Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
217 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Benedict School 5

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
Strong academics and great teachers. The Principal hires excellent staff and ensures that the school runs smoothly. The curriculum is focused on the basics--reading, writing, 'rithmetic--but the school also has talented art, music and PE teachers. Very engaged, passionate group of parents who plan fun community-building events for students and families. My daughter has been very happy and is excited about learning. Can't ask for more from an elementary school!

St Benedict School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Our kids love this school! What we love as parents is their focus not only on fantastic education, but also on values. It's a great community, large enough to not feel sheltered, but small enough so kids get actual individualized attention. For instance, kids of lower grades are paired with older kids at lunch, for reading, and other curriculum.


St Benedict School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Yes, they have homework, and some kids can't make the cut. Or put another way, if you are a parent who just doesn't like helping your kids with their homework sometimes, you wont' like it. If you love your kids and like helping them learn, it's a great place to be!

St Benedict School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Homework? YES. Just enough so it's a challenge. If you are a checked out parent, you won't like it because this school requires you to work with your children. I love it, but then again, I like helping my kids learn.

St Benedict School 5

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
Amazing place for children of all backgrounds to grow, and surprisingly affordable. This has been an great place so far for our 2nd grader, who adores her classmates and teachers. Small class sizes are good, but the quality of teachers are even better. Many families drive from outside the area to attend (perhaps because it's not so expensive?), which says a lot with all the Seattle traffic issues. You'd think this would be a homogeneous school, but instead it is surprisingly diverse for being in an expensive neighborhood. Thumbs up so far.


St Benedict School 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
My child started at St. Bens and it has been a real relief. A very welcoming community of teachers and also parents who are super nice. This school feels very collaborative and really cares about the students. Also, they have an extra "STEM" program (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) for kids who want more challenging curriculum than standard. That's saying something, as they are pretty academically focused already.

St Benedict School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Excellent ratios, excellent leadership and superb parent involvement. Teachers strive for academic excellence and children's test scores are well above average. Great community.

St Benedict School 5

Posted December 19, 2012
- a parent
I have two children enrolled at the school and thus far we have been very happy. We are not Catholic (about 35-40% of the families are not) but have felt welcome and the emphasis on good moral and social values (regardless of beliefs) was a draw for us. There is a strong sense of community with the parents and all of the teachers my children have had thus far are fantastic. There is a good student to teacher ratio and while sometimes homework heavy, overall I am pleased with the curriculum and academic performance. An added bonus (since we are two working parents) is great before and after school care on-site, and summer program.


St Benedict School 4

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
I am a first grader parent , this is the second year my son is there , so far I am quite happy , the school has a feeling of community , classes are small ( 20 ) so the teacher has time to spend with the kids, most of them advance at the same pace, the teachers are good ( love our first grade teacher) , yes discipline is strong , which I am happy ,no bullies and respect for everybody , great emphasy in charity and community proyects, parents are friendly if you open up too I would love more programs ( other languages or stronger Spanish or music )

St Benedict School 4

Posted March 20, 2011
- a parent
This school has fantastic Preschool and Pre K teachers. Both classes have full time assistants who are excellent. The Pre K teacher is new this year. She is amazing. She truly cares about the children. Importantly, she has done a great job introducing reading and math. She is enthusiastic and puts great effort into devising interesting projects for the children. I have no experience yet with teachers beyond Pre K. However, I have spoken to parents who are very happy with the elementary teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Benedict School
4811 Wallingford Avenue North, Seattle, WA  98103
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (206) 633-3375
Last modified St Benedict School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top