Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Matheia School

Private | PK-5 | 45 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $401,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2013

Oh Donna she is a gem! I And yes somethimes social emotional development is as simple as sitting down and talking through the problem and giving kids tools. I sent my child to a bigger more established private school (that talked the talk about socail/emotional development) and my child was bullied beyond belief before we switched to Mathiea. Whoever this was who felt ill will towards Donna should see what an amazing asset she is to Matheia. Donna has held sick kids in her arms, read to children daily, calmed nervous parents who hid in bushes as their kids went off to kindergarten (yes really) greeted families everyday with a smile on her face. Loved kids as though they were her own. Matheia is really not like any other school you will find anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

My rating is primarily for new students coming into Matheia. I witnessed no effort to transition a child into a new classroom - not even an introduction to other children, followed by irritation with children nervously chatting with new child, rather than educated, sensitive awareness of the dynamics. Classroom observations also showed one very seemingly controlling, cold teacher - who turned out to be the school co-founder (Allison). In two separate instances Allison spent her art "teaching time" telling the children firmly and repeatedly what they could not do (couldn't push imprints too hard into clay, etc.) and finished not with inspiring creativity, but with reminding them that if they had their own design ideas they'd need to see her for approval. Also, when asked about school's social emotional development approach, another school lead, Donna, just commented, "well when the kids fight we're able to sit them down and talk it out and usually it's just a misunderstanding." She did not elaborate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2012

Our daughter attends Matheia & we are so fortunate that we found this amazing school. Having just moved to Seattle, we looked at many options & this was by far the best. True focus on the children & on creative learning. We are amazed at our daughter's class work & the dedication & focus of the staff. A true gem of a school, that will provide her with a fabulous foundation for years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

I was a student at Mathiea, and it was the greatest school I think I'll ever go to. It made even my least favorite subjects seem almost fun, and my favorite subjects that much better. The only thing that would make this school better is if it didn't stop at 5th grade!


Posted May 24, 2011

We have a five year old in Kindergarten at Matheia, and there is not a day that goes by that we don't realize how fortunate we are to be a part of this gem of a school. Small class size, incredible teacher focus and commitment, and a strong spirit of community involvement characterize Matheia. Add to that a strong academic curriculum, and an hour of play time for the kids at the nearby park everyday, rain or shine. Run, don't walk, to register!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

Matheia is more than JUST a school! They are a tight knit community. The teachers want what is best for each and every student. Their low student to teacher ratio allows them the time to attend to the individual needs of each child. Matheia has been a wonderful fit for both of my children! They have nurtured, challanged and encouraged them academically, emotionally and socially. The attention that they have received, allows them to grow and learn individually. They have encouraged my shy cautious daughter out of her shell, to share her opinions and knowledge with her schoolmates. She has blossomed into a leader! Matheia has taught my outgoing son to slow down and take problems one step at a time. He has become a veracious reader, devouring books left and right. Matheia has taught them to advocate for themselves and those around them. Teaching them analytical problem solving skills that can be used for academic purposes or for problems that crop up with friends (and parents). Matheia is more than JUST a school, they have been partners in raising my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

This is an amazing and loving school. The art program alone is phenomenal - our first grade daughter comes home and teaches us about artists with such passion, things we didn't even learn in art class in college! On top of that, the emphasis on reading is our favorite part of the school. Our daughter entered their pre-k class already knowing how to read and they quickly moved her up into a reading group with peers, even though they were older than she was. The reading groups are formed by ability, not age, which is fantastic. Each child is able to grow in their reading ability at their own pace. After reading is over, the children return to their age-group/grade level for the rest of their classes. Each subject is taught by a specialist (i.e. science teacher, math teacher, language arts teacher, etc) so you get teachers who are passionate about their subject matter and that translates into fun & fascinating classes. Because each class is so small (10 kids max) the work can be customized for each student based on what kind of help the child needs. There are so many little "touches" that make this school feel like a 2nd home. Parents are VERY warm & friendly to ea other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

We have been a Matheia family for 4 years - with 2 kids currently enrolled. We looked at many private and public school options and are so happy with our decision to place them both at Matheia. Small class size (10 students per class), amazing faculty, experiential learning and strong school community all contribute to what I feel has been a phenomenal educational and personal growth experience for my children. Each day, in addition to very strong Math (Singapore method) and Language Arts programs, the students also participate DAILY in Science, Social Studies and Art you won t find this in many schools.... There are also daily electives (student-chosen and very creative) as well as a Spanish program. They also spend an hour out-of-doors, rain or shine, 5-days a week throughout the year. Tuition is reasonable (in comparison to other private school institutions in Seattle) and has been worth every penny to our family. The school's mission (and they truly exceed this) is: To spark the imagination, intellect and community spirit of children in order that they will carry the joys of learning and social involvement well beyond the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

