Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8
Private
Seattle, WA
Students enrolled: 105
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Seattle Girls' School 1

Posted October 26, 2014
- a community member
The school plays their girls a level down in basketball so 8th graders are versing seventh graders. The neighborhood is full of crime and the most awful thing is they say it will provide life experiences but they come out not knowing how to cope.

Seattle Girls' School 5

Posted November 30, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is attending SGS for the first time this year. The first day of school, I remember leaving her in the classroom with the small group of students sitting at the tables in a circle, with nervous eyes on each other and their new space. Later that day, they were laughing, joking and smiling like they had known each other for years. They disagree, of course, and don't always get along, but they deal with issues as a community, like a family. That is one of the wonderful things about SGS, everyone knows your child, they know when she is having a hard time and support her, they take the time to get to know what motivates her to be the best her she can be. The SGS community is wrapped around each girl from the first day, and it shows. My daughter LOVES Seattle Girls' School, and I love it as well. Last year, she sadly began to loose the joy of learning. She was broken, by the memorization, drilling and testing that was happening in her old school. Today she comes home every day excited about something she learned, or a project she is working on. I don't even know if she knows how much she is learning, because she is having fun doing it! Thank you SGS.


Seattle Girls' School 5

Posted November 21, 2013
- a parent
SGS was a wonderful experience for our daughter, she is a junior in high school. She learned how to set goals for her education, talk about what she is learning and what she wants to improve upon. The math department has been with the school for years, the newest member is the current 6th grade math teacher, who was a student teacher in 5th grade and has taught 2 years of 6th grade math, she has a B.A., Community, Environment, and Planning, and Dance, University of Washington and a M.I.T., Masters in Teaching from Seattle University. The Dean of Students is very qualified and has a Bachelor Degree in Liberal Arts, and completing her Master Degree in Education. SGS has given our daughter courage, curiosity and the love of learning. She is gracious, curious and is able to talk to her teachers about her classes, and get questions answered. Her Honors Chemistry teacher said she doesn't want to memorize information but wants to understand it and once she understands it she helps others. She got into her 1st choice high school because of SGS. SGS was worth every cent and we know she will continue to use her skills from SGS in her studies & everyday life. I highly recommend the school.

Seattle Girls' School 1

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
I agree with the other parent who mentioned to research how many children have pulled out of this school since the change in the head of school. There was a social media group site that most of the students were members of, where the girls would go in and vent about how unfair this school was and how much they hated it. The academic curriculum is very good here, however, the unfairness, bullying, sabotaging of high school applications, and the emotional damage my child has experienced from the other students, staff, and threats from another wealthier parent from attending this school has scarred her and left us with a long road of emotional recovery ahead of us.

Seattle Girls' School 5

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
Seattle Girls' School has proven to be the best decision we could have made for our now 7th grade daughter. The integrated curriculum, hands on learning and remarkable commitment of the staff has exceeded all expectations.


Seattle Girls' School 1

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
Check how many students pulled out since a change in the head of shcool. The bullying here is not only done by the students but staff as well. The staff here also enable wealthier parents to bully lower class income parents. HUGE MISTAKE putting my daughter here.

Seattle Girls' School 5

Posted May 26, 2011
- a parent
My daughter joined the school two years ago. At the time her math scores were beginning to falter, she had lost interest in learning Spanish, and was becoming shy. Now she is a leader at the school, enjoys math and science, and has made many friends. The curriculum is exceptionally well integrated, the atmosphere supportive, and the leadership exceptional. I can't recommend SGS high enough.

Seattle Girls' School 1

Posted December 25, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Seattle Girls' School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
SGS teaches girls about their potential and all the girls who come out of this school know that they can do anything. they have the skills and motivation to go on into high school and college and get the most from their experiences. SGS, although being a private school, mandates that 40% of their girls come from economic situations that would otherwise make this kind of education impossible. My daughter was one of those girls. she went to be on the deans list in college and is persuing a degree in psychology, and on to a doctorate.

Seattle Girls' School 5

Posted December 08, 2008
- a parent
This school is perfect in all ways imaginable. I'm a student here, and it's my first year, and it's everything I wanted in a school and more. The education is amazing, project-based, hands-on material that integrates the latest learning technology. Although I love the education, my favorite part of SGS is the 'extra stuff'. Just some of the fun things we do include internships (every Wednesday afternoon, we'd go do our internship. Mine was making music and we went to a real recording studio!), after school sports (soccer, cross-country, basketball, lacrosse, skiing, and snowboarding), and getting leadership roles that make the school better. We have a student council, a student concerns committee, and student spirit committee, student ambassadors, and other things to come. I love this school, and I can't wait to get there every day.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Seattle Girls' School
2706 S Jackson Street, Seattle, WA  98144
(206) 709-2228
Last modified Seattle Girls' School is a Private school that serves grades 5-8
Seattle Girls' School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top