Advertisement
Advertisement

Epiphany School

Private | PK-5 | 221 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $340,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2011

This is a great school. It does exactly what it says it is going to do. It takes a diverse, non tested, group of Pre K and K grade children and develops them in to the sort of students Middle schools are looking for. The only thing it might do more better is PR. The oldest Private Elementary school in the 8 state NW. The first to have a Learning Skills department (1967) - introduced by the then Head Dr Spock - brother of the famous author. Strong academics, traditional values, modern caring approach and It now has a very nice campus. A great place to be a child and our daughter loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

Our two children currently attend Epiphany and are thriving there. They have loved each of their teachers and truly feel part of the community there. Walking down the hallways, almost every adult says hello to our children by name. As a parent, I love the academic focus, attention to the individual student, focus on public speaking, community/parent involvement, and the uniforms (although I never thought I would say that!) While there are some very wealthy families at Epiphany, we (not a very wealthy family) have felt very included in the fabric of the school and are grateful for the extravagant generosity of some of the families which has provided for things like an amazing new building which just opened this year. The parental involvement is great and the staff is warm and approachable. There are many great schools in Seattle but we are very, very happy at Epiphany.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

Epiphany school talks a lot about being a supportive, inclusive community. It is a shame that they don't follow through to actually be a supportive, inclusive community for all members. If you aren't white, wealthy and have at least one stay at home parent, I recommend you go elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

Epiphany is the best school in the world!! We love it so much!! I encourage you to go to the open house or a tour!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2007

We have been so happy at Epiphany and feel its been a great fit for our child. They have a great community of families and wonderful administration. Epiphany is more of a traditional school and we feel they 'just get it' when it comes to teaching kids. We really value the small class sizes and individual teaching specialist the most. I highly recommend you consider this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

Reputation well deserved. A great school for our boy, we found the school a very nurturing environment and were very impressed with their focus on the fundamentals and commitment to their mission statement. Epiphany has got their act together.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 64%
Two or more races 11% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 16%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3611 E. Denny Way
Seattle, WA 98122
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 323-9011

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Bush School
Seattle, WA


The Valley School
Seattle, WA


Valley School
Seattle, WA


Madrona K-8
Seattle, WA


St. Therese School
Seattle, WA


St. Joseph School
Seattle, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT