Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pacific Crest Schools 1

Posted January 12, 2011
- a parent
There are three problems here that make this school unacceptable. One is that they are too rigid in the traditional Montessori tradition. Children aren't allowed to explore their creativity through play and make believe. Another problem - they don't have a playground! When the children play, they must go to a nearby park (that's on a busy street...and the play area isn't fenced). The final straw for us is not only the lack of diversity among the students, but the director's total lack of interest in that aspect. It would be very helpful for the director to take some continuing education classes regarding issues of diversity. She seems to have been educated in the distant past, and her thinking has remained in that era.

Pacific Crest Schools 5

Posted July 25, 2010
- a parent
I feel that Pacific Crest School is a respectful school that allows a child to overcome any fear of expanding their friendship to peers and adults and increasing their knowledge of different subjects. My daugther who is in 7th grade (going in to eighth) has recently told me that no matter who joins the community they are always welcomed like family; she personally has been at that school her whole life and the teachers and children alike are like a family to her. The principal is always very pleasent and easy to talk to, she has been very helpfull to my children. My son and two daughters have found at least 2 things in that school that could very well help them in the future. This school is very amazing and welcoming to anyone, we will definatly stay in touch with them.


Pacific Crest Schools 5

Posted July 15, 2010
- a parent
We sent out son to Pacific Crest Middle School. He did very well in high school and college, for which Pacific Crest deserves much of the credit.

Pacific Crest Schools 2

Posted February 25, 2009
- a parent
Too rigid. No pretend play allowed for preschool & k age kids. Some of the ideas are positive & constructive. However, allowing students to always self direct own learning ends up stifling expansion of skills & self concept. There needs to be a balanced approach to curriculum. We won't return.

Pacific Crest Schools 5

Posted August 22, 2008
- a parent
My 5th grader and 7th grader have attended Pacific Crest since they were 2 1/2 year old preschoolers, and have received an amazing education. When you first observe in a classroom, you note how unusually focused, calm and happy the students are. The teachers and director are extremely dedicated and there is very little staff turnover. It takes a bit of a leap of faith (unless you are very familiar with Montessori principles) because parents only observe in the classroom once or twice a year. The 'end product', however, are students who are independent, curious, compassionate and aware. The founder/director of the school has a great passion for her work and cares deeply about the students. It is a relatively small private school with moderate tuition, and is lacking in racial and economic diversity. But nothing in life is perfect, is it?


Pacific Crest Schools 5

Posted July 27, 2008
- a parent
This school is amazing. We have two children attending this school and cannot say enough about the teachers and the community. Contrary to what is noted in other reviews, constant observations of your child and direct and constant feedback are the norm. Teachers work very hard to make sure children are well rounded and working in all subject areas. If one method is not working well, they get out other materials that will tease their intellect. Yes, children do manage their own time but they are also taught how to be self-guiding with gentle reminders and suggestions. There is tons of creativity in the curriculum and especially the elementary materials value immagination as a critical component. Everything is taught with relevance and usually a story. This school helps each child be who they are in a way that is non-jugmental, gentle- using materials and methods that are out-of-sight. Great School!

Pacific Crest Schools 1

Posted May 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Pacific Crest Schools 3

Posted October 03, 2007
- a parent
School has a wonderful parent community and many gifted teachers, but the founder/director is rather cold and offputting and neither open to parental input nor forthcoming with information. A real downside, unfortunately, because it colors the whole environment.


Pacific Crest Schools 2

Posted April 24, 2007
- a parent
Be careful! My son seemed to be doing well, and very abruptly the school told us they were not a good match for him. They believe very strongly in their philosophy; the environment should solve all of the childrens learning needs. If it doesn't they are unwilling to make even slight accomodations, like giving instructions in writing or having the child do the work that they like less before the work that they like more. If your child would choose to knit or do crafts over working on math or handwriting they will not want to direct them to do otherwise. They will view it as not a good fit. My daughter seemed to be doing well. We had an outside assesment; she was 2 YEARS behind grade level. When I brought it up I was told 'well, she doesn't choose math but it will come together for her next year.'

Pacific Crest Schools 2

Posted February 17, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pacific Crest Schools
600 NW Bright St, Seattle, WA  98107
(206) 789-7889
Last modified Pacific Crest Schools is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Pacific Crest Schools Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top