Advertisement
Advertisement

St. John School

Private | PK-8 | 549 students

Excellent academics, focus on service, and a welcoming Catholic community.
 
 

 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $375,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

St. John provides an excellent, well rounded education for students grades K-8, both Catholic and non-Catholic. The school focuses both on academics and community, helping to guide the students on a path to becoming successful and aware citizens of the world. The community of St. John parents is very active on campus and volunteerism is taken seriously. All 4 of my children have attended St. John and I could not have been happier with the education they have received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

This is a very special place. My son loves it. My husband and I can't say enough about it. It feels like an extended family that is helping our son grow into a responsible, lifelong learner. We love that St. John's values art, music, theatre, social emotional development, and the student as an individual. The academics are well-balanced, appropriately challenging, and the school staff is incredible. The icing on the cake is the community. There is no other place like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

This is our first year at this school and we are in love! Teachers, parents and the community overall, make this a wonderful place for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2013

We have been a part of the St. John School for 5 years and would happily recommend it to anyone with school age children. The education is focused on academic achievement and values Christian qualities. Our children are a part of the St. John community and they are proud of their school. As a family, we have made lifelong friends at St. John. Our children have a wonderful start to their education in an incredibly supportive environment. You only have one shot at educating your children and our kids could not be at a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

I am a non-catholic parent that had some reservations about sending my children to a school with any religious affiliation. After meeting the principal, teachers and parents in a few of the open houses my fears were put aside. Now, 5 years after enrolling our first child, I find the involvement of the parents and teachers creates an outstanding community that is both supportive of each other and driven to help the school succeed in its mission to educate and prepare our children. The teachers are involved and readily respond to email or meetings if you have questions or concerns. The sports teams are also competitive and well attended, which was a concern at a smaller, private school. I would recommend St. John to anyone that wants a great education in a safe, community oriented environment that is focused on preparing our children so they can succeed at the next level and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

St. John is a great school because my kids want to be at school! This is their 9th year at St. John and they've NEVER had a "stomach ache" or a restless night of sleep for dreading school the next day. Even on the mile run day they are eager to go to school. Why? Because of the competent, loving teachers. Because of the supportive administration and building staff. Because of the strong community committed to equality and morality. Because of the great, involved parents who strive for the best in their child's education. I had not intended to send my kids to a Catholic school, but I am so glad I did. You only have one opportunity to educate your children and I can't think of a better place we could have sent them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

The highest compliment you can pay a school and its team are to recommend it as the school of choice to your nearest and dearest. With four happy and productive years behind us at St John we have been able to confidently and consistently recommend this school and community to our friends and network in Seattle. Some high points worth mentioning are: two classes per grade: constantly evolving after school activities and clubs, onsite day care before and after school, a warm, inclusive faculty and community and a committment to excellent education and christian development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

St. John is truly an excellent school. The community is extremely inclusive and welcoming. The teaching staff is proactive and caring and encourage the kids to achieve things I would have thought impossible. My child is confidently doing work in kindergarten our neighbor's kids are doing until 1st grade. Approximately 30% of St. John families aren't Catholic, which provides a breadth of experience and diversity not always associated with Catholic education. While kids are taught the tenants of Catholicism, I feel the emphasis is more on providing the children with a good moral compass. The parents are very involved, so much so that there are no required volunteer hours (they just aren't needed). It truly is an excellent school, but it's also an excellent community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

We entered St. John this year with a second grader. So far I feel like we have not made many connections. People are nice but not overly inclusive. the school is extremely rule oriented and traditional. We are hoping things lightedn up this year and we can become more a part of the community. It seems hard since you drop off and pick up the kids outside and rarely see the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

Excellent academic program in a supportive atmosphere. My daughter attended preschool and on-site extended daycare at St. John's. She will be entering kintergarten there in the fall. There are 5 day and 3 day programs. The faculty and staff are caring and friendly. My daughter has made big sister friends in the third grade class that give her hugs and spend time with her when they see her even when we run into them outside of school at the local library. We attribute my daughter's conscientious and loving attitude to the school being a big family. Academically, my daughter holds her pencil correctly, knows writing and reciting her alphabet, letter sounds, numbers to 30, colors, shapes, and is beginning to read, all of which is attributed to the school program. We are very happy with all the drawings and work booklets we receive from her studies. We highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2007

Very popular school. National award-wining principal. Not too expensive for a great education. The Pre-K program is OK, but worth it to have a better chance at getting into the excellent Kindergarten program (admittance to Pre-K does not guarantee admittance to Kindergarten.) I love that there are two classes per-grade for better classroom diversity thru the years. Older children mentor younger children, which makes for a nice community. Lots of play time outside on the big playground, which is great to see. Lots of required parent involvement (volunteer hours, auction items, etc.) Sports such as x-country and soccer & extracurricular activities such as Scouts and Chess Club are offered. Nice, welcoming families, accepting of non-parishioners. Out of 20 kids in a class, about 4 are out of parish. Non-parishioners pay full-tuition, while parishioners 'prayerfully discern' how much they want to pay, so in other words they pay what they want.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

St John is a wonderful school. One of the few Catholic schools in the neighborhood with 2 classes per grade. Parish members can participate in Fair Share which allows parish families to pay whatever amount they can afford for their childs tuition. Non Parish members may qualify for tuition scholarships, which is UNHEARD of in most Catholic schools. Music, CYO sports, art program, Junior High Musical are all part of the extracurricular activities. Principal, Agnes Jacobsen, awarded National Distiguished Principal by US Dept of Education. Parent involvement VERY high as well as Parish members and school alumni. Diverse racial, economic and religious school population. My daughter entered St John as a first grader and is now in 6th grade, we have had just an outstanding experience at St John's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

The principal was a 'National Principal of the Year' and went to the White House for her recognition award. She is truly outstanding and annually sets high standards for staff, parents and students. All teachers are excellent and the school has friendly and professional support staff as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 64%
Hispanic 8% 16%
Asian 7% N/A
Black 4% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:00
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Bernadette O'Leary
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (206) 706-2704

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
43
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
73

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop Blanchet High School
Holy Names Academy
Seattle Prep
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

120 N 79th St
Seattle, WA 98103
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 783-0337

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT