Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shorecrest High School

Public | 9-12 | 1250 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2013

As a student with ADHD, depression, and an anxiety disorder, I have trouble with most schools and their methods of teaching and assigning work. Schools are required to offer help and accommodations for mental illness, but at Shorecrest you have to fight tooth and nail to get it, and even after doing that I wasn't given any help. My brother had dropped out because of this, while I'm struggling to get through a second senior year. In all, I'm extremely disappointed with the administration. The only upside is the great performing arts program, but that doesn't seem to be a high priority with the administration. Teachers tend to be hit or miss, with some amazing teachers and some absolutely terrible excuses for educations.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2013

My daughter graduates this year. She adores this school, but it must be said--she's a freak: Self-motivated, mature, tireless worker. The big surprise ffor us is the degree of school spirit she feels even though she could not care less for sports. What's worked? Fabulous teachers (she missed the duds), strong academics, award-winning lit/arts magazine, ultimate frisbee, coffee house, theater arts, and again . . . teachers-teachers-teachers. I cannnot speak for the experience of the less-academically inclined. This is a diverse student population with a fair percentage of low-income and immigrant children. For what I can see, they're doing the job. My son's experience as a freshman has been positive as well. He's a nerd, and has felt welcomed and connected. An awesome start, I'd say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

For a public school, this school is decent, but it leaves a lot to be desired. College-bound students are given little help with the process as the administration focuses all of its resources on helping the lazy students who aren't on track to graduate. The soccer team is amazing and the band program is strong, but when it comes to getting into college, you have to be 100% self motivated. A lot of drugs too.


Posted November 4, 2009

Shorecrest High School has inspiring teachers, great school spirit, strong academics, and many wonderful programs like the literary coffee house events, award-winning choral and instrumental ensembles, and the highland dancers and pipers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

My stepdaughter is getting a great education at Shorecrest, where she has many opportunities to participate in wonderful programs like the high school orchestra, literary magazine and Highland dance team. She is enjoying all aspects of her high school - social and academic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Shorecrest has great teachers, everyone is really nice, and we have lots of school spirit.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Shorecrest High School has done an awesome job teaching and mentoring two of my three grandchildren (one's not there yet).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

School spirit is great in all aspects; students respect and support music, arts, drama, sports and literature.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

I go to shorecrest and it is awesome! maybe there's a lot of drugs and gangs but just don't hang around those people then...it's just like any school. Everyone's so friendly and spirited and nice! The teachers are awesome, and I love the honors/AP program
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2009

I love Shorecrest! Everyone is nice, open, and so spirited. There are some issues, of course, but it wouldn't be high school without them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2008

I've had three children go through this school. All three went to a diffrent program in their senior years..Shorecrest and it's teachers failed to provide what students need to achieve their goals..Shoreline Community College helped each one of our kids..and now they are on to careers. with NO thanks to Shorecrest..Wish I would have pulled them out earlier!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

Gangs, Violence, Drugs its horrible! After my sons Sophmore year at Shorecrest I sent him right to Shorewood. It was the best decision of our lives. He loves the positive atmosphere and the great teachers Shorewood provides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

School environment scheduling prepares student for a 4 year college. Providing each students with a mac laptop computer is awesome. Digital photo, social psychology, math, & other classes made my daughter very excited in attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

I am going to be a junior at Shorecrest high school this fall. To be perfectly honest, I don't really like Shorecrest that much. Yes, the performing arts programs are amazing, but the emphasis is mostly put on the football team (which isn't even that good) and band. Other programs don't get much recognition at all. There is also a lack of classroom structure, and the rules are very slack. I can't wait to be a senior.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2007

I think shorecrest is a pretty good school. The teachers are outstanding, the music program is amazing, the extracurriculars are good. My daughter is pretty happy (as happy as a teenager can be about attending high school). Even though she is pretty 'different' in many ways, she is not harassed or bullied and has a circle of friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2007

The B student that wants to go to college does not get much help at this school, only those that qualify for AP or vocational bound get the necessary help that is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

Shorecrest High School is overall a very good school, as are most schools in the Shoreline district. We have a variety of interesting classes, and the teachers are all dedicated to their chosen profession. It is nice to know that you are being taught by people that enjoy what they do. The one complaint I have is that the Performing Arts programs do not receive as much recognition as the sports programs, and that is very disappointing to those involved.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2006

This school has the potential to change a lot of students lives, the rules are too lenient. not much personal attention is paid to students who really need it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

Very fun school, kinda boring at times, active, sports centered though
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 22, 2005

Shorecrest is the best High School around. Ofcourse, kids will be kids. If your son was being bullyed, it should have reported it to security/administration and something would have been done. Shorecrest is a quality school, and anyone can find something that they want to do to meet people, form friendships, learn new skills, etc.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 54% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 82% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 93% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
99%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 96% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 22% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
27%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 66% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 28% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 19% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
64%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 35% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 35% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
33%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 23% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 15% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 34% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 20% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
33%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 18% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students58%
Female57%
Male58%
Black47%
Asian59%
Asian/Pacific Islander61%
Hispanic44%
Multiracial39%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Low income45%
Not low income64%
Special education27%
Not special education61%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students67%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education64%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White100%
Low income100%
Not low income100%
Not special education100%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students28%
Femalen/a
Male28%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White33%
Low income15%
Not low income38%
Special educationn/a
Not special education47%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students78%
Female76%
Male80%
Black67%
Asian62%
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial86%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income61%
Not low income85%
Special education17%
Not special education83%
Limited English0%
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Students80%
Female80%
Male80%
Black56%
Asian74%
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial87%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income70%
Not low income86%
Special education36%
Not special education83%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students50%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Geometry

All Students36%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2010.

364 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2011.

326 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Reading

All Students86%
Female88%
Male85%
Black82%
Asian77%
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanic81%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income73%
Not low income92%
Special education44%
Not special education90%
Limited English13%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students88%
Female92%
Male85%
Black86%
Asian79%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic78%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Low income76%
Not low income93%
Special education39%
Not special education92%
Limited English31%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 7%
Hispanic 11% 20%
Two or more races 10% 6%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 13%N/A8%
Special education 111%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 226%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 78%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15343 25th Ave N.E.
Shoreline, WA 98155
Phone: (206) 393-4286

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lakeside School
Seattle, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT