Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

John F Kennedy Catholic High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2007

As a former teacher at Kennedy, I would advise students and parents to stay away from this school. There is little help for those who struggle.The 'spiritual' development is antiquated. The academics are just plain sad. The teachers mean well but get no support. Don't waste your money here, your kids will get a far better education at a public school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 25, 2007

JFK was a huge disappointment. It is probably fine if your child is a perfect athlete or student; if not, he will be perfectly miserable. There is disunity amongst the staff. The projects they do are worthy of 4th graders. The principal refuses to meet with parents. His goals appear to be his own future, but fortunately that sometimes dovetails with the education & future of students. If your goal is Catholic education with folks that exemplify Catholic faith, get your child in a parish youth group. If your goal is an education to prepare for college, your involvement with your child in his public school will accomplish that and save you a fortune. If your goal is to get your athlete favored treatment and press coverage, this most definitely the place for you. Terrible leadership, no Catholic values modeled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2007

I don't normally write reviews but felt the need after reading the most recent. We have had 2 children at Kennedy, one before the current principal and one now. We could not be happier with the new principal. The students and teachers are a much more cohesive group than before. There are great classes which are indeed very challenging and there is a great bunch of sharp, talented students there. With Mr. Prato as principal, organization and pride has returned to Kennedy High School and all the families involved should be proud of the changes he has brought with him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

JFK is more about extracurricular activities and sports than it is about Catholicism and education. The principal is all about the politics that make him look good. If it happens to coincide with what's best for the kids, so much the better. Many teachers waste time by showing ridiculous movies to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2007

Huge problems at this school, yet they don't enforce their own rules (or the law) by expelling all those caught. There is favoritism to athletes above academics & football above all else. The principal strives (pretends?) to exhibit practicing the faith, but he & the staff do not model Catholic values...it appears to be all for show. Why bother with Catholic tuition for a school that doesn't live its values? The academics are no more rigorous than other schools, they have a high college matriculation simply because college is expected by parents who pay for education there. It's a diverse group of American & international kids, but rarely to do they mix. The administration talks down to the students. Highly educated, motivated and involved parent group, of which the administration is unworthy. Save your money for a good college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

Kennedy High School is the highest level of college preparatory education available in the region. The school benefits from sound Catholic morals without being suppressive or overly-pious. A previous reviewer claiming to be a former student blasted the school for being academically lax - this is a complete falsehood. Kennedy offers a well-rounded education, rich in diversity and extra-curricular activities, which is bestowed awards regularly; sends [many] students onto 4-year institutions; amasses more scholarships for its college-bound grads than most in the nation; and has a sense of pride, family, and ownership which is rarely found in today's culture. I highly recommend JFK for your children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2006

Kennedy is a great school, with great involvement. Compared to most public schools in the area the degree of parent involvement is extraordinary. There are many extra curricular activities for students to join, as well as clubs and groups. The extra curriculars are top notch, from the 2nd in state girls volleyball team, to the 3rd in state girls swim team. Kennedy is also well rounded in academics. They are able to accommodate every student that walks through the doors. From college chemistry at Seattle U. to English as a Second Language. Kennedy offers a variety of opportunities for your student. The staff at Kennedy is also exemplary. While there are a few teachers that are not up to par, for the most part the staff are well versed in the material, and eager and willing to help your student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2006

Great Education, Well worth money- provides excellent prep for college-great honors program
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 21, 2004

JFK prepares students for college. Most students that graduated from JFK this year recieved more scholarships or awards from colleges all over the country. It was wonderful to see how many kids acheived their goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2004

I am a student a khs and I absolutly love it there. You get the sense of comfortability that only a close knit school can provide.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2004

Great environment for learning with outstanding teachers. Has family atmosphere. All the bells and whistles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

was not happy with the spiritual development that my children experienced at khs....feel the school has some real underlining problems that are hidden with the so-called catholic education would not send my kids there if i had to do it all over again...was a big mistake
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2003

I was a student at Kennedy for two years. I do not feel that the school has tough enough classes. While I attended Kennedy, I was never even assigned to write a research paper! I only found one class that was actually challenging. The rest of the classes to me, were basically at the same level as that one would find in a public high school. There was hardly ever any homework given. A lot of the teachers allowed the seniors to pretty much slack off, instead of making them do the hard work that their parents had paid good money for. I do not recommend Kennedy. I guess it is true what they say about you get what you pay for. Kennedy may be at the lower end of the tuition scale, and that sure shows in the lack of work that is expected of you. Please--take my advice. Pay more money and send your child to a different private school. As far as I am concerned, I feel like I was robbed of 2 years of my high school career.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 20, 2003

Kennedy High School has high standards for their students, the education that is received is above many schools. They prepare the youth for college as well as being good citizens. The accountability is rarely found in schools today. The staff stays in communication with the parents in regards to the student & activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2003

John F. Kennedy provides a safe and involved learning environment for their students. Sports are the main interest of most the students, although there are many students on the honor rolls too. The teachers are compassionate and understanding of their students.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 19% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 8% 1%
Black 7% 5%
Two or more races 6% 6%
Hispanic 5% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Prato
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Seattle
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

140 South 140th Street
Seattle, WA 98168
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 246-0500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ancillary
Burien, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT