Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mc Donald Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
Most grades give math homework. Part of the goal, as explained by teachers, is to give students the opportunity to practice math in English (because math instruction is in the target language, either Spanish or English). In addition, students are generally encouraged to read every night and log progress. Teachers are generally receptive to feedback about the volume of homework. In my child's kindergarten, homework is entirely optional (kids can pick up worksheets if they'd like). In second grade, teachers communicate that if students can't finish or parents think the work is excessive, students won't be penalized for turning in partially complete work.

Mc Donald Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
The entire school uses the RULER approach to develop social-emotional learning. Even kindergarten students are taught to identify their feelings and develop strategies to help them modify.


Mc Donald Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
The Kindergarten teacher in Japanese are both terrific loving and sensible teachers who try to engage the who student in learning.

Mc Donald Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
The kids do learn to read and write in the immersion language. However, it is strongly teacher dependent whether or not they can teach math in the language.

Mc Donald Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
I do not feel that Kindergarten students should be doing any homework. My 3rd grader would love to do homework if it were projects that interest or other long form work that they don't have time to do in the classroom, but really all that comes home are more worksheets.


Mc Donald Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
The students are engaged in too much competition with one another. The teachers have systems which sort the kids into those who perform and those who do not.

Mc Donald Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
My daughter says that her teacher just tells her what to do. She is not impressed with the integrity.

Mc Donald Elementary School 2

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
The school has difficulty getting teachers especially for the Japanese curriculum. There is turn over every year in the teachers, last year we lost two very strong teachers. I have spoken to teachers who feel downgraded by the administration and I am not surprised when they leave. My student in 3rd grade started out Kindergarten loving learning and is now not unhappy to go to school everyday. I teacher her to speak up for herself and to know that she is worthwhile even if she cannot do the work as quickly as other students . But I feel the school's focus on achievement is misguided and the students feel incredibly stressed. My kids are both showing anxiety each morning when they get up for school. This is not how anyone wants to start out the day.


Mc Donald Elementary School 3

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
McDonald has a lot of pros but many cons, too. The language immersion classes have instructional assistants and rotating interns, allowing for one teacher to sometimes focus 1:1 or take small groups aside for focused work. (Parents fundraise for this, which requires time & a lot of money. Sometimes the fundraising gets out of control with a competitive, disrespectful tone but that has improved in the years we've attended.) Some teachers have done a nice job respecting the needs of different paces and abilities, but it seems that this isn't a great school for kids on either end of the bell curve. Some aren't challenged enough and there's not enough resources to help them not be bored, others are far too challenged without the support they need. The leadership doesn't seem to handle requests for support or change well. Many families leave because of this. This is part of why the upper grades are significantly smaller classes than the lower grades. (Plus, you have to be fluent to attend after 1st grade.) There is a huge difference between the Japanese and Spanish programs. If you're considering this school, I recommend interviewing parents on both sides, with kids in the upper grades, as well as lower. And try to find a few who've left the school, if possible. Lots of teacher turnover recently. It's changing a ton, so old reviews don't mean much. WIthin the first two years, my children were speaking in the other language and frequently wanting to teach me words. They also grew tremendously in knowledge of other cultures and the world. This, and a pretty involved parent community, is by far the school's greatest strength. Many other aspects of education here are less impressive.

Mc Donald Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
This is incredibly teacher dependent. Some are amazing, others are not. A few of the most treasured teachers left at the end of the 2014-2015 school year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mc Donald Elementary School
144 NE 54th Street, Seattle, WA  98105
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (206) 252-5325
Last modified Mc Donald Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top