Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Seattle, WA
Students enrolled: 111
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


New Start 5

Posted January 08, 2010
- a student
I really like it at new start! it's not bad at all. friendly people and people dedicated to changing there lives around!

New Start
no rating

Posted October 14, 2009
- a student
i love new start because the teachers are cool,class's are small and it's fun to be there.


New Start
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
I have never met a group of teachers who are more commited to doing what is best for their students. I am impressed daily by their commitment and creativity.

New Start
no rating

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
New start is a very good school. I would deffanitly reccomend this school to anybody who thinks they dont have a chance at graduating. This school has helped sooo many kids who didn't think they could ever make it. I loveee New Start (: & i love all the teachers; they are more then just teachers, they are friends.. they always have our backs no matter what the problem is.

New Start 4

Posted September 29, 2009
- a student
because we have one of the highest graduation rates.Also the students have oppertunities that other students don't. the atmoshpere is great and the staff is too i would recommed this school to anyone of my friends or family =]


New Start
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
The staff as a whole is there for the students. They give all their free time to help better the school and better the education for the students. The teachers are more than just teachers of math, science, art, reading, etc....they teach the students life skills that they need. I have never been at a school that the students were upset to have summer break...well...New Start is that school. The students enjoy the classes and the staff. Love New Start!!!

New Start
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
New Start provides students an awesome alternative to traditional high school. Here they are in small classrooms and are really able to buckle down and get the credits they need to successfully graduate.

New Start
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
New Start gives new hope to kids with little hope of their own. My friend Katy Stone teaches at this school, and I'm just thrilled with the difference she and the other teachers are making in the lives of at-risk students! Kids are staying in school who would probably have dropped out by now in other schools. The graduation rate is inspiring and the number of students going on to some level of higher education is awesome!!


New Start 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
New Start High School reaches out to students who don't fit into the traditional mold and helps bring out individual potential, working with individual strengths, to create a program that is truly successful. The teachers and staff work overtime for the love of what they do, with very few resources. It is an innovative program, and they need more dollars to help them in their mission.

New Start 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a teacher
You are right to state on the main page that there is more to a great school than just state test results. Our students here at New Start have a hard enough time coming to school in the morning due to the many issues they face when they leave our building every day; passing state tests is difficult when you are sleeping on a different couch every night. To outsiders, our kids are 'lost causes.' To us, they are bright, motivated, hopeful young individuals who have dreams for a better future. They help in designing curriculum that is innovative and interesting (cinematography, rocket science, an in-depth study of the 1960's). I have seen my students face challenges that would bring me to my knees, and yet they keep on going. I have seen them get knocked down many times, and yet the next day they are back in the classroom, asking questions and wanting to learn. They teach me about the tenacity of the human spirit every minute of every day. Our staff and students are proud of New Start, despite the fact that we are housed in a ramshackle, run down elementary school -- 90% of our students said if we didn't exist, they would drop out and not attend school again. I love my co-workers, my boss, my students, and most of all I love my school and the opportunities we have to make a difference in the lives of kids that the rest of the world has given up on. For me, that makes us a 5-star school to beat all 5-star schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Start
614 SW 120th St, Seattle, WA  98146
(206) 433-8760
Last modified New Start is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
New Start Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top