Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Seattle, WA
Students enrolled: 549
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. John School 5

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
St John has been a very positive academic experience for our daughter. This year in middle school has been particularly good due to the way math classes are organized; which have allowed for all around smaller class sizes and more individualized, targeted attention. Socially, we have found the St John community to be very warm and welcoming.

St. John School 5

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
We highly recommend St. John School. It is a great place for families who want their children to have a supportive and challenging academic environment while surrounded by a warm and welcoming community. We originally looked at other public and private school options in the area before selecting St. John. The excellent academic reputation, strong community and caring faculty and staff drove us to choose St. John. We have been very happy with our choice.


St. John School 1

Posted July 04, 2014
- a parent
All these glowing reviews posted on the same day strike me as weird. It seems like there was a campaign for a group of hand picked people to write positive reviews. It makes you wonder why. Our smart, social kids had a hard time at this school. They are completely different but both ran into social issues which the school couldn't solve. We tried to stick it out because the academics are good. The social environment is cutthroat even in the younger grades with helicopter parents volunteering in the classrooms and working in the office and using the information they gather to spread gossip about children. Even Kindergarteners. When my easygoing, sensitive , perceptive and incredibly kind 2nd grader's best friend was told by her parents not to play with my kid at recess by her parents because they felt their kid should have more popular friends that was the last straw for us. If you can put up with this kind of stuff your kids can get a good education here. Everyone told us we would run into similar problems if we left because that's just how parents are these days, but that isn't true. We haven't seen anything like it since and our kids are happy and have lots of friends.

St. John School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
St John School is a breath of fresh air in this very fast paced, competitive and difficult world we are living in. They stand for what is important in life; love, faith, service and education. Kids are in a safe a loving environment and taught to make the right choices in life. They do not wear blinders but still are innocent. They have concern and empathy for each other along with people in need. They are challenged by meaningful school work. The teachers are at school because they want the kids to succeed. Parents participate and volunteer for events. Faith ties them all together. May St John continue to thrive and send responsible students into the world.

St. John School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
My school is a great community. It is a great place for kids who need challenged in school and equally a great place for kids who need extra help with school.


St. John School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
The school curriculum is excellent and rigorous. The teachers and staff have been great partners in our children's education and development. We highly recommend St. John School.

St. John School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
This school has fabulous teachers and reading and math specialists! They really take the time to help each student meet the standards at their own level.

St. John School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
St. John is an excellent school because of it's amazing Principal, Vice Principal, teachers, staff & parent community. We highly recommend St. John School.


St. John School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
St. John School is a wonderful academic environment for my two daughters. They are very different learners and St. John's philosophy of love and support for all students who want a catholic education means that they receive all the support and challenges they need to thrive. The community is active, inviting and supportive. When you need them, they are there for you, 100%! The teachers are all wonderful, dedicated and committed to the school's mission. The K-8 model means students have continuity of learning and are known as individuals. Part of growing up is learning from your mistakes and I love that my kids will do that in a place where they are known and valued as individuals.

St. John School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
I can't say enough great things about St. John!! While it is very strong (and getting stronger) academically and has the most wonderful music program, the most incredible thing about the school is its sense of community. It doesn't matter if you've been here since your kids were in Preschool or just started at middle school, whether you are Catholic, another religion, or none, this community of faculty and parents is the best!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. John School
120 N 79th St, Seattle, WA  98103
(206) 783-0337
Last modified St. John School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. John School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top