Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Seattle Country Day School

Private | K-8 | 334 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $350,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2008

This is a wonderful school and we feel privileged to have our son attend. The academics are incredible and for the first time ever, our son is challenged academically in school. Be aware that it's very difficult to gain admission to this school! Our son was a very strong applicant with excellent scores, a glowing teacher recommendation, and he performed brilliantly on his kindergarten visit day (enthusiastically participating in activities and showing off his 4th grade math skills), yet he ended up being wait-listed. Fortunately a place became available and he was accepted. This school admits roughly 20% of applicants. If you can get in, I'd say this is the best school in Seattle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

The academics are awesome. However, the attitude of the school is that they do everything right, so if you have a problem - forget it. The academics still make the school worth it, but be prepared for extreme elitism with some of the staff and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

YAY SCDS! i came in 4th grade and was immediatly accepted into the community. The teachers are awesome, all of them are really interesting and want to get to know you. Homework is rigorous, and you learn to manage your time. im gunna be so sad to LEAVE.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2007

This school is great! I have two boys that are now through college and an eighth grader, all of which attended SCDS. My daughter also spent time at Bush, but the academics at SCDS are better. The kids although a little nerdy are very bright, engaged and thoughtful. Their sports program is great with almost everyone engaged in some form of extracurricular activity (my daughter did four sports last year). My son's best friends are kids he met in kindergarten there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

I have 2 kids at SCDS. Targeted for 'children of high intellectual/creative promise.' Intelligence test required for entry, the kids are all very bright, but mostly not 'genius's'. We are entirely happy with the school, our kids love to go and are very upset to miss even one class for any appointment. Academics are excellent. The teachers are masters, they love what they do, they make everything interesting. Excelling, and widely known for math, science, and technology, the art and literature is excellent too. The parent community is friendly and while somewhat diverse economically, all share appreciation and desire for excellence in their child's education. Racial diversity is minimal, but the school is making efforts in that area. For a school this size after school activities are very good, including sports, chess, music, sewing, drama. Community Service during school. 6-8 graders are still eager learners and positive role models.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

SCDS has one major problem. It has a real problem with ethnic/cultural diversity. There is virtually no staff of color, little or no cirrculum sensivity and very little recognition of the issues facing students of color. The inquiry based teaching technique is excellant however, it can be a bit loose and can wander too much. Study skills and test taking skills could be improved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

My son attends SCDS and loves it. He visited other schools and chose this as his first choice. It is a school for gifted children but it provides more than advanced academics. The distinction this school provides is the type of teaching it provides. The classes are set up to allow children to deepen their knowledge of particular subjects with hands on exploration. Children are allowed to think through solutions of problems, and to use creative thought processes to do so. A full curriculum provides music, art as well as an advanced technology program unlike any other in the Seattle area. After school sports run fall, winter, spring. After school drama and math club. Before and after school care are on site. Parent invlolvement is very high. Auction and Crazy Carnival are two ways to be involved. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2004

i goes to this school, and i absolutely loves it there. the middle school math teacher inspires me.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 60%
Two or more races 24% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 7%
Hispanic 3% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2619 4th Avenue North
Seattle, WA 98109
Phone: (206) 691-2631

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St Anne School
Seattle, WA



Tops K-8
Seattle, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT