Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Benedict School 5

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
Amazing place for children of all backgrounds to grow, and surprisingly affordable. This has been an great place so far for our 2nd grader, who adores her classmates and teachers. Small class sizes are good, but the quality of teachers are even better. Many families drive from outside the area to attend (perhaps because it's not so expensive?), which says a lot with all the Seattle traffic issues. You'd think this would be a homogeneous school, but instead it is surprisingly diverse for being in an expensive neighborhood. Thumbs up so far.

St Benedict School 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
My child started at St. Bens and it has been a real relief. A very welcoming community of teachers and also parents who are super nice. This school feels very collaborative and really cares about the students. Also, they have an extra "STEM" program (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) for kids who want more challenging curriculum than standard. That's saying something, as they are pretty academically focused already.


St Benedict School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Excellent ratios, excellent leadership and superb parent involvement. Teachers strive for academic excellence and children's test scores are well above average. Great community.

St Benedict School 5

Posted December 19, 2012
- a parent
I have two children enrolled at the school and thus far we have been very happy. We are not Catholic (about 35-40% of the families are not) but have felt welcome and the emphasis on good moral and social values (regardless of beliefs) was a draw for us. There is a strong sense of community with the parents and all of the teachers my children have had thus far are fantastic. There is a good student to teacher ratio and while sometimes homework heavy, overall I am pleased with the curriculum and academic performance. An added bonus (since we are two working parents) is great before and after school care on-site, and summer program.

St Benedict School 4

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
I am a first grader parent , this is the second year my son is there , so far I am quite happy , the school has a feeling of community , classes are small ( 20 ) so the teacher has time to spend with the kids, most of them advance at the same pace, the teachers are good ( love our first grade teacher) , yes discipline is strong , which I am happy ,no bullies and respect for everybody , great emphasy in charity and community proyects, parents are friendly if you open up too I would love more programs ( other languages or stronger Spanish or music )


St Benedict School 4

Posted March 20, 2011
- a parent
This school has fantastic Preschool and Pre K teachers. Both classes have full time assistants who are excellent. The Pre K teacher is new this year. She is amazing. She truly cares about the children. Importantly, she has done a great job introducing reading and math. She is enthusiastic and puts great effort into devising interesting projects for the children. I have no experience yet with teachers beyond Pre K. However, I have spoken to parents who are very happy with the elementary teachers.

St Benedict School 1

Posted April 01, 2010
- a community member
i went here for nine years and disliked it strongly. Very heavy homework , mean staff and a very very strict discipline system. Most parents swear loyalty to the school but have no idea

St Benedict School 0
no rating

Posted April 12, 2008
- a parent
A welcoming environment regardless of religion. A Catholic school, make no mistake; but about 1/3 of families are not. (Me: non-believing non-Catholic.) My kids exposure to values and beliefs engenders discussions about our responsibilities in the world today. Academically: surprising richness of the curriculum for a small school, as well as excellent programs (art and music, Spanish in all grades) and extracurriculars (sports, Chinese, a Seattle Opera in-school performance involving students, and others). Curriculum is traditional, with homework heavy at times; sometimes too worksheet-oriented, and not geared to special needs. But with class sizes 16 to low 20s, there is good teacher interaction for each student. The community is close, with parents are involved in classrooms and in helping run the school. Big events both tax the volunteer parents and build community, such as the September Wurst Fest, which draws thousands. All this at half the cost of area private schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Benedict School
4811 Wallingford Avenue North, Seattle, WA  98103
(206) 633-3375
Last modified St Benedict School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Benedict School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top