Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Private
Seattle, WA
Students enrolled: 82
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


University Cooperative School 5

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
University Cooperative School is a magical wonderful place where kids can be kids. The community is wonderful, the teachers are excellent, and the overall program is fantastic. I have one kid who completed the program a few years ago and another still at the school. As a family we couldn't be happier.

University Cooperative School 5

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
All schools should be like this one -- my children are challenged, nurtured, and met where they are in incredibly playful, creative ways. They love to go to school and I love being part of their education. The parent involvement and the community it has provided us are priceless.


University Cooperative School 5

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
UCOOP is a fabulous school where learning is nurtured in a hands on, integrated manner. You won't find kids sitting in rows filling out worksheets at this school. Instead you'll find the kindergarten students engaged in creative writing and drawing (for instance about all the things a small piece of yarn could be), building with blocks, counting coins they have collected for a local pet store/animal shelter. This is a place where children's learning, as well as their social/emotional development are both taken seriously. Teachers in the K-2 team work closely together, and also work with the 3-5 teachers to ensure continuity and a sense of community (for instance the kindergarten students have 3rd grade buddies who they look forward to doing fun activities with such as reading together and pancake breakfasts. I love the Spanish, Music and Art curriculum, my child skips home singing new songs (in English and in Spanish) and sharing her excitement about something she has created at school on a daily basis. The school uses Cowen Park for recess and many outdoor activities, but there's also a fantastic new "active space" and music room in the lower level of the school.

University Cooperative School 5

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
Beautiful school that has maintained the loving supportive community energy it was founded with back in 1975. After experiencing another local school started around the same time that was falling apart, finding U Co-op was a huge relief. It is a healthy, thriving alternative school with very low student to teacher ratio that my daughter loves to attend every day. This says a lot considering it used to be an debate almost every day when she was at the other alternative school. We love and recommend University Cooperative. It is a private non-profit school that has much lower tuition and much more parent involvement than a lot of the other private schools in Seattle. Kids here are thriving. I also love the mixed age (3-5th grade) classroom set up, likewise in the younger grades they have a large shared space too. This setup allows them to have the same three teachers for all three years they are in that class too which provides some great stable influence in these elementary years.

University Cooperative School 5

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
The University Co-op community is the best! It really is a village approach, with parents working in partnership with the teachers, and kids working collaboratively together. Amazing learning that goes deep into the subject matter and it's a lot of fun! Our children are now excelling in middle school and much of their confidence, creative thinking, ability to problem solve and form good friendships can be attributed to their elementary school experience at University Co-op.


University Cooperative School 5

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
My child started at a public school and though she is bright and motivated, she didn't get the nurturing she needed to thrive. She was getting worn down by the large classes and all the worksheets and homework and seemed to be wilting much of the time. At the University Cooperative School the teachers create a really supportive family/community feeling and her desire to learn is on fire now. The curriculum is dynamic and responds to the kid's interests. The teachers are given the freedom to be creative and collaborative. They prioritize developmentally appropriate learning so the kids get to be kids and have a lot of fun while learning. Plus there's tons of time outside with long recess, the skiing program, bike trips, family camping outings. I love it that there is no homework until 3rd grade, that social/emotional work is as important as traditional subjects, that the teachers follow emerging research and base their teaching on how kids' learn best, and aren't teaching to raise test scores. This is a co-op which means the parents work shifts at the school and I personally love this opportunity. U- Coop is a very unique and magical school and a great fit for our family.

University Cooperative School 5

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
My family loves UCoop! It truly is a caring, supportive community, but it may not be for everyone. This school requires a substantial commitment of time and energy, but the benefits to the entire family, from my perspective, are immeasurable. Being able to participate in my daughter's education at such a close level as she learns, develops friendships, and grows into a great little person is a true privilege. A brief list of the many positives: small class size, outstanding teachers, nurturing and respectful environment, plenty of physical activities, parenting resources and support, and a curriculum that not only makes learning fun, but teaches kids HOW to learn.

University Cooperative School 5

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been held very lovingly as she makes the transition into elementary school. She feels safe and supported and challenged and is excited to go to school. It is a lovely community and I enjoy being part of a school where parents are so actively involved.


University Cooperative School 5

Posted December 01, 2012
- a parent
My kids were the only kids I spoke with who were excited to go back to school after the summer vacation. I am tempted to let that fact speak for itself, but that would leave too much unsaid. The teachers, all of them, are an amazing combination of inspiring and nurturing; dedicated to the idea that people learn best when motivated by their own innate curiosity. As a result, UCo-op kids are excited about school, love to learn, and think of themselves as authors, mathematicians, engineers, artists, musicians, singers, and scientists.

University Cooperative School 1

Posted November 29, 2012
- a community member
wow. how do they do that? made all the neg. reviews disappear? so many unhappy people and neg. reviews vanished. people convince themselves their fids get "the best" when they do not.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

University Cooperative School
5601 University Way Northeast, Seattle, WA  98105
(206) 584-0653
Last modified University Cooperative School is a Private school that serves grades K-5
University Cooperative School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top