Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Alphonsus School 3

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
Our child just started here this year and we've got mixed feelings about the school. The community seems very clique-y and not the most open in welcoming new families. We were a bit disillusioned after the school's annual auction as we noticed some ostracizing occurring. We wanted to feel part of a community where our child goes to school but so far that hasn't happened yet. Also, there seems to be a hierarchy there for the folks that volunteer the most are the most favored. or we are just at a disadvantage as we are not stay at home parents and have trouble doing our full time job and volunteering. Regardless - a bit of a let down and we are unsure what's next for our family.

St. Alphonsus School 5

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
We currently have a kindergartener and a preschooler at St Alphonsus. The teachers are fantastic and the community is very loving and supportive. They have very high academic standards and our kids are thriving at this school.


St. Alphonsus School 5

Posted March 03, 2012
- a parent
We are in our second year at ST Alphonsus, it was definitely the right choice for our middle schooler, We love the split gender classrooms for core curriculum as well as the opportunities the middle schoolers have to interact with other schools through sports and social activities. The principal is amazing, the love and respect she shows our children is unmatched to any experience we have had. My daughter is academically challenged and loves her teachers and classmates. We feel fortunate to be a part of this community.

St. Alphonsus School 5

Posted May 13, 2011
- a parent
We could not be happier with St. Alphonsus. The principal is fantastic and the staff is amazing. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming while also having high academic expectations. I am constantly amazed by the academic success my children have had at St. Al's and they come home happy! Wonderful preschool, art, and music programs. I would highly recommend St. Alphonsus!

St. Alphonsus School 3

Posted March 27, 2011
- a community member
The school teaches you to be dependent on your parents. The principal is so nice that it's scary. There are some cliques but very little. We are behind on learning. I don't know how to talk to boys after being separated from them in middle school.


St. Alphonsus School 5

Posted January 18, 2010
- a parent
Small classes, involved parents and committed caring teachers have made this a great fit for our family. Our kids are challenged academically and encouraged along the way. CYO sports and instrumental music program enable them to meet kids from other schools. New science lab, up to date technology lab and library being updated in 2010.

St. Alphonsus School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
The principcal & staff of St. Alphonsus are all committed to the spiritual & academic well-being of every student. The support & family involvement are outstanding. We could not have hoped for a better school for our daughter.

St. Alphonsus School 3

Posted October 05, 2008
- a student
I used to go to this school. It wasn't that bad but not having boys in our class wasn't that great because when ever you talked to them it would be awkward. And the new principal doesn't treat kids with respect. It's supposed to be a welcoming catholic school, and the new principal doesn't welcome anyone, whatsoever.


St. Alphonsus School 5

Posted September 22, 2008
- a parent
Great Catholic school in the Ballard neighborhood -- because class-sizes are small, students are respected as individuals.

St. Alphonsus School 5

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
Great school. Small community with really good teachers. Small classroom sizes with extra attention given to our children. Middle school is segregated between male and female students beginning in 5th grade through 8th grade

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Alphonsus School
5816 15th Ave NW, Seattle, WA  98107
(206) 782-4363
Last modified St. Alphonsus School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Alphonsus School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top