Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Bush School

Private | K-12 | 577 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $585,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2013

I am student at the Bush School, and it is an amazing school. The education is rewarding, and pushes you to think outside the box. The teachers and students truly make you feel at home and excepted. The teachers are also so engaged with their students, and they want their students to succeed more then anything else. The school's motto is experiential education, and it they live up to it. They teach hands-on learning; in the classroom, and outside the classroom. During your time at Bush there will be dozens of trips, of all different categories, which is my favorite part of the experience. Some of those trips are mandatory, some you can sign up for. Financial aid is offered for any of the costly trips, so that anybody can have those amazing experiences. In the middle school there is this thing called experiential week that takes place at the end of the school year. All 6th, 7th, and 8th graders write essays about their 4 top choices of trips they would like to go on. There are local trips, national trips, and international trips. They are all fantastic options for whatever the student is interested in. The Bush school should definitely be at the top of anybody's list.


Posted April 18, 2011

Just fabulos. It takes a lot of work to transition from public to private school but , int the end, it pays off.


Posted October 4, 2010

This is a top notch school with fabulous teachers, students, and parents! Our son is in the first grade and we have been so impressed with the commitment and enthusiasm of the teachers -- and at times floored by how well the teachers understood our son! Academics are challenging and tailored to individual kids. Everyone -- the teachers, administrators, and the parents work together very hard to ensure a supportive and nurturing learning environment. The kids, as a result, are confident, caring and enthusiastic learners!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

The teachers, particularly in the Upper School, some now retired, are brilliant, passionate, and utterly caring about students. Bush excels in creating critical thinkers, community servers, and foreign language-speakers. As a former parent, I attest that, infused with Bush's signature traits, students flourish in college and beyond.


Posted August 16, 2010

The Bush School is one of the best schools in the country. Though I am a little biased as a high school student there, here are the reasons why I feel that Bush is so awesome: The Teachers: The teachers at all levels are amazing. Instead of being your typical by the book teacher, they are people who have a passion for what it is they are teaching. Many teachers hold an advanced degree or a doctorate. It s so amazing to have a teacher get excited when they are teaching something to you. The academics: The school is really tough (though I suppose with great teachers comes hard academics). All classes at Bush are taught at an advanced or AP level. At night I find myself doing multiples hours of homework a night. However, it does pay off. The teachers don t just assign homework to assign homework.


Posted August 3, 2009

Bush is a school that 'walks the talk.' They talk about ethics, and cultural competence, and critical thinking as their educational foundations, and at a lot of other schools you'd think 'sure, sure.' But Bush really lives these values every day, and our kids (now in the high school) have grown so much -- not just as students but as human beings. I also feel Bush teachers work hard to understand each individual student and respect their unique gifts as much as their unique idiosyncracies. Bush never takes a 'one size fits all' approach. Parent community is great -- diverse, very involved and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2009

While I no longer attend this school (this past year I transferred to Lakeside for high school) the lower and middle schools have been excellent for preparing me for high school. Entering as a new student at Lakeside, I felt much more prepared not only academically, but also in my work ethic than many of the other students also entering from many different private and public schools. The lower school was a great fit because it challenged me to take myself out of my comfort zone, try new things, and stretch myself to try and undersand new and challenging concepts. The middle school, for me, was great in helping me to prepare for high school. With each grade, I felt the teachers expect more of me, but not the point where I was completely stressed out. I had an amazing experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2009

This school is amazing in every way. My son is in his last year of the middle school, and attended the Bush lower school before that. The academics are strong, the interdisciplinary, experiential curriculum is superb, the way Bush handles social and personal issues is respectful and effective. The school is full of not just good, but great teachers. The kids are learning an appreciation for the larger things in life such as global sustainability, acceptance of diversity and fundamental ethics. The wilderness and international programs are wonderful and life-changing. I read the review from 3/11/08 and have to say that family's experience is nothing like our own. Our family's perspective is Bush is a fantasic school for girls AND boys... cliques are actively discouraged among students. An acceptance of diversity and differences among us, is an overriding theme of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

We have 3rd grade and 1st grade girls at Bush. We love this school. When selecting a school we did the full tour, and felt out of place at every other independent school. We'd never heard of Bush before we attended the open house, but once we heard the pitch my wife and I were sold hook line and sinker! 4 years into our experience we're still very happy. We value the fact that the schools values are focused on teaching the kids to be contributing members of a global society. The academics are top notch, but even better they are presented in the context of critical thinking, results focused action orientation, and a genuine tolerance for alternative perspectives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

I have two children at Bush, one in 3rd and one in 5th grade. We were looking for solid, non-trendy academics (a challenge in Seattle, home of the flavor of the week education styles), involved parents, and a culture of respect and civic participation. The academics are not flashy and will not appeal to parents looking for 2+ hours of homework for 2nd graders. They give them more and more each year, building upon the year before, and also require them to step up in the community, be involved, and respect their classmates. By 5th grade, the work is quite challenging but there is still time to be a kid. Parent community is high octane professionals but the attitude is low key and friendly. Diversity is a priority and they are making headway. High schoolers are extremely considerate of the younger grades, great outdoor programs for middle school & up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

An excellent school, all-around. However, we have lately become a bit disillusioned with some aspects. In our experience this is a better school for girls than boys. Much normal boy behavior is pathologized, particularly in the elementary grades. That, plus the identity politics and the culture of 'cliquishness' encouraged among both students and parents, prevent me from giving a 5-star rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 64%
Two or more races 14% N/A
Asian 8% N/A
Black 4% 6%
Hispanic 2% 16%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3400 E Harrison
Seattle, WA 98112
Phone: (206) 322-7978

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Valley School
Seattle, WA


Valley School
Seattle, WA


Epiphany School
Seattle, WA


Madrona K-8
Seattle, WA


St. Therese School
Seattle, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT