Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Seattle Preparatory School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $390,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2014

Seattle Prep has a great curriculum and prepares student very well for college. My daughter has thrived here. However, it is important for prospective students and parents to know that the courses are challenging and the grading system is strict - an A at Prep means something. Though I applaud Prep for not bowing to grade inflation, the kids are absolutely put at a disadvantage when they apply to college. Prep does NOT do a good job of explaining the challenge of their curriculum to colleges. The small, private colleges understand this but good luck on getting into a larger public or private school when they don't know Prep's reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

I am a current freshmen at prep. and I want to say i really love prep! I came from a public school and didn't know anyone. everyone at prep was so welcoming and nice to me. Now im pretty close to a lot of the class. There is that thing though about the smart rich kids which is partly true. Im pretty sure most of my class went to a catholic school and in a upper class family. but they all share same respect. honestly no bullying at all. and the academics are very challenging. most of the kids go to the top colleges at prep
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2013

Seattle Prep has found it's sweet spot. The current administration and leadership are doing an excellent job. We're very pleased so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

Seattle is a great school, and should be one of your top choices out of private schools in the Seattle area. This school is meant for highly motivated students, who suceed in many areas. If you arent motivated, the teachers will help, but you will not succeed if you dont want to learn. Colleges respect Seattle prep, and even if the GPA is lower then most schools, it is because it is highly rigorous, and just by going to the school will help you gain entrance to colleges. Average gpa that is accepted to University of Washington from seattle prep is 3.6.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2012

An absolutely wonderful educational experience for my daughter. I cannot say enough about this school and the school community. There is an emphasis on educating the whole person - mind, heart, soul. The academics are top notch and I love the mission of social justice and care for the whole person. Students come out of this school with impressive critical thinking and writing skills. I'm a professor and my daughter can write better than many of the college freshman I teach. What a joy it is to have my daughter at this school. Thank you Seattle Prep!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

Seattle Prep is an academically challenging and rigorous school. The teachers are very involved with student learning and the leadership appears to be strong. The school has an incredible 100+ year tradition of educating the entire person. I recommend this school to a student that is very motivated and wants to take charge in his/her learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

My son goes to Prep. He has grown to be a very well-rounded person, excelling in both intellect and personality. The school does not offer many AP classes, but kids often take the AP tests anyways and do very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

Prep was an amazing school. It has the reputation of being rather pretentious, but it is quite the opposite. Prep focuses so much on community involvement. Within your few short years at Seattle Prep you create a family that carries on forever. My first year of college was extremely easy. Going to Seattle Prep isn't just about getting into an ivy league college. It is about finding who you are, what matters to you and most importantly how you are going to achieve it. With the supportive staff and highly motivated students, Seattle Prep is the place to be. The school and staff focus on the students needs and desires as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2009

This school is great! The teachers really care about your work and it works on educating you as a person. Prep has a rich history of great education, and I love the people there. Everyone is nice, open, and friendly. It is a great place to find your self, and who you want to be. Prep really takes care of your every need. The classes are a challenge but not impossible. Prep is an awesome school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2008

Seattle Prep is a school that meets the needs of a particular type of student. I would classify this group as rich and highly motivated. The teachers and administrators would like Seattle Prep to be a Catholic College Prep school, focusing on the top 10% of highly academic students. I went to Prep and realized there was more to life than stressing out about grades and fitting in to a very elite crowd. Prep is not for everyone and I would suggest that you look at this school knowing that they educate the highly priveledged of our society - and you need to be incredibly driven and very smart to succeed there. Seattle has MANY options of great schools. I would not recommend Prep.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2008

Prep was a great experience for my son and for us as parents. Teachers care and are involved with individual student learning, making sure all excell. My son switched from Lakeside to Seattle Prep, and equally challenged him in different ways. Unlike other catholic schools, Christianity is not forced on the student. Sports are also one of the States best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

Seattle Prep, offers a rigorous academic program perfect for an intellectually bright and motivated student. It has a lot of diversity, socially, and ethnically. 25% of the school is of non-caucasian. My child, was very well prepared for his 4-year enrollement after 4 years at Prep. If a student wishes, he/she may attend the Matteo Ricci College program which is designed for a student who wants a jump start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

Seattle Prep really educated the whole person. It offers rigorous classes that are 90 minutes each. Although it is known to be a very pretentious school, inside it really is not. There is a lot of community building. Acceptance rate to Ivy League schools are very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

Seattle Prep is a truly amazing and inspiring school. It really prepares a student for college, which is a wonderful advantage compared to other schools. Seattle Prep also provides a Mateo Ricci program where a student can choose to skip their senior year for a first year of college at Seattle University.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

Seattle Prep was an amazing experience for my son. It turned his morals around and he is now a better person. They focus on education of the whole person, making well rounded alumni. My son was extremely prepared for his now ivy-league college experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2007

Very good overall and a high quality education. However, courses vary significantly depending on the teacher. Also, the school doesn't offer enough AP courses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2006

Quality academics and excellent student body. Many courses to choose from, but not too many that the core is hurt.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 64%
Asian 9% N/A
Two or more races 7% N/A
Black 3% 6%
Hispanic 3% 16%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 9%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • JSEA
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Seattle
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 11th Ave E
Seattle, WA 98102
Phone: (206) 577-2105

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Names Academy
Seattle, WA


Hutch School
Seattle, WA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT