Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Puget Sound Community School

Private | 6-12 & ungraded | 48 students

Turning passion into achievement.

 
 

Living in Seattle

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $337,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2014

PSCS Forgot that they are a "democratic" school. They have set their prices so high that only rich kids can attend. Even though they claim to offer tuition assistance, the process is not transparent, and few families are ever granted it. All of these schools need to figure out how to offer a low, set fee for everyone. Or if they could become charter schools, so the taxes we already pay can be applied, that would help too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

PSCS is a great school that works to prepare kids for all aspects of their adult life. Staff work closely with each and every student to build the skills they'll need to be smart, community-oriented, confident, motivated people in the world. PSCS is not a school whose staff is primarily equipped to work with students who have Asberger's or are on the Spectrum. It is a school that can occasionally meet the needs of kids with these learning diagnoses, depending how they manifest. Staff works hard to see how each new individual might best further the growth of the entire community, not just how PSCS might be beneficial to one particular kid. Check out Dan Pink's book "Drive: What Really Motivates Us" for a write up on PSCS and more info on why this model works.


Posted February 24, 2012

(Note: It is not illegal to descriminate when the organization operates without federal funds or Grants.) PSCS does not acccept Asperger students. I received an honest and direct letter stating this fact, after we were invited to visit (Yes, they knew beforehand). Student is 14, 8th grd. w/3.8 gpa attending minstream classes in public school. Exhibits minimum to none neurological physical reactions (i.e.tics),great eye-to-eye contact, initiating conversations with impecable manners and engaging smiles. Independent decision making was interpreted as "missing social cues." Student is self-directing, successful local artist, currently attending basic course in animation, musical acting camps, with strong interest in Robotics. Student is also a considerate non-conformist. Not a fit for PSCS. School offers wonderful non-stress, less structured, less-demanding environment. Teachers try to be creative with courses,(think Oprah's book club and Lego/Aztec). Does not apper to provide "next-level" courses for gifted. Great place for a regular kid trying to find their direction in a calm, safe environment, surrounded by like-minded individuals. Asperger's=stress. Skip this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

Excellent teachers; compassionate focus; challenging academics, respect for each student's learning style and timing, a respectful learning environment established and upheld among students.


Posted November 20, 2009

If you are looking for the best 'non-traditional' school, one that really knows how to get kids to love school and love learning, PSCS is it! My son attended public school most of his life and I never saw any passion to learn like I have at PSCS. He is becoming a very mature, confident teenager who has focus on his path in life. The director and staff are amazing people who actually 'LOVE' teaching and enjoy touching the lives of children which is severely lacking in our public schools today. There is true sense of the word 'community' among the students which is such a great advantage as they move on into the real world. For anyone who is considering sending their child to this school, I recommend reading one of Alfie Kohn's books which explains the philosophy of PSCS which will explain the numerous advantages of a 'progressive education'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

My son began attending here after 9 years in the public school system. My decision to enroll him in PSCS came after watching his self-confidence erode as a result of the poor school culture he experienced at his junior high school, and watching his attitude toward learning become negative and cynical. But PSCS was the cure! Never have I seen him so excited about learning and actually WANT to go to school! His self-confidence and maturity have soared, as well. THIS is the educational model that kids need. I cannot say enough great things about PSCS. I only wish there were more schools like this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

PSCS is an innovative, cutting edge school that is preparing students to become leaders who can make a difference in our ever changing world. It is a unique and rare oasis in an educational desert which support kids to be fully and express who they are. My son loves it and is thriving there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

Puget Sound Community School is both a school FOR the community and a school that operates as a community. The student-centered and student-driven curriculum is emergent, pertinent and promotes lifelong interest in learning. Students can learn at their own pace while experiencing the reality of fully engaging with their peers and the staff. Out of building learning is highly valued. The teaching staff are superb. Her two years at PSCS prepared our daughter for her next step on her educational path.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

PSCS is a hands-on, experiential learning environment where students learn to think for themselves, and then do for themselves. Our daughter gained the confidence to start creating the future she had always wanted but thought was beyond her... now she knows she can live what she dreams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

PSCS was a fantastic opportunity for my daughter. I am delighted and profoundly grateful for the education she received and the community she interacted with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

Every school in America should be run like PSCS: 3:1 adult/student ratio, student-directed learning, real-world scenarios, mind/body wholeness, nurturing and safe environment, high ratings from colleges. There's no mystery to great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

PSCS is an excellent model of how excellent schools should be run. My daughter excelled there, and became a critical thinker. The public school she went to did not provide or allow this kind of independent thinking to be explored. I can't recommend PSCS hightly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

As a parent of a currently enrolled student I can only say I wish I had know about PSCS earlier. My son was really struggling on all levels in public school, but now he has truly come alive. Not only is he on fire in exploring his own passions, but he's also so much more open to new ideas. The humanistic approach they take with each individual student is inspiring. Students are truly honored for who THEY are in a completely safe environment, surrounded by a phenomenal community. It's the school I wish I could've gone to...and so grateful we discovered it for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

P.S.C.S. is more than a great school, it is a community. In 2001, I moved to Seattle in order to send my daughter to PSCS. I think that 'respect' is one of the beat aspects of the school. Students respect one another and the faculty/staff, and the faculty/staff respect the students. What a supportive and unique atmosphere for growing and learning.


Posted October 20, 2008

This school honors self directed learning, focusing on emotional skills as well as intellectual skills. The students feel safe. the ratio of student to teacher averages 3 to 1. They have an opportunity to be involved in community projects and learn how to relate to each other respectfully. I am both a gragrandparent of a studnet there and a volunteer teacher.teacher theregrandparetn of


Posted October 20, 2008

PSCS is a wonderful school. Warm, available and supportive staff, imaginative and creative agenda, and a place where our family values of inclusion and the importance of community are extended and practiced. I'm so grateful for this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

PSCS teaches kids to be people, respected and respectful, able to make good choices, to make and follow decisions, to take responsibility and to speak for themselves. When spending time at this school, you find young people who will look an adult in the eye and engage with confidence, not hiding nor avoiding contact. And they learn for the love of learning. What could be better?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

PSCS is a community of individuals where respect and integrity are the priority, inspiration and curiosity are the journey, and passion and humanity are the outcome. As a student, it is a place where I feel I belong, a place where I feel supported in pursuing what I love. It has given me the tools I need to own my education, and to make learning a life practice. All in all, PSCS is a community that has helped me discover the importance of choosing life, of choosing happiness.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Little School
Montessori
Homeschool
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Museum of Flight Popsicle Stick Bridge Building Contest (2013)
  • Museum of Flight Popsicle Stick Bridge Building Contest (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • languages are based on student interest
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College Advisory
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00am
School end time
  • 3:30pm
School Leader's name
  • Andrew Smallman (Director)
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Business
  • Engineering
  • Environmental
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Vocational education
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • languages are based on student interest
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Depends on need

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
Extra learning resources offered
  • Advising
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College Advisory
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • IDCCC
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • depends on desire
Girls sports
  • depends on desire

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • volunteers, Family Assoc.
More from this school
  • At PSCS, our first focus is not limited to an academic program; our focus is on the full range of human development.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 15, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Little School
Montessori
Homeschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$16000 - $17000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

660 S Dearborn St
Seattle, WA 98134
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 324-4350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Seattle Academy
Seattle, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT