Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Joseph School

Private | K-8 | 613 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $585,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2013

We have two kids at St. Joseph (starting our third year at the school) and are very happy with all aspects of the school. We are not members of the church, but have felt welcomed into the community. Like most schools, there is quite a bit of fundraising, but it's not excessive. The administrators are top notch and every teacher we have worked with has been great. Together, they keep the curriculum on the cutting edge. They are supportive of the kids without coddling them. One of our kids went to another school that was twice as expensive and the quality of the educational experience at St. Joe's is just as good if not better. We especially like the emphasis on character development; they do a great job of helping kids to reach their potential. We feel fortunate to be a part of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

We love this school - nothing but good things to say about it. Excellent teachers and attentive to individual students needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

Right now I am a seventh grader at St. Joseph's and I love it. I have attended the school since kindergarten and none of the stuff below is true. I have many friends and we always welcome the newer kids and try and make them feel comfortable. The community of faith is amazing and I couldn't imagine any other school topping St. Joseph's. I love the school and I bet you would too!


Posted January 3, 2012

Most of these reviews are by unaware parents but as a student I was constantly bullied, not only by students, but also teachers. The academics are unfocused and taught terribly by not so good teachers. These were the worst 8 years of my life and we regret wasting SO much money on the school. The school says the already outrageous base price but you have to donate and donate and so on. This school has made me forever socially awkward and educationally embarrassed. Terrible teachers, too expensive, bad academics, and so on.


Posted August 8, 2011

i attended St. Joes from 5-7th grade and I hated it. The students and the staff were rude to people of color. I was bullied often and I had low self esteem. The athletics instructors always put me on the B team even though I was better than most of the girls. I am so glad I transferred out of there because honestly this place was cruel. This is not a good school for people of color especially black people. There is no diversity.


Posted August 8, 2011

I attended St.Joes from 5-7th grade and I hated it. Students and Staff were rude and I was bullied the whole time. This is not a school where students of color are appreciated. Athletic intstructors were bias and did not select me onto "A" teams because their daughters did not like me. I am so glad I transferred from there because I had a extreme low self esteem. Parents of black and other races of children DO NOT choose this school.


Posted September 30, 2009

You will find that St. Joseph School is not only an exceptional academic school, yet a community of faith filled families who give back in various ways - whether giving of their time or financial contributions, it is a very generous community. My son is receiving an outstanding education with a very supportive teacher (gr. 4) and a resource specialist who provides academic support and motivation to succeed - all with a positive and encouraging 'can-do' attitude. I would highly recommend St. Joseph School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

Exceptional school and community. The kids are challenged but given strong support to achieve. There is a lot of homework in middle school which can be daunting but the kids rise to it. There is definitely an expectation from the middle schoolers that homework is done - it's not cool to skip out on homework. Also a big focus on charity and doing for others. As a parent, I could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

St. Joseph School is an exceptional school with a very strong administration, dedicated faculty with very supportive parents. We made the right decision to transfer our daughter as she is able to get the academic support she needs in 4th grade from their support center. She also believes in herself for the first time in years. We couldn't ask for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

St. Joseph is a great school!! I have gone attended since kindergarten like so many other kids in my grade have, it is cool to be about to graduate with children that I have known since I was five! The teachers are great and do everything to help you get ahead.. and if you are looking to get into high schools it is a great school--- i just got into every high school i applied to and so did most people who go to St. Joes. The school has a lot of homework mainly in 7th grade... but in the end it is all worth it! I will be so sad to leave St. Joseph at the end of the year but I have loved my time here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2008

I cannot say enough great things about this school! My daughter transferred here from one of the best public schools in the area. We were happy with the previous school but we didn't know what we were missing in terms of school community and academic expectations of students. The school and parish community is wonderful. We love the academic rigor alongside the commitment to helping kids to be well-rounded, caring, and involved community members. There is also a huge stress on social justice and compassion for others here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

St. Joseph School is an excellent K-8 school-fabulous teachers, a committed administration and a very strong community. I would highly recommend St. Joe's of Seattle!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 60%
Two or more races 11% 6%
Black 5% 5%
Hispanic 4% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Seattle
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 18th Avenue East
Seattle, WA 98112
Phone: (206) 329-3260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Valley School
Seattle, WA


The Valley School
Seattle, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT