the school! The Education is one of the Best I would most definitely Recommend this school...
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

I have gone to Villa for 9 years and what amazing years they have been. Everyone knows one another and it will be heartbreaking to leave. Lots of homework and expensive but this school has made me into a more rounded servant of the community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2008

I would have to disagree with the few statements that didn't give Villa a full score. Too much parent involvement? What's wrong with parent involvement? I went there from K-8, and the parent involvement was one of the highlights. It made everything fun. As to 'too much structure'...No. I disagree. It was juuust the right amount. And I always had fabulous teachers. At the beginnings of the different years, some weren't that great, but by about halfway through each year, I would realize that they were actually amazing, despit my first impressions. Villa only employs the best, and they think about who works there. There are constant reviews of the teachers and staff. So...as too 'many are...not' reffering to the teachers...speaking from experience, I disagree. Villa is awesome, with fabulous everything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2008

With great care and detail, the admission process was respectful, informative and warm. The same feeling has continued with my son now being a member of the Villa family. I look forward to both his spiritual and educational needs being met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

Excellent academic program, small class sizes, lots of sports and after school programs, caring teachers and staff make Villa Academy a very special place. Our children love the school, their friends, and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

High quality academic program, music, art, sports and extravurricular activities. Too much parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 60%
Two or more races 13% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 7%
Hispanic 3% 20%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Seattle
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5001 Northeast 50th Street
Seattle, WA 98105
Phone: (206) 524-8885

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT