Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christ The King School

Private | PK-8 | 11 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $259,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2013

My daughter attended the PK (EEC 3 & 4) the last two years. It is an excellent school with a very active parent community. The EEC 3 teacher is very nurturing and gentle. She has been there for many years. When she moved up to EEC4, the teacher was still nurturing but stern so it was a good transition. I feel the other parents have been very involved and I've felt it is a great community. We are going to go to public K next Fall because we have a fantastic neighborhood school, but if we didn't have that option, we would certainly continue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

My son transferred to the Preschool and loves it- he can't wait to go. The teachers are great at teaching the children discipline and independence. The art program is incredible ! The children learn above their age level (math, reading, writing, etc). We are not catholic and feel no pressure to convert but my son asks lots of questions about God and Noah etc..as this is taught in the school. Weekly Mass attendance is mandatory for the children. Good PTA but as this is a small school, the after school programs reflect the limited budget and student size. The drama program by the middle school is great - almost 100% participation. The music program is very good. The school is trying to grow so there are some transitions that parents should be aware of as this is a school that may look very different in a few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

My daughter just finished her preschool year at CKS and I cried! Seriously the best experience I could have ever hoped for. I wish every child got the gift of CKS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Our son is a first year student and we have been so impressed with this school. The teachers here are deeply dedicated to their students and the academic cirriculum is excellent. There is a strong community of parents who support the teaching and administrative staff . The environment is a warm and nuturing one and we love that this school not only teaches our kids academics but teaches them about morals, manners and ways in which to give back to others. We as parents feel that what we teach at home is reinforced in the classroom. Absolutely wonderful art, music and library programs. We love this school and would not consider sending our kids anywhere else. A very special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

We transferred to Christ the King school for 7th and 8th grades, and it has been a wonderful experience. The teachers are caring but exacting. The work is high-level; expectations are high. Despite having much more homework and more challenging work than in public school, our son is thriving and enjoying himself. Parents are very involved even in the upper classes; staff has responded promptly and effectively to the few problems that have arisen. CTK is a small school and has the pluses and minuses that go with its size. The band is tiny and sports teams must sometimes be combined with those at other schools to exist at all. The kids are nice, but with such a small group the social scene can be a little insular. These downsides are more than offset by the personal attention each student receives and by the community spirit that pervades the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

My daughter attends CKS and is in Kindergarten. She will be at CKS until the 8th grade. We love this school, teachers are A+ and the small class size is wonderful. We are not members of the church or religous and I feel no pressure to join or do I feel we are treated differently since we are not members of the church. We are very pleased and tell everyone that this is one of the best private schools in Seattle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2007

I am an 8th grade student currently attending CKS. I have been there since PK and my family has been involved with the school since 1987. The teachers there are really great and give lots of hands-on experiences in class. CKS is a respectable Catholic school with good morals taught to all the students. Although I personally wouldn't recommend this school to any potential parents, I'm sure many others would.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2006

Great school community. School easily outperforms its private school peers in academic rigor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

Awesome school. Incredible art and music program. Small class size makes for a great teaching environment. Giving back to the community and helping those less fortunate emphasized and put into practice. You will be so glad to send your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2003

Great family environment. Children of all ages/grades interact and support each other. Wonderful art program. Fantastic music program. Participation in community involvement is valued and practiced. Excellent teachers are committed and work on continuous improvements. Children are happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 60%
Hispanic 20% 20%
Two or more races 14% 6%
Black 4% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 7%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Terry Maguire
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Seattle
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

415 North 117th Street
Seattle, WA 98133
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 364-6890

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Epic Life Academy
Seattle, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT