Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-8|Private
54 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lake Washington Girls Middle School 5

Posted February 07, 2015
- a parent
My daughter went in one type of girl (afraid of the world) and came out amazing...a great student, a public speaker, a leader. Can't recommend L-Dub enough.

Lake Washington Girls Middle School 5

Posted December 01, 2013
- a parent
Given how much I used these reviews to find potential schools, its time I write a review for LWGMS. LWGMS has transformed my daughter. She exudes confidence, a willingness to take risks, and above all, despite these hormonally charged years, she continues to be caring, respectful, and compassionate. I am forever grateful to the faculty who always strive higher. The school is a perfect blend of academics and fun. Above all, unlike many middle schools, the LWGMS parent community is warm and inclusive. Not only does LWGMS prepare our girls, but they educate the parents to form a cohesive partnership in our girls' learning.


Lake Washington Girls Middle School 5

Posted July 03, 2010
- a community member
Top ten reasons you should apply to LWGMS: 1) The teachers want you to succeed. 2) There are only 18 girls per class. 3) You will build a strong bond with your teachers and classmates. 4) You can talk to the teachers about problems with classmates, or issues with homework or ...anything. 5) You will not get bored in any of your classes they are all fun and exciting with energetic teachers. 6) They have a good challenging work in every class. 7) We go to Starbucks at least 3 times a year. 8) You make an unbreakable bond with your classmates. 9) We put on a play each year(lots of fun). 10) Our motto is strong in mind body and voice and by graduation (8th grade) you WILL be strong in mind body and voice. I love L- dub and when I leave I will miss it soooooo much!!!

Lake Washington Girls Middle School 5

Posted January 04, 2010
- a parent
LWGMS has been an incredible experience for both our daughters. It lives up to its mission. Our daughters are more confident, willing to speak their minds in an appropriate manner, and made it through the 'middle school years' in a wonderful, nurturing, academically rigorous environment. LWGMS gets at leats 5 stars.

Lake Washington Girls Middle School 5

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
We could not be happier with LW. It is a fantastic school and really does build the girls for life- in mind, body and sporot


Lake Washington Girls Middle School 5

Posted June 15, 2009
- a parent
My daughter could not have had a better experience. I'm shocked to see the 2-star rating someone gave below. It strikes me as petulant, especially since this parent's main complaint is that the teachers 'care a little bit too much.' The school wasn't perfect, but the strength and confidence it brings out in the girls really needs to be experienced to be believed.

Lake Washington Girls Middle School 5

Posted May 22, 2009
- a parent
We could not have asked for a better experience for our daughter. The curriculum is rigorous, the teachers extremely qualified and caring, and the community of parents a group of people we are happy to spend so much time with! While our daughter would have faired just fine at a larger coed middle school, we are so grateful to have been given the chance to offer her a supportive community during what can be challenging times for young women. The emphasis on social responsibility is a bonus for our family, as it aligns with our shared values at home.

Lake Washington Girls Middle School 5

Posted May 22, 2009
- a parent
We used to think our daughter wasn't a morning person, because she was slow to get out of bed in the morning. We had to reevaluate when she started at LWGMS. She LOVES going to school everyday! The classes are creative, the teachers fun and supportive, the girls genuinely cooperative and caring for one another (because that is the expectation) and the small class sizes mean that her strong writing skills are challenged AND she gets extra support in math. You can't beat the price (if you are willing to get involved and support the school with your time)!


Lake Washington Girls Middle School 5

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
My daughter grew as a student and as a person after attending LWGMS. The academic program is challenging and inspiring. The small school environment provides for ample enrichment opportunities and allows teachers get to know their students' strengths and challenges. Teachers work closely with students and parents to assure that academic and social issues are dealt with quickly. My daughter is still close with her friends from lWGMS 2 years after leaving. The girls form very close bonds and support each other long after they graduate. It is and excellent school in many ways. I can not imagine my daughter having gone anywhere else during those crucial years.

Lake Washington Girls Middle School 3

Posted July 01, 2005
- a parent
The academics at the school are well thought out. The social aspect of the school is flawed, and girls in such a small enviroment tend to argue lots. The school is suffering from growing pains.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Washington Girls Middle School
810 18th Ave 2nd Floor, Seattle, WA  98122
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (206) 709-3800
Last modified Lake Washington Girls Middle School is a Private school that serves grades 6-8
Top