Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

King S Junior/Senior High School

Private | 7-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $259,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2012

As a parent, Kings has been fantastic! It has been a wonderful experience for my daughter and I highly recommend the school to anybody. With the new building for STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) the school will only get better. (Opening in the fall of 2013)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

As a parent, I loved King's. They understand their mission to serve and take it seriously. The teachers are great, and any problems are solved quickly. I've never seen such a well-run machine. It has a long history, and they've put their experience to good use. However, my daughter was bullied at King's. She refused to return to the school and now attends a local school where they accepted her with open arms. It's difficult to find your place at King's socially: it's very segmented. This had never happened to us before, so we were mystified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

I attended kings from Kindergarten to 12th grade, and while i enjoyed the experience, and did well academically, however I do not think it prepares students who are going from the christian enviorment to a public university. Its is a totally different world, and it was a bit of a culture shock.


Posted October 19, 2007

I attended King's from 7th grade to 12th grade. I felt that academically it over-prepared me in English, and did not prepare me well enough in Math. Environment-wise, it's a very safe and beautiful campus, but the student life can be difficult if you are not a Christian.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2006

I attended Kings from fourth grade until this past year. From my experience, i have throughly enjoyed all aspects of Kings, and am extremely dissapointd that i cannot attend it anymore. The teachers are as involved as possible with the students as well as with the parents. The academics are of very high quality also. Sports wise, Kings was rated 'Best High School Athletic Program in Washington State' by Sports Illustrated in 2005. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2006

excellent academic, great college preparedness. good athletic program wonderful teachers
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 15, 2005

Committed to excellence, great sports programs. Great family envolved enviroment. Incredibly devoted, caring and superior teachers. The entire school is a small community that supports one other.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 24, 2003

I believe that this school offers not only a quality education for our son, yet it teaches alot of what we miss in the public school system. I believe respect for students from the teachers only models what the kids learn for others, thus making a respectful young adult, of what we are missing most from young adults today. I believe no only teaching character in the home, but in the school, makes this school a great place for a young adult to thrive in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2003

Kings has offered tremendous opportunity and academics for our two students through their high school years. The Advanced Placement classes have prepared them for University and their Christian emphasis has prepared them for a life of service. If a student isn't challenged academically at Kings, they're not trying. King's has been rated the third, second or first most successful for academic achievement at the University of Washington, of all schools in the State of Washington, based on the University's published findings. We are very happy with the academics, teacher's and atmosphere at King's. Many non-Christian parents send their children there for the same reasons. No, I am not employed by King's. I pay full tuition and the results have been well worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The school teaches the Christian ethic but many teachers do not follow it. Teachers make uncalled for hurtful comments to students. There are two sets of rules. Some of the kids are disciplined to the extreme while others are not disciplined at all for the same acts. The reason we send our children to a Christian school is that we expect them to be treated with forgiveness, respect, dignity and kindness. The school staff needs to be reminded of this.


Posted August 26, 2003

For the size of the school, Kings offers competative sports programs and music programs that consistently stand out in competitions. The instructors and extremely focused on the kids and are very inspiring to many.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Kings rates well above any public school in the area in all aspects.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

It is a good Christian School but it is little better than public school in terms of academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Evelyn Huling
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19303 Fremont Ave North
Seattle, WA 98133
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 546-7241

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

King's Schools
Shoreline, WA



St Luke School
Shoreline, WA



Madrona Nongraded
Edmonds, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT