Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Seattle, WA
Students enrolled: 249

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St George Parish School 5

Posted December 10, 2014
- a parent
My family loves St. George Parish School. It's a small school (one class per grade +/- 28 kids) that used to be a neighborhood school but has shifted with demographics into a bit of a commuter school--lots of kids from outside of Seattle. Great parental involvement, lots of school pride and spirit, very positive environment and solid academics. It's a collection of people--mostly great, a few so-so, none bad. Not perfect, but nothing is. We have zero regrets with St. George.

St George Parish School 1

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
I used to be a big fan of this school. I raved to friends how awesome it was. NOW, that is no longer the case. Since O'Leary left & the new principal (Wingard) has taken over, the school has changed. Unfortunately, for the worst. If you are a person with lots of wealth, the principal will do everything in her power to make this the best experience for you & your child. If not, be prepared to be snubbed. Her recent hiring with the Math & Spanish teacher are questionable. Several parents complained that the music teacher yells & belittles children. The Spanish teacher is teaching the material incorrectly & children are told to use Google translator to do homework. Well then what I am paying for? If you have a problem, don't bother seeking help from the principal. If you want to observe your child/teacher in class, be prepared. It's not as welcoming as it may seem (be prepared to be questioned as to why you want to observe a class). My advice if you are thinking about this school. Talk to several parents who currently attend this school since the new hire, you will get the real deal. Don't be fooled by what is portrayed at the all school meetings.


St George Parish School 5

Posted April 12, 2013
- a parent
This school is really a hidden gem as stated below. The teachers are invested, energetic and caring. The new principal has brought a tremendous amount of positive energy, expertise in education and great leadership. She truly cares about every family attending St. George and my kids wake up and look forward to school everyday!

St George Parish School 1

Posted June 26, 2012
- a parent
we were quite impressed by the academic requirements but not so impressed by the principal's reluctance to address behavioral concerns/issues which negatively impacted the learning environment for other students who were there to learn... if you can get past that, your child will be academically prepared for high school but know they may have battled socially and emotionally to get there.

St George Parish School 1

Posted September 08, 2011
- a parent
My review was raving two years ago, and how wrong I was! The school turned on us, and refused to address our child's educational needs. The principal at the time did not lead the educational process, but rather allowed the teachers to decide how and what to teach. If a teacher is good, you are very lucky, otherwise the picture is grim, and the pricipal refused to deal with any concerns. We ended up leaving the school, and already see how much better off we are!!!


St George Parish School 5

Posted August 08, 2010
- a parent
Our family is so blessed to have found St George school for our son. Within weeks of starting school his attitude changed. He was completing homework, organized and up early each day. With the support of the teachers he took responsibility for his education and was engaged in learning. He respected his teachers and felt that they were fair, strict and caring. In the public system he was lost and often times his behavior was criminalized. St George does an excellent job of teaching all students to work to their abilities regardless of their ethnicity or gender.

St George Parish School 1

Posted February 03, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St George Parish School 5

Posted January 11, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


St George Parish School 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
This is a great school! It has prepared my child for other challenges outside school academically and more. It gave her a strong background. She wouldn't be faring real well at another program she took and the new school she is attending now if not for the well-built backbone she got from St. George.

St George Parish School 2

Posted April 20, 2008
- a student
I've been at the school quite awhile..and it hasn't been horrible..but it hasn't been the best experience either. I academics are challenged;which is maybe the only reason I like the school. There are some teachers that I don't care for. You have to challenge the teachers with everything. Most kids aren't like me; and don't believe the teacher is ever wrong, and if they are they don't say anything. Well teachers aren't perfect. i see that at the school. You will become successful in life after you go to that school; because you'll know how to deal with every type of person. The school believes every person is a winner even if you make the team lose the game. It's not true. But it's a cool.. lil school..

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St George Parish School
5117 13th Avenue South, Seattle, WA  98108
(206) 762-0656
Last modified St George Parish School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St George Parish School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top