Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Seattle, WA
Students enrolled: 506

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tops K-8 1

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
the principle is a terrible person and has no place to be around famiies. i tried to talk to him about my son's anxiety and he didn't give me a chance to talk.

Tops K-8 3

Posted November 18, 2010
- a parent
A pretty good school overall. My complaints against TOPS have mostly to do with the inability to fire teachers that are burnt out or simply not there for the students. A certain teacher played favorites with students doing well in his class and refused to help struggling students. Spent way too much time on cars.com during the school day when he could have been helping the students he is being paid to teach. My daughter struggled in math until she entered high school (Garfield). Once she had someone who took the time to explain the lesson well, she took off. Meanwhile this teacher still teaches at TOPS. I still hear parents complaining.


Tops K-8 5

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
We felt like we won the lottery when we got into TOPS, and we did. At TOPS we've found dedicated and talented teachers and staff and a wonderful diverse community that supports our children. There is high parent involvement and the kids are together from kindergarten through 8th grade so everyone really becomes a family, and invested in each other's success. It's a special place, we feel very lucky.

Tops K-8 4

Posted January 09, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Tops K-8 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
Great school with a great diversity of students.


Tops K-8 3

Posted July 31, 2007
- a parent
TOPS is a small caring community. There is an excellent art program, and PE is great. But it is rather average in terms of academics(although there is lots of talking about how great the programs are). I have been working with my child all those 'elementary' years at home to make sure that she stays advanced, particularly in math. So, if your child (or you) has academic ambitions, this school is not for you unless you are willing to supplement at home.

Tops K-8 5

Posted July 09, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Tops K-8 5

Posted May 10, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Tops K-8 5

Posted June 26, 2006
- a parent
TOPS is a great school for my kids. Joan and Joby, the Kindergarten teachers, are absolutely amazing! A somewhat more traditional approach than some other alternative schools, although kids are given many choices. Those choices are good for kids who need freedom to explore; might seem chaotic to kids(and parents) who need a ton of structure. Alternative nature also based on emphasis on arts (esp. visual arts, theater, public speaking), and social justice. One other review panned the school as 'politically correct', to which the school would plead: 'guilty as charged'. How many other schools have a large and highly active 'Committee for Social Justice' and an anti-bullying program that runs from Kindergarten to 8th grade? Would only recommend this school if alternative school with these goals appeals to you.

Tops K-8 5

Posted June 01, 2006
- a staff
This school has high standards. The staff has put a lot of effort into coordinating the curriculum across classes and grades. Students who struggle are given help by parent volunteers, small group instruction, and sometimes private tutors. The special education staff is very high quality. The downside to the school is that the classes are almost always at capacity, and once you reach the middle school level the students don't have have any options for their 'electives'. It can also be hard to get into.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tops K-8
2500 Franklin Av East, Seattle, WA  98102
(206) 252-3510
Last modified Tops K-8 is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tops K-8 Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top