What a fabulous school! I feel such gratitude to the teachers and staff- my son has regained his love of learning after a very rough start at another private school. His academics were assessed and he was given specific help to catch up with his peers. It truly is a program capable of addressing each student's abilities and challenging them positively and constantly. The art and science classes are absolutely fabulous, such a gift to our students; social studies is super fun (imagine!); math is engaging and language arts is rigorous with very creative projects. The governance structure is clear and entirely child focused, the logistics are simple and supportive (one go to person who is friendly and knows everything, free childcare for meetings). There is a tradition of only ONE super fun, low key, fundraiser a year. Parents are welcoming. Wow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

Our son spent three early years in the Seattle School District's blended pre-school programs - kids with IEP's (individualized education plans) in small sized classes, mixed with typically developing kids. It was a good start, but going into first grade meant being mainstreamed into a class with 27+kids. I went into a panic, knowing he would be the one to fall through the cracks. On Labor Day week-end I called Matheia and spoke with Donna, the gatekeeper extraordinare, who set up a time for my husband and I to come in. Allison and Donna graciously met with us the next day and were nothing but encouraging. A big difference from another private school, which wanted to put our son on probation to see if he would be a 'good fit'. Two and half years later,he's a happy, healthy, well liked 3rd grader and the fit at Matheia has been just right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

This is a lovely little school. Our son is energized by school every day. Matheia offers small class sizes (ten or fewer kids) and an environment that is fun and engaging and solidly academic, yet as warm and comfortable as a cup of hot cocoa on a snowy day. Seriously. Art, Science, Social Studies, Math, Writing, PE every day. Reading every morning in small groups based on ability, rather than age or grade. Games of strategy to learn math (in addition to a solid curriculum). The families are warm and inclusive. The teachers and staff are the real deal and love engaging children across a range of abilities. Their small class size and dedication mean that all the children thrive here. For a private school in Seattle - and we looked at several - Matheia is an incredible bargain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

I have 2 boys at Matheia, in KG and 1st grade. I have been amazed at the transformation in my 1st grader who has transformed into a voracious learner, science enthusiast and is now reading at a 3rd grade level. My younger son loves art and I feel so lucky that his artistic interests are just as encourages as academic ones. The parent community has been very inviting. I am proud to be part of the school and would recommend it everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

Our 5 year old is going on her second year at Matheia and we couldn't be happier -- and neither could she. Matheia is a nurturing environment that strikes a healthy balance between adhering to a structured curriculum while maitaining a fluid environment where they celebrate children's curiosities and personalities. Our daughter doesn't get lost in the mix. The teachers have a genuine concern for each child and their personal growth. They just moved into a great building in Ballard that is clean, bright and cheery. We just wish that it would go all the way up to high school :).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2007

We have a daughter in Kindergarten at Matheia and we absolutely LOVE the school. Its small classroom size (10-kids per class!!), individualized attention, excellent academics taught by highly qualified 'specialists' in each subject, nurturing, exciting environment all make this an excellent school. Now that it has moved to a beautifully remodeled and expanded location in Ballard, the school is really growing into it's new space, giving the educators and kids a chance to grow into this new space. All pre-K through 5th-grade students attend core classes of Reading, Science, Math, Language Arts and Art DAILY! The children go outside 1-hour daily, rain or shine, for PE-Recess. I also love that all-ages interact daily during lunch-PE-Electives. The all-ages integration provides wonderful and valuable learning experiences for both the younger and the older children and the kids seem to love it! They do a beautiful job of educating and growing a life-long passion for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

An amazing place for children. Individualized academics, outstanding teachers. We attended for three years and my child absolutely loved it and made the transition into a larger school with ease. Math, science, art. reading and writing, PE and electives- it's all good. Every single thing done at this school is done well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2005

Incredible small private school moving to the Ballard Area. All children take writing, art, math, science, PE, and reading daily. There are only 10 kids per classroom. It is ideal for a lot of one to one attention. My child has really thrived there. The parent involvement can be based on what you want to give. The art program and teacher is the best. She was a winner of a Golden apple award. My child is so excited to go to school each day and has become very advanced in Math and reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 60%
Hispanic 12% 20%
Two or more races 5% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 7%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2205 Northwest 67th Street
Seattle, WA 98117
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 283-1828

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Salmon Bay School
Seattle, WA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT