Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
235 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Alphonsus School 5

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
We have had positive experiences with the school. Most of the middle school teachers who have been there for many years are truely dedicated to imparting strong academic and moral foundations toward the kids. As experienced teachers they are able to give constructive feedback and have high expectations of each student. Their exuberance for their respective subject areas is such a delight to see and does inspire the kids. When we have had any concerns, the teachers and the principal have been promt about meeting and following up on issues. Both our kids love having the Sisters teach religious education and for that we are forever thankful!! The community at St.Al's is welcoming and energetic. There are countless opportunities for parents to get involved both during and after school to further enhance a family's experience at St.Als.

St. Alphonsus School 5

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
This is our fifth year at St. Alphonsus. Most important to us is that our children feel safe, respected, and happy and St. Al's delivers in every area. The teachers are excited to see the kids in the morning and the friends they have made are great kids from good families. My husband and I truly value the community that St. Al's has brought into our lives. We look forward to the School events like Bingo and the Annual Gala Auction - as well as all the parties that come after! We have found it very easy to be involved in School activities and volunteer work - despite the fact that we are working parents. There are many volunteer opportunities that occur outside of the school day. I can't recommend this school enough, a solid choice both academically and socially.


St. Alphonsus School 5

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
The school is a fantastic community for children to be able to express themselves without fear and to be educated by great teachers who are skilled at what they do and care for each child. St Als is a great place for any family to send their child to school. It is worth the time to talk with people at the school and to take a tour with the school’s staff.

St. Alphonsus School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
I want to say thank you to the parents, teachers, staff and everyone who is a part of what makes the school as amazing as it is.

St. Alphonsus School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Our kids have a love of learning and enjoy attending school. This comes from liking and sometimes loving their teachers and the classes they teach. Not every teacher is perfect in every way, but they're only human after all.


St. Alphonsus School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Students are allowed to stumble and makes mistakes in a safe environment that allows for forgiveness and second chances.

St. Alphonsus School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
I see my kids and their friends develop confidence in and respect for themselves because they are in a safe nurturing environment. Starting in PreK and continuing thru the years.

St. Alphonsus School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Compassion for friends, family, strangers and the less fortunate is taught in many ways all year round. Service learning, "gems" for doing the right thing even when no one asks or is looking, and so on.


St. Alphonsus School 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Our kids have been at St Al's for coming up on 10 years and we can't say enough good things about it. The community is very inclusive and family focused in positive ways. The classes are small. The middle school being single gender for core classes within a co-ed school is nothing short of brilliant. I don't know why every school doesn't do it. I wish there was a high school that did the same. The teachers are amazing! Most have been there for longer than we have. The Principal is forward thinking and although he is one of many we have had while we've been there, we are seeing so much progress in the facility and technology during his term. The heart of the school is its parent volunteers. In the classroom, on the playground, in the library, running sports teams and clubs. It's a great group to be a part of and to see our kids benefit from. I've seen some reviews mention cliques and it really hasn't been our experience. I feel like with anything, you get out of it what you put into it and I do not perceive any bias towards parents who work outside the home. In fact the current Parents Club Co-Presidents are both working parents. If you want to pitch in, there's a place for you. If you're friendly, people will be friendly right back. I strongly encourage parents to include St Al's when looking for a top notch school for their kids.

St. Alphonsus School 2

Posted November 15, 2015
- a parent
As a parent I question the school's emphasis on rote learning and memorization in their teaching. I see the same tests, topics and materials given day in day out, year after year especially in the upper grades. As a volunteer, I witness and hear many words of complaint about the cheating from those kids who don’t - which is rife and has never been dealt with despite them bravely raising it. Identifying offenders brings about retaliation, which encourages submission. Teachers turn a blind eye - come on – it’s not that hard - change the tests and packets every year and be diligent during testing!! Tried to bring this up many times but it falls on deaf ears.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Alphonsus School
5816 15th Ave NW, Seattle, WA  98107
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (206) 782-4363
Last modified St. Alphonsus School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top