Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Meridian Park Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 576 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2011

We switched to Meridian Park from a private Catholic school in Edmonds and love it! Healthy amount of parent participation, yet absolutely no politics amoungst the Moms! YAY! The teachers work well together, and the principal is a great leader, running about the school smiling and helping to make the school great. My son is quite advanced in reading, and was able to work at his reading level in a smaller group. The teachers try to address the needs of each child in the room this way. Beautiful, clean, newer school, with a large and lovely library. Opps for Highly Gifted as well as The Special Needs child. Year-round after-school clubs. Art docents, music, P.E.. Outside grounds are being redone, so that just adds to the awesomeness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

I had one daughter who went through Meridian Park and now another one is on her way. The quality of teachers is top notch. They really help cater to you childs strengths and weakness. I am so happy with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

My child came to Meridian Park last year after our home school was closed due to the district's budget crisis. It was a painful time for kids, families & teachers. In the 2007-08 school year, MPark was especially impacted and many new students arrived. We were apprehensive about our son starting a new school and meeting new friends. He has social issues so our concern was valid. I have to say that it has been a wonderful experience for our family. Everyone at MPark has been supportive, and my child has adjusted amazingly well. The new Principal Mrs. Jessee really understands the individual needs of every child & they love her! Everyone - teachers, support staff - have worked to help him become a challenged, responsible student. There are lots of extra curricular classes, math club, chinese/spanish. His old school was great, but MPark is a perfect fit for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

Great teachers and staff, involved parents, diverse community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

I love this school and all that it has to offer. The programs are so good for my daughter. She has had a rough life, and Meridian Park has given both of us so much support. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2007

Without question, this is the best school in the entire district. Its math and chess teams are peerless, its faculty are the epitome of amazing, and its extracurricular activities are quite interesting. The only issue I found was that there was an evident animosity between students in the Highly Capable program and the Traditional Education program. Both sides contributed to this conflict, but its intensity decreased as the years passed. By sixth grade, it became a nonissue and everyone seemed to reconcile.


Posted November 28, 2006

Meridian Park is a wonderful well rounded school. Is is a rainbow of programs and different cultures. There are many great extracurricular activities that kids can do. I had my mind set on putting my kids into Private school but missed kindergarten enrollment so they went to there and I am glad. The teachers are very competent and compassionate and the administration is responsible. I don't believe that I could find a better school and will dread the day when they leave for middle school. Meridian Park is the place for kids and parents to grow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Meridian Park has a great Highly Capable program and extra activities for just about anything you could want - tournament chess, unicycle, cooking, languages, indoor soccer, etc. It's been a wonderful experience for my child and the only complaint I have is that I wish it would go to 9th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

This school has been a great experience for my son. There is wonderful diversity and support.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted August 31, 2004

I was a student here. Overall I liked this school, but if you enter your kid in the Highly Capable Program, make sure they don't make fun of the kids who aren't in it as some of the kids in it made fun of me.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 8, 2004

I have four children at Meridian Park, so I have had a lot of experiences with teachers and the school programs. Overall, I have been happy with the school. Public schools only have so much that they can provide for their students with the funding they get and the kid to teacher ratios that they have to work with these days. We as parents have to stay very involved to keep our kids excelling and excited to learn, whether they are highly capable, learning challenged or the average kid. My experience with this school for the past two years has been good. The teachers have been wonderful cheerleaders for my kids that hate school and compassionate encouragers for my kids that love school. It is up to the parents to back them up and show the kids that it isn't only the school's responsibility to educate our children, it's ours too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2004

It's indeed a great idea not to 'leave any child behind', and this is what's being done from Kindergarten on at Meridian Park School, but when children are very bright, they run the risk of not being challenged enough, because all the teachers' energy goes to the child who has trouble learning. There is so much that teachers can do in this situation, and that's where parents' involvement comes in. The PTSA is very active, and many parents volunteer in classes to insure that kids get stimulated. I am one of them, and wish there would be even more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2004

I completely agree with the last reviewer. Meridian Park is a wonderful, diverse school and has the foundation to provide excellent education. Unfortunately, my bright 10 year old child is now 'checked out' due to the top down, standardized curriculum. This year they are 'teaching to the test' and leaving little room for creativity or experiential learning. I have also tried to work with the school, but have been discouraged by the lack of flexibility or willingness to address the specific needs of my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2004

Meridian Park is a beautiful school with wonderful parental involvement. However, the national 'No Child Left Behind Act' has changed the landscape of Meridian Park. I seems that children are being taught with a cookie cutter aproach to learning, which is fine for some, but leaves no room for academic growth in students with higher levels of capability. Our family has tried working with the school on this, but have been unsuccessful in trying to get our child excited about learning. The school seems obsessed with meeting the NCLB Act standards, and doesn't care about the education of the 'whole' child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students78%
Female86%
Male71%
Black70%
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic41%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income59%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English28%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female93%
Male77%
Black80%
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic59%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income68%
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English44%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students75%
Female76%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian77%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income59%
Not low income81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female92%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian85%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic90%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income68%
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students65%
Female78%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asian69%
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income45%
Not low income74%
Special educationn/a
Not special education68%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students80%
Female78%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income63%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female78%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income70%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students82%
Female86%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian85%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Low income67%
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students87%
Female92%
Male83%
Black80%
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Low income67%
Not low income98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female94%
Male86%
Black90%
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Low income78%
Not low income96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 63%
Asian 21% 7%
Hispanic 13% 18%
Black 11% 5%
Two or more races 8% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 130%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 27%N/A8%
Special education 222%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 15N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 67%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Amy Jessee

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17077 Meridian Ave North
Shoreline, WA 98133
Phone: (206) 393-4251

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Luke School
Shoreline, WA


The Evergreen School
Shoreline, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT