Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-8|Private
88 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 67 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Billings Middle School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 26, 2016
- a community member
I selected dont know becasue I dont know if any homework is submitted at this school beecause this school is accedemicley awful. Like dam, look at my spelling.

Billings Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 26, 2016
- a community member
The math and science teachers for the 8th graders my 8th grade year where pretty good. All the social studys teachers where pretty good. Aside from that they are all a bunch of wierdos who are bad at teaching


Billings Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 26, 2016
- a community member
All it taught me was that I could get away with not turning in work because the teacher would pick up my slack and give me millions of second chances. THAT IS WHAT SMALL SCHOOLS REINFORCE IN KIDS.

Billings Middle School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 26, 2016
- a community member
Billings tradition of bullying will corupt even the nicest of kids. You wind up having more conventional kids who dont want to be there direct there bitterness at the more "on the spectrum kids" and you get some pretty crazy bulling going on

Billings Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 26, 2016
- a community member
Because its awful. Its libral minded focus completley failed. I came into that school compassionate and libral minded so then once they started teaching that stuff I just became bitter. Two weeks ago my freinds and I started laughing after we watched an ISIS exicution


Billings Middle School 2

Posted December 31, 2015
- a student
Teachers are a hit or miss, some are very good while others are terrible. Good outdoors program.

Billings Middle School 5

Posted January 09, 2015
- a parent
Billings has been the greatest gift to our entire family. When we first enrolled our daughter we hoped the faculty would help us to raising a strong and independent critical thinker. At the time I thought this was a lofty goal. Boy, was I wrong. Billings has helped her to recognize the importance of her voice while keeping an open mind to the opinions of those around her. They have fulfilled our goal and taken it even further. The people at this school know the middle school mind. They study it and understand it in a way I don't but as a parent, should. We chose Billings for our daughter but it ended up being a great learning experience for the entire family. I feel the need to address the reviewer who insinuated these positive reviews must be fake. This accusation worries me that some families may opt not to send their child to Billings. Truth is, when we were looking for our daughter, your review and a few others made me hesitate. Thankfully I went with my gut on this one. I think the reason there are so many stellar reviews for such a small school is because many parents feel the way I feel about Billings. Passionate and grateful.

Billings Middle School 5

Posted November 02, 2014
- a community member
Billings is a great place for most kids. Everybody has a right to his or her opinion--but it is wrong for unhappy folks to suggest that the more numerous happy reviews were faked. During the past 10 years, very few families have pulled their children out of the school. During the same 10 years, the average number of alums visiting and/or volunteering at Billings each year has been almost equal to the number enrolled. The middle school years are challenging and issues arise, as they do at all schools, but at Billings there is a strong culture of respect, responsibility and restorative justice. This is reflected in the curriculum and the exemplary advisory program. Most Billings alums will tell you they were lucky to spend some years there, and they will be able to tell you why.


Billings Middle School 4

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
A nurturing, intentional school that nudges each student into doing his or her best. My daughter has loved it here and as I look over the past 2+ years I can see exactly how well-prepared she has been for high school. There are a few weak teachers but they seem to be self-selecting out.

Billings Middle School 4

Posted July 07, 2014
- a parent
Five and one star reviews are typical when the only people who comment are those who either love it or hate it. The haters comment to get back at the school for a perceived injustice, the lovers comment to counter the haters...and so it goes. I have been affiliated with Billings for 10 years . It's sad to say, but so few haters come through that I can pretty much identify them on this site. If the child is troubled or a trouble-maker and parents refuse to work with the school, they will leave unhappily. This goes for Billings and every school. But go to an open house - you'll interact with students who love to represent the school, see the work that students do in class, talk to teachers who love their work, listen to the passionate, articulate and dedicated head of school, and see photos of hand-on, minds-on, experiential learning of kids who love school. Is it for everyone? Nope. Choose well according to what your child needs, because they are as wonderfully different as the schools you see. But if you seek honest, compassionate, highly educated teachers who are enthusiastic about sharing their love for learning with your child, look at Billings.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Billings Middle School
7217 Woodlawn Avenue Northeast, Seattle, WA  98115
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. (206) 547-4614
Last modified Billings Middle School is a Private school that serves grades 6-8
Top