Advertisement
Advertisement

Seattle Girls' School

Private | 5-8 | 86 students

Our school is best known for developing leaders and brain-based learning.
 
 

 
 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $294,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 30, 2013

My daughter is attending SGS for the first time this year. The first day of school, I remember leaving her in the classroom with the small group of students sitting at the tables in a circle, with nervous eyes on each other and their new space. Later that day, they were laughing, joking and smiling like they had known each other for years. They disagree, of course, and don't always get along, but they deal with issues as a community, like a family. That is one of the wonderful things about SGS, everyone knows your child, they know when she is having a hard time and support her, they take the time to get to know what motivates her to be the best her she can be. The SGS community is wrapped around each girl from the first day, and it shows. My daughter LOVES Seattle Girls' School, and I love it as well. Last year, she sadly began to loose the joy of learning. She was broken, by the memorization, drilling and testing that was happening in her old school. Today she comes home every day excited about something she learned, or a project she is working on. I don't even know if she knows how much she is learning, because she is having fun doing it! Thank you SGS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

SGS was a wonderful experience for our daughter, she is a junior in high school. She learned how to set goals for her education, talk about what she is learning and what she wants to improve upon. The math department has been with the school for years, the newest member is the current 6th grade math teacher, who was a student teacher in 5th grade and has taught 2 years of 6th grade math, she has a B.A., Community, Environment, and Planning, and Dance, University of Washington and a M.I.T., Masters in Teaching from Seattle University. The Dean of Students is very qualified and has a Bachelor Degree in Liberal Arts, and completing her Master Degree in Education. SGS has given our daughter courage, curiosity and the love of learning. She is gracious, curious and is able to talk to her teachers about her classes, and get questions answered. Her Honors Chemistry teacher said she doesn't want to memorize information but wants to understand it and once she understands it she helps others. She got into her 1st choice high school because of SGS. SGS was worth every cent and we know she will continue to use her skills from SGS in her studies & everyday life. I highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

I agree with the other parent who mentioned to research how many children have pulled out of this school since the change in the head of school. There was a social media group site that most of the students were members of, where the girls would go in and vent about how unfair this school was and how much they hated it. The academic curriculum is very good here, however, the unfairness, bullying, sabotaging of high school applications, and the emotional damage my child has experienced from the other students, staff, and threats from another wealthier parent from attending this school has scarred her and left us with a long road of emotional recovery ahead of us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

Seattle Girls' School has proven to be the best decision we could have made for our now 7th grade daughter. The integrated curriculum, hands on learning and remarkable commitment of the staff has exceeded all expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2012

Check how many students pulled out since a change in the head of shcool. The bullying here is not only done by the students but staff as well. The staff here also enable wealthier parents to bully lower class income parents. HUGE MISTAKE putting my daughter here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

My daughter joined the school two years ago. At the time her math scores were beginning to falter, she had lost interest in learning Spanish, and was becoming shy. Now she is a leader at the school, enjoys math and science, and has made many friends. The curriculum is exceptionally well integrated, the atmosphere supportive, and the leadership exceptional. I can't recommend SGS high enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

SGS teaches girls about their potential and all the girls who come out of this school know that they can do anything. they have the skills and motivation to go on into high school and college and get the most from their experiences. SGS, although being a private school, mandates that 40% of their girls come from economic situations that would otherwise make this kind of education impossible. My daughter was one of those girls. she went to be on the deans list in college and is persuing a degree in psychology, and on to a doctorate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

This school is perfect in all ways imaginable. I'm a student here, and it's my first year, and it's everything I wanted in a school and more. The education is amazing, project-based, hands-on material that integrates the latest learning technology. Although I love the education, my favorite part of SGS is the 'extra stuff'. Just some of the fun things we do include internships (every Wednesday afternoon, we'd go do our internship. Mine was making music and we went to a real recording studio!), after school sports (soccer, cross-country, basketball, lacrosse, skiing, and snowboarding), and getting leadership roles that make the school better. We have a student council, a student concerns committee, and student spirit committee, student ambassadors, and other things to come. I love this school, and I can't wait to get there every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2005

The mission of Seattle Girls' School is to empower middle school girls to think critically and seek creative solutions to real world problems in a challenging academic environment that highlights science, math, and technology, embraces diversity and promotes collaboration, integrated learning and respect for all. The Seattle Girls' School is a member of the National Coalition of Girls' Schools and holds Candidate Membership in the Pacific Northwest Association of Independent Schools. The Seattle Girls' School admits students from any race, religion, national or ethnic origin, or family composition to all rights, privileges, programs and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 64%
Black 26% 6%
Asian 15% N/A
Hispanic 4% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Rafael del Castillo
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • All girls
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCGS
  • NWAIS
  • NWGC
  • PSIS
  • WFIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Alverno Model
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Parent Carpools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Rock Climbing and Bouldering
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Ultimate Frisbee

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Affinity Groups
  • Student Interest Groups
  • Student council/government
  • Wednesday Workshops
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • Seattle Girls' School exists to develop and inspire courageous leaders who think independently, work collaboratively, learn joyfully, and champion change.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 14, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2706 S Jackson Street
Seattle, WA 98144
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 709-2228

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Therese School
Seattle, WA



Madrona K-8
Seattle, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT