Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Rosary School

Private | K-8 | 492 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $380,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,130.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2012

I've done recess volunteer work and will continue to, up to when my last grand children will graduate. The students are active with lots of games and running around. Some do get hurt at times, but they bounce back and continue with the activities. I have yet to see bullying. And there are no wimps either. Good discipline and excellent faculty.


Posted January 9, 2012

Holy Rosary has a bullying problem that no one wants to talk about. My children were treated with cruelty by some teachers and many students. We were active members of the church and finally had to pull out because of the mental anguish it caused our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

great school, great community feel and amazing families and kids. could not be happier with holy rosary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2011

Wish I could give this school more stars! In a sea of failing public schools, Holy Rosary is a God send! We left the "best" public elementary school in the district to enroll in Holy Rosary, and immediately realized how behind my Kindergarten child was. He had more academic improvement in a week at HR than he did in 2 trimesters in public school. In some cases, you get what you pay for. In the case of Holy Rosary, you get much, much more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

Outstanding faculty and staff, dedicated students and parents, supportive parish community - all make for a superior school. Holy Rosary is always looking at ways to improve. They do an excellent job updating programs. Their music and art programs continue to grow and expand. I love Holy Rosary and recommend it highly. I can't imagine a better school anywhere!


Posted October 6, 2008

Our son recently graduated from Holy Rosary School. The transition to high school has been seamless. He was well-prepared academically, socially, and spiritually. We are so grateful to all of his teachers and the administration for their commitment to students, first and foremost. The curriculum is challenging, environment is supportive, and Catholic social teachings are taught by example. Excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

This is our child's 5th year in Holy Rosary. We are pleased with the education our child is receiving. We like the emphasis on values, which I think a lot of schools seem to be lacking. The teachers are truly dedicated and do not see their jobs as careers as more of their calling. There is also a good sense of community within the school. For a good, affordable Catholic education, this West Seattle institution cannot be beat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

HR is plagued with very large classes. The seats are in rows, facing forward. HR counts on memorized curriculum. There is not enough student discovery. HR is about 15 years behind the curve. I would say it is long on structure, and short on innovation. The school commission and parents club are passive and provide little direction. Overall, HR is not keeping pace and I would suggest alternative schools after the third grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

I'm a former student of Holy Rosary West Seattle. I'm now in my 3rd year at the University of Washington. I suggest Holy Rosary to parents that are interested in their children developing strong morals. These morals are born at Holy Rosary with confidence because the school creates, and functions, much like its own small community. When I attended public High School after graduating from HRS I was shocked at the disrespect students had towards teachers and the lack of importance they placed on finishing homework. Holy Rosary taught me good life-long habits in thinking politely about others and gave me a work ethic I can always turn to. I highly suggest Holy Rosary as a beginning place for your child's education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2007

Academics are 'fair'. Curriculum is tepid. Not enough math and science teachers certified to teach the subject. No labs, no hands on experiences. CYO sports are very well attended. The music program is below acceptable standards. Very unimaginative curriculum and student complaints largely go ignored by the administration. Art is also a long suffering program. THe teacher can't relate to young, vibrant students. HR derives its success from the upper middle class values of the parents. HR starts with good students and does no great damage to them until they can transition to HS. Classes are too big and individual student attention is hard to come by. Overall, underresourced, crowded, safe, and unimaginative curriculum. I lean neutral to a low good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

This is our first year at Holy Rosary and I can't say enough good things about the school. The principal is outstanding, and the sense of community that the school enjoys is wonderful. I'm not Catholic - but absolutely love the education my kids are receiving. We do not use the after school program, but our friends rate it highly. If you live in West Seattle (or even near West Seattle) this school should be on your list to visit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

This is our second year at Holy Rosary after transfering from another Private School. We are very happy with the school, teachers and programs. Holy Rosary is more than just a school it is a community that teaches its students about being confident, compassionate members of society. There are many activities afterschool for the students to participate in. The class size is larger than other schools but that is the norm with Catholic education. The faculty at the school is fantastic and always approachable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2006

Class sizes are way too large for learning, some teacher student ratios..30:1 Teacher skills vary from superior to marginal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

Our child has been attending this school for 4 years now. He loves it there. Everything has been very positive. We are hoping to send our second child to there this fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2005

I am an 8th grade student at holy rosary currently. The academic program at holy rosary is great, especially in junior high. Art and music and drama are not noted very much, we dont have a drama program and music is a required class and optional band. the teachers are great and the parents are always involved in everything. my overall experience was only ok because its sometimes hard to have fun because they push academics so much harder then art, Also there are quite a few rules that have that really arent necessary, considering they cause more conflict then we had before they made them. Also very few field trips. very little hands on activities i think.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 64%
Two or more races 6% N/A
Asian 5% N/A
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 16%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kris Brown
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Seattle
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4142 42nd Ave SW
Seattle, WA 98116
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 937-7255

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tilden School
Seattle, WA



Pathfinder K-8
Seattle, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT