Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hamlin Robinson School

Private | 1-8 | 200 students

We are best known for our comprehensive program for students with dyslexia.

 
 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $340,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

Hamlin Robinson School is the best experience I could have hoped for for my son. Entirely geared for students with dyslexia and reading related difficulties, every teacher specializes in working with kids with special needs and works to ensure each student is taught in the way that works best for him/her. Furthermore, many of the students have ADHD or similar complications and the school administration is well versed in working with these kids in productive ways to keep them out of trouble and teach them valuable life lessons. After struggling for years, my son had been diagnosed in 5th grade and he attended HRS for all of middle school. It is a wonderful, caring environment and we are thrilled with his progress!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

Our son is finishing his second year at Hamlin Robinson and we forever thankful for finding such a fantastic school who exceeds our expectations at every turn. He went from feeling he was "the dumbest kids in the class, crying, and hating school.." to smiling, skipping each day when I pick him up after school telling me "he loves his school!" What more can I say? Amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

Phenomenal school. My son is entering his second year and choosing this school for him is one of the best parenting decisions we have ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

My daughter has attended Hamlin Robinson School for 5 years. In first grade (before HRS), she told us that reading was like: "I'm in the 1st square of hopscotch and no matter how hard I throw my pebble, I can't get out of the 1st square, but everyone else throws their pebble and gets all the way to the end." If that is a familiar sentiment in your household, or you have a child who is otherwise bright, intelligent, artistic and gifted but is having a hard time learning to read, you might have a dyslexic child. HRS transforms lives every single day. I've seen kids go from hiding under their desks because they are so traumatized when they arrive to being the curious, outspoken, happy kids that they were born to be. Teachers are warm and loving, kids support each other and we would stay forever if we could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

My daughter (middle school age) came home the other day and told me:"I just love math! I love my teacher, I love the math problems. I just love math. Need I say more?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

Hamlin Robinson School understands and embraces the potential of children with dyslexia and related language difficulties. Throughout the three years my child has been at HRS she has been happy and thriving. Her academic skills have grown along with her self esteem and self advocacy skills. At Hamlin Robinson school learning has no limits!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

A terrific school, the only one of it's kind in Washington State. The teachers, staff and parents are a unified community determined to better the lives of Hamlin Robinson students.


Posted May 4, 2010

The school is the most amazing, supportive community for children with dyslexia or related learning challenges and their families. After years of being told that he wasn't very smart or just wasn't trying, my son is absolutely thriving and--above all--he believes in himself again. We have the fantastic staff at Hamlin to thank for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

Both my children are dyslexic. We were told my younger son would not learn to read or write if left in the public school. He is doing both almost at grade level after 2 1/2 years of Slingerland training obtained at Hamlin Robinson School. He was struggling with low self esteme, and now loves going to school! HRS is working miracles for him. He will attend one more year and be able to successfully mainstream back into regular education. HRS not only accommodates dyslexic kids, it solves the problems so they can function normally in life. The teachers teach dyslexic kids to read and write. They also work on the emotional damage done by hiding dyslexia with group talks and acceptance. My older son attended Hamlin Robinson for a year and a half before returning to mainstream school. He is now obtaining A's and B's in a challenging prep school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

Hamlin Robinson is an excellent opportunity for your child to thrive in school, and feel better about who she is uniquely in the world. The academic program is geared to meet the child at her own level and emphasizes the Slingerland method of instruction. Music and Art are all a part of the children's day. There also is a computer lab. Parents are a big reason why the school works. The teachers are very strong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2003

Hamlin-Robinson, also know as HRS, is a gem for those families with above average intelligence children who battle dyslexia. My daughter loves it! We have found that many of the top tier private schools integrate very well back and forth with HRS. If you want a school that has its roots in a practical curriculum, where your child can become educated on how to become a successful student this is an excellent choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 7%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • "Best of Washington Innovative Program Award (2012)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Joan Beauregard
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (206) 763-7149

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Internships
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Yogalates
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Yogalates

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$19000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
John F. Kennedy High School
Seattle Academy of Arts and Sciences
Nathan Hale High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 East Union Street
Seattle, WA 98122
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 763-1167

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Childhaven
Seattle, WA



St Joseph School
Seattle, WA



Madrona K-8
Seattle, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT