Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Kapka Cooperative Primary School

Private | K-5 | 36 students

 
 

Living in Seattle

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $375,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

Our daughter is thriving at KapKa School. Things we love: small class sizes, top-notch teachers, rich curriculum that encourages investigation and independent thinking, strong community traditions, public service orientation, ample outdoor time, solid literacy and math teaching. At KapKa, education is focused on the whole child, not just meeting test scores. My daughter is learning how to be in a community, be a friend, talk about emotions and problems. On the first day of school, she was greeted by an older "buddy" who took her hand and showed her around her new school, a small example of how caring for others is modeled and taught. This week the students are working to prepare Thanksgiving dinner for elderly people in the neighborhood; in the spring they will be raising and releasing salmon. Music and art are ample and woven into their daily learning and rhythm of the day. (My child is always singing now.) If you are interested in a small, rich educational environment for your child, I highly encourage you to check out KapKa. Our family is the better for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

How I feel about Kapka is hard to put into words. My daughter started Kindergarten there only a few short weeks ago and yet we already feel like we are a part of such a strong, supportive and loving community. I love the wonderful balance they seem to have achieved between independent exploration and teamwork, all with a focus on experiential learning. I was so worried that school would just be an exercise in memorizing some obsolete curriculum. Nothing could be further than the truth at Kapka--instead we found a place that honors our daughter's uniqueness and will no doubt instill in her a love of learning that will last a lifetime. In short, if you are looking for a holistic educational experience that your child will not only love, but THRIVE in....look no further! This is the best decision our family could have made and we thank our lucky stars that we found it :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

Both of my children have been to KapKa for their early elementary years. While other schools required us to drop students at the gate or meet a bus, at KapKa we felt truly welcomed at school. We could visit for lunch, talk to teachers, know every child in the class and meet other parents for coffee. This true community provides more than a nice social group - it provides the kind of learning community where my kids felt really safe, important and confident to share who they were rather than fit in with the needs of an institution. I love the depth of KapKa teaching, the inquiry based methods and the expertise of the teachers in crafting a truly differentiated curriculum which meets the needs of different learners. My elder son ended up in a gifted program at a large public school, my younger one is more arty. KapKa has been a lovely fit for both, and a great start for school for the whole family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

KapKa Cooperative lives by its mission to provide an engaging community where teachers, students and parents interact and create the best possible learning environment. Every voice is heard and every child is given careful attention. Just by spending a few hours a week at the cooperative, I get to know the teachers, staff, and other parents & kids well. I get to see what my son learns and how he grows. It's an empowering experience for any child and parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2012

We love KapKa school! Our daughter has been attending for the past 2 years, and we plan to also send our son there when he gets old enough. We are so glad that the school has expanded to include 3-5, it means that we can continue with this progressive, cooperative education all the way through 5th grade. The teachers are fabulous! There is incredible energy with new team members joining, and both progressive academics and social-emotional development are focused on in the classroom and school-wide community. We've been so pleased with our daughter's academic development and her self-confidence in expressing her feelings. Our daughter's love of learning is supported and she can't wait to go to school every day. The students benefit from small class sizes and every child feels truly recognized and known by the teachers. We love the cooperative community aspect of the school too. Our daughter feels safe and nurtured there, and we love that we can be friends with our school community. There is time commitment as with any cooperative, and even though both my husband and I work outside the home, we've been able to make it work. It's actually easier than we anticipated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

Kapka was one of the best decisions we have made for our family. Our daughter is in her second year at Kapka and absolutely loves school and loves learning. We chose Kapka because we thought it would be the best place for her social-emotional development. After three years of holding on to her teachers leg in preschool and only rarely interacting with other children, we were concerned she could easily get lost in a big school. Kapka turned out to be a great decision- within her first week at Kapka she was comfortable and making friends, and by first grade she owns the place! The learning environment at Kapka is fun and stimulating with amazing teachers and our daughter is excited to learn everyday. I will say that as a family with two working parents and a younger child we were really apprehensive about starting a co-op initially- we nearly backed out a month before her kindergarten year. But once we got started it has been quite manageable for us. In the end we get so much more from this community than what we put in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

The new location is fabulous, the teachers are devoted, energetic, and oh-so-talented, and the focus on social/emotional growth as well as academic growth is a true gift. I couldn't ask for a better school for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

The school is not for every one. Kapka has so many positive intentions and some very committed teachers and parents but it falls short in its delivery at times. When push comes to shove, it seems to unravel in great uncertainty. Two teachers are leaving and the search is on for a new space and new faculty. They are adding a 3-5 program which is great but seems to be the focus of a lot of the schools energy. They really mean well and do care for the children at the school. It swings back and forth between great highs and great lows. It is a wonderful alternative to public school as it costs less than most private schools in town but that is because it is a coop, demanding a lot of time from the parents.


Posted February 7, 2010

KapKa is the best place for our daughter. Their focus is on developing a strong social-emotional foundation in the young child and I have never seen it done better. The children are taught to care for each other with no exceptions, which creates a loving, inclusive community. My child loves going to school and loves learning, which is such a gift!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

As a high school math teacher, I have been incredibly impressed with KapKa's ability to give my daughters a conceptual foundation in the core academic subjects. Children learn through hands-on, authentic activities which go beyond rote skills. At the same time, children are learning how to work together and be part of a community in an environment where they are supported by adults. You couldn't find a better start!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

Our K son is watching salmon and chicken eggs hatch, visiting Aikido and gymanstic studios for enrichment, cooking healthy snacks in the kitchen (with parents guidance) and gearing up for after-school Spanish, as well as learning foundational academics like how to read, have fun with numbers, and explore the great outdoors. This is not a cookie-cutter approach to learning. There is a deep caring and commitment at KapKa for his well being that feeds his body, mind and soul. We are deeply grateful that KapKa exists and that we found it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

It is hard to imagine a better school for our daughter. Her kindergarten teacher is so insightful and has provided us with wonderful guidance. If you are looking for a small, child-centered, creative school that encouages community, outdoor play, and leadership learning check out KapKa!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

After moving our son in the beginning of his kindergarten year to Kapka we couldn't be more impressed with what Kapka has offered our son , and our family. Kapka offers a host of traditions that not only influence our thoughts in a positive way, but engage our spirits as well. Small classroom sizes, a compassionate and emotionally balanced atmosphere, a true community feel at the school, and afterall Kapka is in a a red house that has become our second home. Our son continues to thrive at Kapka and each year brings a challenge as well as enthusiasm academically. We are sad this is our last year but are grateful for our experiences at Kapka. Cons -no 3-5, but it's in planning. Pros- It is a co-operative when engages the whole family, this does require work but well worth the effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

After moving our son in the beginning of his kindergarten year to Kapka we couldn't be more impressed with what Kapka has offered our son , and our family. Kapka offers a host of traditions that not only influence our thoughts in a positive way, but engage our spirits as well. Small classroom sizes, a compassionate and emotionally balanced atmosphere, a true community feel at the school, and afterall Kapka is in a a red house that has become our second home. Our son continues to thrive at Kapka and each year brings a challenge as well as enthusiasm academically. We are sad this is our last year but are grateful for our experiences at Kapka. Cons -no 3-5, but it's in planning. Pros- It is a co-operative when engages the whole family, this does require work but well worth the effort
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

Pros- Overall we have been quite happy with our experience at KapKa. The biggest pro is the teachers skill at channeling our son's energy and enthusiasm. We sent him to KapKa because we wanted him to start off his school experience with a true love of learning, and we are really seeing that happen. Another great thing about KapKa is that the children get to participate in so many amazing projects and field trips. From raising salmon from eggs to cooking Thanksgiving for the needy, it's really amazing to see what 5,6,7, and 8 year olds are capable of. Cons- While we do love this school, we have found that being part of a cooperative is a lot of work. It's a great opportunity to be a part of our son's education, but at times it does feel burdensome. Overall a great school with a forward-thinking approach to education. 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

We worried about sending our little man to school. Hoenschooling was a failure for us based on time but we wanted a more whole approach to education than we found in public. Kakpa acheives this and he is bummed that summer is here We hear 'I want to go back to school...' everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

KapKa has been a wonderful experience for our daughter. She has become self-assured and is an attentive learner who frequently brings home topics to discuss at dinner. She thrives on all the activities that the school offers. We love the fact that there is a focus on being outdoors and understanding the natural world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2009

An engaging place for students & families learn and grow together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

Kapka offers a wonderful parent community, emergent curriculum, a new administrator and a cohesive team of 3 teachers. My 8 year old is a confident learner and a whole person who has developed some great social skills and much confidence in his academic abilities. If you are looking for a traditional classroom with worksheets, you'll find a little of that, but much of the work that happens is embedded in projects that the teachers and kids identify together. A recent owl project led to questions about flight (and a trip to the flight museum), research into Northwest owl species and lots of owl art. Music and art are integral as are community outreach (Thanksgiving meals to shut-ins and visits to a local reitrement home). What more could you ask for? I am certain my child will look back at this experience as one of his most formative and positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 7%
Hispanic 3% 20%
Two or more races 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

510 N 49th Street
Seattle, WA 98103
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 522-0350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT