Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jane Addams Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 546 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 17, 2013

My son, who is APP qualified, and who was miserable (he did love his friends at least) for 6yrs at Wedgwood Elementary School, was happier and performing better in his first 2weeks at Jane Addams K-8 than I have ever seen him. He talks about how smart his teachers are, how much they care, and how he feels like he goes to a private school. Enough said.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

My daughter is now in her second year at Jane Addams -- she's a first grader. She's having a great time there. Their integrated Spectrum program works for those who have tested into higher learning as well as those who haven't tested or who didn't meet the testing criteria, but perform at a high level. Children are taught reading/writing at their level and those performing a grade or more ahead in math walk to a different class. I also love the rotation system the elementary students have regarding art, P.E. and music -- one full week of each before rotating. The fact that its a new school (and an option school to boot) means that it has both an engaged group of teachers and parents. While I miss the opportunity to walk to our neighborhood school, I feel that we made the right choice for our family -- our son will be starting kindergarten there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

We moved to Jane Addams last year from a well-thought of private school that wasn't able to meet my child's minor health-related special need. It was the best decision we could have made. The staff is excellent, from the office staff to the principal and teachers we've had. One of the things that stands out is how happy the staff is and how highly they talk about the school. The environment is positive and everyone seems to be working together to make the school a wonderful place to learn. Both of my daughters (now 1st and 6th grade) are thriving and growing here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

My daughter is going into her 3rd year at Jane Addams (she started in kindergarten) and we've been VERY happy there. The teachers and administration has worked hard to support a variety of levels of learning (my daughter is APP qualified, but doing great there.) The PTSA is VERY dedicated and active, the principal may be the best in the district. There are new and exciting developments each year (this year we're getting music instruction for all and expanded drama for the middle school kids.) Through the dedication of the parents, the enrollment for this school has ballooned and there is now a waitlist at almost every grade. I don't think the district quite believes how well we're doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2012

We are incredibly happy with our Kindergartener's experience at Jane Addams this year. She loves going to school, has a wonderfully dedicated teacher, and is doing well academically. We were drawn to the emphasis on math and science, have have been very pleased with the well-rounded curriculum that also includes regular art and PE classes. The support of the PTSA and parent volunteers also help make this a great learning community - there is a lot of enthusiasm and involvement. Finally, the strong leadership is leading to gains in enrollment (up to 525 for 2011-2012) and achievement each year for this young school (it opened in fall 2009). We're happier and happier with our choice of Jane Addams!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

My child started 6th grade this past fall at Jane Addams K8. She had been incredibly happy there. There has been little or no stress related to the transition to middle school and she is learning a ton and making many new friends. She feels safe there and all of the staff is very dedicated to their jobs and the principal is on top of it... We are very pleased and highly recommend it as an alternative to the overcrowded Eckstein Middlle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

I have two children at Jane Addams and they are thriving. The school has incredible leadership, dedicated teachers, and a diverse community of parents who have - in only two years - banded together to help create a school with pride and purpose. The standout for us has been the amount of differentiation that happens within each classroom. Although my children are not identified as Spectrum they are challenged with high expectations for reaching their next level of ability. We are really glad we took a chance on this great school that, with time, will be amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

I am sorry to read the review from a middle school parent. My kindergarten daughter has had an amazing experience at Jane Addams. We have been impressed at the school's support for advanced learners and have been happy that our APP eligible daughter has been engaged and challenged. We really enjoy the community, the teachers and the administration, which in our experience has been very open and receptive to parental input. While the middle school community is taking a little longer to get rolling than the elementary grades, Jane Addams is an excellent school with a lot of wonderful energy that is doing great things in an amazingly short amount of time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

If you are entering your child at grade 7 or 8, be careful. This school caters mostly to younger students and often treats the older students like little ones. The school counselor never once offered groups for this age group. The boys love to harass and nothing is done about it. "Orange slips" are given out for things that are trivial. Administrators do not see the big picture as far is much needed social and academic stimulation for these children. My daughter was supposed to get a Spectrum education and never did (except for Math). It was truly disheartening. I would expect things to get better as the school matures but, unfortunately, it was a bad experience all around for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students64%
Female65%
Male62%
Black33%
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income44%
Not low income77%
Special education31%
Not special education70%
Limited English0%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female85%
Male78%
Black60%
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income63%
Not low income94%
Special education69%
Not special education84%
Limited English27%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students78%
Female70%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income57%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female81%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income67%
Not low income95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students93%
Female100%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income95%
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students69%
Female61%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income52%
Not low income81%
Special education44%
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female66%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income44%
Not low income81%
Special education38%
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students76%
Female68%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income56%
Not low income94%
Special education69%
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Low incomen/a
Not low income100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 60%
Black 15% 5%
Hispanic 14% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 7%
Two or more races 5% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 113%N/A8%
Special education 116%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 242%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 7N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 55%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Paula Montgomery

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11051 34 Ave NE
Seattle, WA 98125
Phone: (206) 252-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT