Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-5|Private
83 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Seattle Jewish Community School 5

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
We have now completed 2 years at SJCS and have been very happy. It never would have occurred to me to look at this school because we are not religious. My husband is also not Jewish, but SJCS has been a lovely way to connect our daughter to this part of her identity, and to give her the chance to learn about her own spirituality in the context of Judaism's caring and mindful values. My daughter is thriving there. She has a love of learning and a caring toward her peers that is fostered in both judaic and general studies. And the community is warm and embracing of all levels of religious commitment.

Seattle Jewish Community School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter just graduated from kindergarten and we are so impressed by this school! There is a unique focus on dealing with and understanding your emotions. Figuring out how to solve difficult situations without resorting to negative behavior. This is learning and community at its best!


Seattle Jewish Community School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
Our daughters have been so happy attending this school. The caring teachers and staff instill a love of learning. The curriculum builds self-confidence and the moral compass of Judaism encourages compassion in our children for their fellow students and their fellow human beings. This school is a great way to start a lifetime of learning.

Seattle Jewish Community School 5

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
This is our first year at SJCS. What we love about the school is the welcoming, warm and supportive community; the excellent academic standards while valuing the various ways kids intelligence may shine and progress, and the truly caring teachers and administration. Our child has thrived at SJCS. We hear her singing in Hebrew in her room and later she excitedly tells us fun facts about leaves and spiders. A wonderful school that we are lucky to be a part of!

Seattle Jewish Community School 5

Posted June 13, 2010
- a parent
This school is truly a community school. It doesn't matter how religious or not you are. Each child is taught to his/her full potential and each child is valued for his/her own unique abilities. The teachers and staff are of the highest caliber and my children are learning all that they can academically as well as growing with values in how to treat all people, including their peers.


Seattle Jewish Community School 5

Posted October 27, 2009
- a parent
I highly recommend SJCS! The school really lives up to its name as a 'community school.' The teachers and staff are outstanding and the involved, caring community is unmatched. My son transferred in in 3rd grade and was most welcome. The academics and Judaic curriculum is indeed challenging but equally important is the social curriculum and emphasis on ethical behavior based on Jewish values. My 5th grader just had an amazing experience feeding lunch to the homeless downtown. The school really lives its values. Notably, the school is becoming increasingly diverse (a factor for us since my Kindergartener was adopted from China), accurately reflecting today's Jewish community.

Seattle Jewish Community School 5

Posted September 01, 2009
- a parent
Amazing school where kids are taught academics and judaics in the context of their Jewish values. The curriculum is challenging and inclusive, the teachers are high caliber and the community is involved and supportive.

Seattle Jewish Community School
no rating

Posted July 30, 2009
- a parent
Outstanding education experience for all learning styles, a joy to work with the experienced caring teachers and staff, and a caring community.


Seattle Jewish Community School
no rating

Posted November 01, 2007
- a parent
A school with a superb curriculum with small classes and a high standard of education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Seattle Jewish Community School
12351 8th Avenue Northeast, Seattle, WA  98125
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (206) 522-5212
Last modified Seattle Jewish Community School is a Private school that serves grades K-5
Top