Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cascade Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 534 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2012

I am as one of the student in this school, in 7th grade. And the second school i went to since i enter this country. This is my favorite of all, it helping me building my knowledge more enhance, with great teachers, good services, and friendly student, this is one of the school in Washington you can send your child too. And compared to the school i went to now, Cascade middle i would prefer.So don't listen to the negative comment, Cascade is truly great.


Posted January 4, 2012

The students here are really cool. Everyone constantly criticizes this school simply cus of it's test scores and the neighborhood it's in (High poverty rate, high immigration, high crime levels). But they should factor in that for a lot of these kids, English is their Secone (or even Third) language. Step into their shoes and try taking a test in a language you barely know and understand. It's a good school once you get into the interior


Posted February 14, 2011

I'm planning on sending my kids here. "considering the students on the outside dont look as what they seem in the inside, smart and bright" as said by other parent below. ...... Probably you're too good for this school. ...... Half of the school buildings are old but staff are hard working and caring for these students.


Posted February 14, 2011

About the parent with the review below that said "considering the students on the outside dont look as what they seem in the inside, smart and bright" so does that mean you send your children to school with students that "look "a certain way? Hmm! This school has very caring staff. Students are from the surrounding neighborhood, which is poor and high immigrant population. Take into consideration, English is their 2nd language. Just like if you were moving to another country, and most subjects are taught in their language, it would make it a bit difficult to exceed. Half of the school is old but the curriculum and staff are excellent. Save your private school money for college and go to Cascade. This school is great!!!


Posted January 10, 2011

This school is upsetting, many would agree this school is awful from the sights of it and atmosphere. The school has true potential though. considering the students on the outside dont look as what they seem in the inside, smart and bright. Its not the best school I would not send my child there if it was the last school on earth. Even the students critizize the school calling it "Ghetto" I've learned that is Slang for awfull and "Old school" OVERALL 15% out of 100%
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

I wish I could give this school a 'zero-star' rating. Through my two years there I only had one teacher that bothered to care about my education, and even then she didn't care that much. The students are not focused on school in the slightest and instead only care about what they are wearing or if they can be cooler than everybody else. You are constantly critisized for achieving and the demeanor of the students is just horrendous. The disrespect is enough to make me want to send the students to boot camp. The place just needs to be torn down and built from the ground up, including the building and staff. Highline School District should be ashamed of this school.


Posted February 20, 2008

This is the worst school ever. I hated everything about this school. The students are constantly disrespecting their teachers and constantly fighting. There are some students with true potential, and that want to learn, but poor teachers and just plain mean kids pull them away from what they can contribute. When i went to the school counsler and asked what I should do about making school a bit more challengine, she suggested I moved up a grade. Later I transfered to a private school, where I was informed that at very least I would need to attend summer school, and possibly get held-back. I never felt safe walking the halls, the gossip, the drama, the fights, the constant dirty looks for achieving, or how you dress, or who you are. This school is just terrible, do not send your kids here, for their sake, and yours.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2004

I just ended the 8th grade at Cascade Middle School.The Cascade facility its self needs to be torn down, and 100% re-done. Including the 700 building (which is new).It leaks when it rains and snows, because its old, and someone decided to put California style roofs on the school (the flat ones).When it rains too much in the Fall and Winter,Hics Lake overflows, and floods the parking lot and part of the school. Bad location. The best part about Cascade however,was the fitness center. In the winter of 2002,a grant was given to Cascade to buy new work out equipment,including tredmills, recumbent bikes,treck bike macines of all top quality,many weight macines that are better quality than many membership gyms, a D.D.R. (dance game) and a bike game. You will get a good education here.Don't consider going to any other schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students51%
Female52%
Male50%
Black22%
Asian77%
Asian/Pacific Islander68%
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander9%
White56%
Low income48%
Not low income74%
Special education11%
Not special education60%
Limited English21%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students56%
Female61%
Male51%
Black22%
Asian64%
Asian/Pacific Islander62%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander46%
White69%
Low income54%
Not low income71%
Special education36%
Not special education60%
Limited English22%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students42%
Female53%
Male32%
Black24%
Asian63%
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanic35%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander18%
White49%
Low income41%
Not low income51%
Special education16%
Not special education48%
Limited English14%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students44%
Female47%
Male41%
Black31%
Asian62%
Asian/Pacific Islander56%
Hispanic38%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander35%
White47%
Low income42%
Not low income52%
Special education6%
Not special education52%
Limited English26%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female53%
Male45%
Black45%
Asian57%
Asian/Pacific Islander52%
Hispanic42%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander31%
White63%
Low income47%
Not low income58%
Special education19%
Not special education55%
Limited English21%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students42%
Female37%
Male46%
Black25%
Asian54%
Asian/Pacific Islander48%
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander25%
White62%
Low income41%
Not low income46%
Special education25%
Not special education46%
Limited English16%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

36 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
88%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students81%
Female86%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Low income80%
Not low income85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low income100%
Not low incomen/a
Not special education100%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 35% 18%
Asian 22% 7%
White 16% 63%
Black 11% 5%
Two or more races 10% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 172%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 219%N/A8%
Special education 218%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 68%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Paula Montgomery

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11212 10th Ave SW
Seattle, WA 98146
Phone: (206) 433-2551

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Holy Family School
Seattle, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT