Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Alphonsus School

Private | PK-8 | 219 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $354,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2014

We currently have a kindergartener and a preschooler at St Alphonsus. The teachers are fantastic and the community is very loving and supportive. They have very high academic standards and our kids are thriving at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

We are in our second year at ST Alphonsus, it was definitely the right choice for our middle schooler, We love the split gender classrooms for core curriculum as well as the opportunities the middle schoolers have to interact with other schools through sports and social activities. The principal is amazing, the love and respect she shows our children is unmatched to any experience we have had. My daughter is academically challenged and loves her teachers and classmates. We feel fortunate to be a part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

We could not be happier with St. Alphonsus. The principal is fantastic and the staff is amazing. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming while also having high academic expectations. I am constantly amazed by the academic success my children have had at St. Al's and they come home happy! Wonderful preschool, art, and music programs. I would highly recommend St. Alphonsus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2011

The school teaches you to be dependent on your parents. The principal is so nice that it's scary. There are some cliques but very little. We are behind on learning. I don't know how to talk to boys after being separated from them in middle school.


Posted January 18, 2010

Small classes, involved parents and committed caring teachers have made this a great fit for our family. Our kids are challenged academically and encouraged along the way. CYO sports and instrumental music program enable them to meet kids from other schools. New science lab, up to date technology lab and library being updated in 2010.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The principcal & staff of St. Alphonsus are all committed to the spiritual & academic well-being of every student. The support & family involvement are outstanding. We could not have hoped for a better school for our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

I used to go to this school. It wasn't that bad but not having boys in our class wasn't that great because when ever you talked to them it would be awkward. And the new principal doesn't treat kids with respect. It's supposed to be a welcoming catholic school, and the new principal doesn't welcome anyone, whatsoever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

Great Catholic school in the Ballard neighborhood -- because class-sizes are small, students are respected as individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

Great school. Small community with really good teachers. Small classroom sizes with extra attention given to our children. Middle school is segregated between male and female students beginning in 5th grade through 8th grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

Wonderful school with highly educated and caring staff. One class per grade, small classes and single gender middle school. High academic standards. Most graduates are accepted to the HS of choice. Great family and staff participation. Extremely inclusive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 60%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 11% 1%
Hispanic 4% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 7%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5816 15th Ave NW
Seattle, WA 98107
Phone: (206) 782-4363

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Salmon Bay School
Seattle, WA


Matheia School
Seattle, WA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT