Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Amazing Grace Christian School

Private | PK-10 | 225 students

We are best known for 1-1 All Classroom Tech Integration & Fine Arts.

 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $200,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted November 23, 2009

Our last independently conducted Parent Satisfaction Survey indicated 97% of our parents were 100% satisfied with Amazing Grace. Though we offer an accelerated academic program, we intentionally DO NOT imitate or try to replicate the exclusivity of any public school APP models. There is far more depth to Amazing Grace than simply academics. Our Core Values emphasize: Creativity, Humility, Resolve, Interdependence, Simplicity with the goal to bring about student and family Transformation. The 25 ethnic groups and 12 religious faith traditions represented in our student body fosters an appreciation of accepting differences while maintaining maturing relationships of the joy about belonging to our school family. We have high standards for our staff and students and they consistently meet those standards, especially of respect, hard work and common courtesy toward each other.

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2009

All faculty really care about the childrens learning experience and does everything in their power to ensure every child is supported in every way to meet their educational goals!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Amazing Grace is a wonderful school, filled with diversity and teachers that truly love and care for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

They have great professional staffs. Great support for parents. Great moral values. Great activities for student like 'Kid Stuffs' & 'Dance Program' that build strong characters for kids. The older kids are caring and great mentors to the younger kids. We are very happy our kids attend school at Amazing Grace
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

A wonderful school that cares about its students no matter what ethnic background. Its priority in teaching the kids are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

The school really pushes my sons to their full potential
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

My son is in his third year at Amazing Grace. The school is awesome! He has a strong sense of self and an amazing awareness and concern for others. I attribute that to the strong value system that the school nurtures. But that's not all... his academics are great. He is learning at a level higher than his piers at other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Amazing Grace is really 'amazing'. The school not only specialize in a rigorous curriculum that challenges each child to be their best, but the love that they demonstrate to each child is as if the child were their own-it's quite amazing! They modle acceptance and the older students play a vital role in teaching the younger children how to behave and be responsible citizens. I could not imagine my daughter going to another school and neither could she.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Amazing Grace Christian School is awesome! My child is receiving all the tools she needs to succeed in her future! Thank you to the teachers, staff and parents that make this school such a great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Amazing Grace Christian School is great! My child is receiving all the tools she needs to succeed in her future! Love the diversity and close knit family feeling the school offers the children and their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

I think the school is ok, the academics are not up to public school highly capable classess. There are no extra-curricular activites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

I was a graduate of this incredible school! This school has changed my entire life. It has many fun and creative classes which include dance, music, and art. Go there!!!! :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2008

This school changed my life!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2006

Excellent academic program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 37% 7%
Black 24% 5%
Two or more races 18% 6%
White 14% 60%
Hispanic 4% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • See website
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. David Paul Zimmerman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • 1-1 laptops for all students
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • See website
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • Mind, Brain, and Education (Harvard University) Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics 1-1 laptop Strong academics are the centerpiece of the Amazing Grace experience. We provide challenging yet personalized instruction that is tailored to each student’s needs and abilities. All of our courses are delivered in small class settings by dedicated faculty where individual attention and classroom interaction optimize mastery of both subject matter and the learning process itself.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


1 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
38
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
525

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Kent Technology Academy
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
See website
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10056 Renton Ave S
Seattle, WA 98178
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 723-5526

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Paul School
Seattle, WA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT