Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
334 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 83 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Seattle Country Day School 5

Posted April 23, 2016
- a student
I am a student at SCDS and I love it here. The teachers are amazing, the other students are nice and compassionate, and I learn a lot in the classes. I particularly enjoy the school community and how we all look after each other.

Seattle Country Day School 4

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
This is a caring school that focuses exclusively on gifted kids, and they believe in their mission.


Seattle Country Day School 4

Posted February 19, 2016
- a parent
The last two reviews submitted on the same day seem misplaced, as if they were meant for another Seattle area private school with a similar acronym that is well known for the politics mentioned. On the other hand, our experience with the administration of SCDS has been consistently professional, amenable and authentic. We respect the admissions director for her integrity, even when that meant that one of our children was not a good fit for the program. This school is about the children, not about parental or familial background and what economic or political clout can be gifted to the school. Our children are inspired, especially by the legendary science teacher, Doc O. Importantly, we perceive the school to be open to feedback as there was an opportunity for a more welcoming experience for diverse students recently and we provided some feedback in that regard. The school took quick action to implement some changes based on that feedback and demonstrated their earnest commitment to diversity. We have asked questions and given feedback in several other instances and have never received any recrimination as a result. Rather, all concerns were dealt with respectfully. Our family is multi-racial and have never felt excluded in this community based on that factor. We are also not major donors at the school and have not felt that we were treated differently. No school is perfect, but the sign of a great one is its strength in being open to feedback or change, and that is what we've found at SCDS.

Seattle Country Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
The school administration itself lacks integrity, often resorting to threats and strong-arm tactics against parents with concerns. A poor example for the students.

Seattle Country Day School 1

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
We have been active parents in the SCDS community now for over 12 years. The teachers are great, and the school is fortunate to have many wealthy and generous benefactors, but honestly the administration staff is incompetent - particularly the current admissions director and the head of the school. Everything's great as long as you are willing to smile, toe the party line that everything is just great, and donate annually, but if you raise a concern they will attack you and even threaten to kick your kids out of the school. That happened to people we know, and to us. Are you white, wealthy, and willing to just smile and keep writing big checks? Then this is the school for you. Otherwise, be warned.


Seattle Country Day School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
All of the teachers at Seattle Country Day deserve thanks. They are an amazing team - super committed and they really care about the kids.

Seattle Country Day School 5

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
All three of my kids have attended Seattle Country Day. One is now in high school and one is in college. The third still attends. There are sometimes blind spots and learning curves - so I am not saying Country Day is a perfect place, but I can say that my kids have all received an amazing education and they are all in love with learning. It's a nurturing community with very little teacher turnover. It's a school for "gifted" kids, but there's a lot of recognition that being academically capable isn't the end-all, be-all so there is tons of emphasis on social/emotional learning - which is sometimes the thing kids who are "advanced" struggle with most.

Seattle Country Day School 1

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
I strongly agree with the comments made by other reviewers in this forum regarding current admissions director at SCDS. Unfortunately she continues to be a poor representative of SCDS to the community at large and is a surprising choice for this public position at the school. I agree this is not a school whose administration welcomes parents' feedback or involvement and/or partners with parents to improve the experience when things don't work well. If this is important in your selection criteria you may be disappointed. The faculty and the academics are generally strong so please note that my review only pertains to the issues stated above.


Seattle Country Day School 1

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
I'm going to second the assertion that the admissions director at SCDS is absolutely horrible and has abysmal social skills. I can't see how they went from the previous, who was delightful and warm and welcoming, to this off-putting, snappy, impatient and abrasive replacement. I personally know a number of parents were so turned off by her that they did not choose to come on a second tour or reapply. In nearly every tour for which I volunteered or attended for a prospective student, she said or did something that sent a ripple of shock or embarrassment through the crowd. She did not improve in personal interactions. The school is a great place, a right idyll of childhood development, but this choice really made me question the administration's good sense.

Seattle Country Day School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a parent
SCDS has been ideal. The new head of the lower school is amazingly perceptive and proactive for the great benefit of the kids. The head of school is a kind and masterful leader, genuinely receptive to concerns and focused on the best interests of the students. So many of the teachers go above and beyond every expectation. Kids are genuinely happy and support each other in a wonderful learning environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Seattle Country Day School
2619 4th Avenue North, Seattle, WA  98109
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 83 reviews. (206) 691-2631
Last modified Seattle Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top