Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bertschi School

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $390,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

We have found ourselves surrounded by families and teachers who believe in learning, structure, accountablity and community. We have found the quality of teaching and overall attention to academics as exceptional as the school's commitment to instilling values and the reasons for them. We believe the academics and our daughter's experience at Bertschi will be a factor in her long term happiness and success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Bertschi is a unique environment that really embraces the academic, social and emotional development of the kids. It is a nurturing place; the teachers are committed and caring and parent involvement is embraced. Instruction meets the individual needs of kids who excel ('gifted", if you will') and also of kids who need extra support, because the faculty and staff actively understand 'differentiated instruction" / meeting each child where they are. The board is mission-driven; (the mission being about confident, creative and compassionate kids in a global world); they are transparent and open, and passionate about the values of the school...integrity/inclusion and sustainability. The school built the state's first completely sustainable building, a science building, with the kids contributing design ideas and monitoring energy and water usage. My kids have gained confidence, made many friends (as have we!), and my older son went on to be a top academic achiever at a strong middle school... all of which I am proud of, but I'm most pleased with how this school helps inspire lifelong learning and enrich character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

We've been at Bertschi for a month now. First impressions, this is not your typical elementary school. It will make you wish you were school age again. The leadership runs an extremely tight ship. The teachers have been there (most 10 or 20+) years. The communication is stellar and my son leaves every day telling me he loves his school. One of the things we love bestis that the school has amazing energy. Every morning, Bridgitte Bertschi, the founder of the school along with many other staff members, stand at the school's entrance and greet the kids by name. They all have my child's name down even though he's only been a student there 1 month. Impressive. Because there is an air of friendliness and community there, the parents, likewise, pass this on. You won't find the Seattle "freeze" reflected in the parent community at Bertschi. They have a vibrant community that enjoys family and parent outings as well as school related functions. The only bummer, the cost. It's really expensive and the school asks for supplemental gifts from parents once a year to offset costs. That's tough, but, for us, worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

This school does not live up to its reputation. Our children were harassed and bullied by other students, and school leadership turned a deaf ear to our complaints. A very "club like" place that imagines it is egalitarian, but it is really elitist and highly insular. Leadership appears friendly and collaborative but is actually dictatorial. Weak board leadership. No financial transparency. Overall, a very disappointing experience. Many parents are thrilled with the place. We're happy to be out of there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

My child has been at the school for two years now and I can enthusiastically say that I'm thrilled with his educational experience. The curriculum is well rounded and focuses on a global perspective, not just local. The kids learn how to be compassionate and empathetic while also being in an academically rigorous setting. I especially have appreciated how open the school is to hearing and implementing parent feedback. I have participated in providing feedback every year in a parent survey and I have seen that they can and do make changes when necessary. I also think that their learning services department is quite unique for a school of this size, helping students who need it but also challenging other students who need more of a push. I didn't think that the school did the best job marketing themselves as well as others in the "individual learning" style but they are very strong in implementing that teaching method at the school. The parent community is also really strong and I've enjoyed meeting other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

Looks like a terrific school from the outside. But applicant parents be forewarned, the admissions director offers nearly all rejectees a spot on the wait list whether or not the school has any actual interest in your child/family. She then sends unnecessarily nose rubbing emails if you're willing to remain on it and also says things in the group "interviews" that she doesn't live up to. Other schools are as competitive but with much better customer service.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2010

Bertschi provides a very strong academic program in a warm, inviting environment. In addition to a strong and rigourous academic program, Bertschi also has an amazing arts, drama, PE, Spanish, and science program. Our son currently is in K at Bertschi and we could not be more happy. He had always been a "shy", slightly socially anxious child prior to starting Kindergarten, but during his K year at Bertschi, he has grown so much socially, emotionally, and academically. He is now extremely socially confident, enjoys going to school everyday, has learned so much, and absolutely loves ALL the kids in his class. The teachers get to know each student's personality and appreciates and encourages their unique qualities. Our daughter cannot wait to start K there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

Bertschi is a great school with strong consistent mission instills in all levels. Our whole family feels very welcome in Bertschi where inclusiveness is one of the important school values. Bertschi s new science lab will be a living building and sustainability is part of everyday education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

Bertschi was the greatest experience for me as a parent and a wonderful learning experience for my daughter. My daughter is now at Seattle Academy in 7th grade and is excelling in all of her classes thanks to our time at Bertschi.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

We moved from New York and found this lovely school, Bertschi. Our child wants to attend Bertschi even on Saturdays and Sundays. The education is progressive which incorporates inter-disciplinary approaches. In other words, themes are intertwined beautifully across subjects, and thus, what can happen is as follows: students are learning a theme which is covered in both science and art classes; the students are acquiring skills and knowledge in a drama class that is needed for English class. For example, the kids perform Shakespeare play in the second grade drama class. The school body is amazingly diverse! The principle is from Switzerland. As you walk into the school, you can see all kinds of personalities and characters are blossoming. My child is blessed, being given such a great opportunity to be part of Bertschi community. This is undoubtedly a top notch school. Reputation well deserved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

The greatest school that I have ever seen! Bertschi kids are all well rounded, intellectually, emotionally and socially. Simply, an amazing school! I am glad that our child is accepted to Bertschi. The only problem is that the admission is extremely competitive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2006

Excellent private elementary school with emphasis on 'whole child' education. Excellent Resource classes in Spanish, Science, Computers, Drama, PE, Music. High level of instruction, well in advance of local public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 7%
Two or more races 10% 6%
Black 7% 5%
Hispanic 3% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2227 10th Avenue East
Seattle, WA 98102
Phone: (206) 324-5476

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tops K-8
Seattle, WA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT