Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1-8|Private
240 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hamlin Robinson School 5

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
My son is starting his second year at HRS this year. His first year astounded my husband and I . His reading is already at grade level and he LOVES to read! His math has also improved immensely in just one year and he loves to do it because of the cool ways it's taught. He has also made wonderful friends that are highly intelligent kids who simply needed to be taught differently. My son is not ashamed of his dyslexia but feels empowerd by it because he knows he's a smart kid who thinks differently...and that's not a bad thing! Thank you HRS for the fantastic job bringing in the right teachers and programs. We count our blessings HRS is possible for Noah to attend. There is nothing like it in all of Washington state!

Hamlin Robinson School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a parent
Fantastic school! We are very lucky to have it in Seattle. They truly cater to each student's individual learning style and encourage a respectful, creative and dynamic learning environment. The teachers are talented and passionate about their job, and curricula are rich and very rounded. Our son has been thriving and I couldn't be happier!


Hamlin Robinson School 5

Posted June 08, 2013
- a parent
Our son is finishing his second year at Hamlin Robinson and we forever thankful for finding such a fantastic school who exceeds our expectations at every turn. He went from feeling he was "the dumbest kids in the class, crying, and hating school.." to smiling, skipping each day when I pick him up after school telling me "he loves his school!" What more can I say? Amazing.

Hamlin Robinson School 5

Posted December 05, 2011
- a parent
Phenomenal school. My son is entering his second year and choosing this school for him is one of the best parenting decisions we have ever made.

Hamlin Robinson School 5

Posted November 10, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has attended Hamlin Robinson School for 5 years. In first grade (before HRS), she told us that reading was like: "I'm in the 1st square of hopscotch and no matter how hard I throw my pebble, I can't get out of the 1st square, but everyone else throws their pebble and gets all the way to the end." If that is a familiar sentiment in your household, or you have a child who is otherwise bright, intelligent, artistic and gifted but is having a hard time learning to read, you might have a dyslexic child. HRS transforms lives every single day. I've seen kids go from hiding under their desks because they are so traumatized when they arrive to being the curious, outspoken, happy kids that they were born to be. Teachers are warm and loving, kids support each other and we would stay forever if we could.


Hamlin Robinson School 5

Posted February 08, 2011
- a parent
My daughter (middle school age) came home the other day and told me:"I just love math! I love my teacher, I love the math problems. I just love math. Need I say more?

Hamlin Robinson School 5

Posted February 02, 2011
- a parent
Hamlin Robinson School understands and embraces the potential of children with dyslexia and related language difficulties. Throughout the three years my child has been at HRS she has been happy and thriving. Her academic skills have grown along with her self esteem and self advocacy skills. At Hamlin Robinson school learning has no limits!

Hamlin Robinson School 5

Posted January 31, 2011
- a community member
A terrific school, the only one of it's kind in Washington State. The teachers, staff and parents are a unified community determined to better the lives of Hamlin Robinson students.


Hamlin Robinson School 5

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
The school is the most amazing, supportive community for children with dyslexia or related learning challenges and their families. After years of being told that he wasn't very smart or just wasn't trying, my son is absolutely thriving and--above all--he believes in himself again. We have the fantastic staff at Hamlin to thank for that.

Hamlin Robinson School 5

Posted January 23, 2008
- a parent
Both my children are dyslexic. We were told my younger son would not learn to read or write if left in the public school. He is doing both almost at grade level after 2 1/2 years of Slingerland training obtained at Hamlin Robinson School. He was struggling with low self esteme, and now loves going to school! HRS is working miracles for him. He will attend one more year and be able to successfully mainstream back into regular education. HRS not only accommodates dyslexic kids, it solves the problems so they can function normally in life. The teachers teach dyslexic kids to read and write. They also work on the emotional damage done by hiding dyslexia with group talks and acceptance. My older son attended Hamlin Robinson for a year and a half before returning to mainstream school. He is now obtaining A's and B's in a challenging prep school.

Nearby schools

Hamlin Robinson School
1701 20th Ave S, Seattle, WA  98144
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (206) 763-1167
Last modified Hamlin Robinson School is a Private school that serves grades 1-8
Top