Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Seattle, WA
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Center School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 02, 2015
- a community member
I taught more to this person about writing than the teachers did and I hadn't known this person long during their senior year

The Center School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 02, 2015
- a community member
The person I know from that school didn't even have to pass their classes to graduate... That developed nothing.


The Center School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 02, 2015
- a community member
I've noticed that everyone stays close friends after graduation. Even 5 years after and they all still care about one another and have eachother's backs

The Center School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 02, 2015
- a community member
I was told my a student that the teachers help them on standardized test... The test that make them a 7 not a 2

The Center School 1

Posted July 02, 2015
- a community member
My in law had a terrible education here. They didn't know how to write an essay until I showed them how! Math and science were terrible as well. This person had even told me the school does alright with testing because the teachers help them on the tests. If I were this person's parent, I would be appalled that they let my child graduate with a failing report card. They gave this person "extra credit" for things they didn't do just so they would "pass" and the school wouldn't have to deal with yet another drop out. NEVER EVER SEND YOU CHILD HERE!


The Center School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
The Center school is a community of committed educators with a unique and dynamic student body. The school offers students smaller classes and a real community feel. nobody gets left behind. The course offerings are not as broad as some larger schools, but 2 AP science classes are offered and math up to calculus is available. This school has been a great fit for my daughter and has provided her with what one would expect from a private school education.

The Center School 2

Posted July 09, 2012
- a parent
I have been a Center parent for three years now. In the beginning, we were impressed by the atmosphere and class quality. It seemed to be a good hybrid of public and private school environments and our daughter was very happy there. However, as time goes on, Center's flaws have come to outweigh its benefits. Math and science education in particular are very, very weak. Students get almost no support from the school in fulfilling graduation requirements not offered (such as Physical Education). Teacher quality is extremely uneven. There are a few great ones, such as Ms. Carroll, but a few who shouldn't even be teaching. Because of the combined class system used, if your child winds up with one of the bad teachers, you could be stuck with that for two years. Heaven help you if your kid winds up with Mr. Bell or Ms. Krupke. On the other hand, the new principal has been a great addition to the school. Hopefully Ms. Britsova can turn some of these things around. In the meantime, though, if you have to choose between Garfield and Center (due to the new geographic assignment system), choose Garfield.

The Center School 5

Posted March 20, 2012
- a student
Amazing. The community here plays a central role. Despite an open campus and students with more individual freedoms than at other High Schools, students look out for each other and are very inclusive. Peers are embraced for their differences and everyone has a chance to shine in their own way. Curriculum is intensive without taking over students lives with too much homework. This school doesn't have the traditional cliques of jocks or cheer leaders, rather one large group with close friends in small groups in the mix, unified as a whole. Despite budget cuts over the last few years which have hurt its electives, Center's art programs are amazing and taught by such dedicated, passionate teachers. I hope they add music and dance programs! Ms. Britsova is amazing; practically a school idol. This school not only retains its unique environment and art programs with her here, but core classes have improved dramatically to become leading in the district. The Center House is a wonderful location for this school as well, as it teaches kids to be resourceful and look out for themselves in the real world. As a current sophomore, I highly recommend TCS and look forward to my next 2 years here.


The Center School 5

Posted March 01, 2012
- a community member
The last person to write a review is completely disillusioned about the The Center School. The school is a based on college prep curriculum with an arts focus. The point about musical instruments is a lie, as well as the point about less than mediocre results, seeing the school is the only Seattle Public School except Ballard to score the highest rating through the Washington Achievement Award. This parent should be ashamed of themselves for spreading lies and actually take up their individual problems with the school administration.

The Center School 1

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
Center is a refugee school. Focused on arts was the original charter but it offers less art study opportunities than most district high schools. Case in point; all musical instruments were removed from the school in 2010 because they were a nuisance . Because of its arts status Center is free of district boundary lines. Center is the only alternative for students from the worst Seattle schools. For many attending Center, their designated High School is not an option. As a result ratings of the school become inflated because the alternative for so many involved is so much worse. Parents involved enough to find this alternative are also capable of backing & defending the school vigorously. For this reason many who choose this school find that it is vastly overrated. The gross lack of parity in Seattle Schools is inexcusable & sets up the conditions for an overrated school such a Center to exist; highest $/student in the state with less than mediocre results. District leadership & vision only prevents every school from being a Roosevelt or Garfield. If Seattle Schools had parity there would be no Center.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Center School
305 Harrison St, Seattle, WA  98109
(206) 252-9850
Last modified The Center School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
The Center School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top