Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shorewood High School 2

Posted May 25, 2016
- a student
Frankly, the school is unorganized, its schedule is ineffective and wasteful, and it encourages getting ahead through means that are less than beneficial. The staff are nice, for the most part, but the teaching is abysmal in some classes. Coming from a school with a more standard 6 period schedule, I was able to learn more in a short period than a "A/B" long day period at this school (Shorewood uses a strange, ineffective 3 period day plus study hall, alternating 1,3,5/2,4,6 every Tuseday-Friday). The building is nice, though it lacks lockers, which are made up for by lending iPads. The issue here is that about 85% of the time iPads remain unused. I find that I use mine in one class every 2-3 weeks. Online textbooks are provided, but sometimes don't work properly. It's May and the company still hasn't resolved my not being able to access my Chemistry book. The schools classrooms are supposedly "Safe Spaces" which is good, but apparently the hallways are not? I don't see the logic there to be honest. There's also a shocking lack of rule enforcement, both in class and out. Luckily this doesn't seem to be a massive problem, but it is still worrying. Overall I just feel that, coming from a "better" school, Shorewood is inefficient. That is the best way I can describe it. A rating of 2/5 may be a little harsh, but that's all I can justify giving it. I know many other students who would give upwards to 4 or 5 stars, so it might just be personal learning style and a need for a more structured focus. But for introverts who are deeper thinkers, and require a curriculum less focused on begging teachers for good grades through email, and more want an actually good and independent education, I really can't recommend this school.

Shorewood High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 25, 2016
- a student
It relies too much on busy work, and not enough on actual content and essays.


Shorewood High School 1

Posted August 25, 2015
- a student
This school has a new facility which is great. Everything is clean and student have access to the library and other up to date technology. The adminitration of the school is very disengaged with any student and their needs. The school counselor is far from professional. He uses his imagination to evaluate students instead of sticking with the facts. The school is more focused on putting students in either an IEP program or advanced placement. The students in between are disrespected by certani staff members/teachers and are taught just enough to give the appearance of learning. The student in between do not bring in the money. If your student needs help with learing, DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD, here. Stay away from the school psy. He is very unprofessional. If it was not for the small group of teachers that actually care about the students, this school will be a nightmare to attend.

Shorewood High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a student
This school has a new facility which is great. Everything is clean and student have access to the library and other up to date technology. The adminitration of the school is very disengaged with any student and their needs. The school counselor is far from professional. Some teachers/administrators speak rudely to students and make up stories about students, abusing their authority

Shorewood High School 5

Posted March 01, 2014
- a student
With the brand new state-of-the-art facility, learning and connecting with our peers is much more lively. Shorewood has excellent teachers who understand students and how they learn. Music and sports at this school are top-of-the-line. There is a large space for students to gather, so the whole place feels more homely. School may not be very exciting in general, but the Shorewood ASB does a great job of getting many students engaged in activities. Overall, this school is very accepting and is a great place to learn!


Shorewood High School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
This school is state of the art brand new. the district always has enough money to be inclusive of all students in all activities.

Shorewood High School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
I see a lot of the reviews talk shortcomings of the facility. They are building a brand new, $75M facility which will open in 2 months. So those issues are history and should be reflected in the ratings. All new school, fields, everything. I have had three kids graduate from Shorewood. All three had pretty much the experience they made out of it. One was highly driven and graduated #3 in his class. He got an appointment to the Air Force academy and is a practicing attorney now. One was more social and got good grades and loved the drill team and other activities. She made many life long friends there. The third is more of a geek and didn't do as well academically but it was because his own lack of organization and just not being as driven as the others. I think Shorewood is a very good school and any shortcomings it had will be eliminated with the new facility.

Shorewood High School 2

Posted June 04, 2010
- a parent
The school is good for good students. When you kid has learning disabilities, ADD you are in trouble. There are teachers who do not respond to e-mails at all, some respond with weeks delay, councelors are similar in this matter. You have to fight for everything, nobody will volunteer a solution. If you need anything you have to go to the principal or school administrator to get things done.


Shorewood High School 5

Posted May 19, 2009
- a student
Shorewood was the best investment I ever made in my entire life. Everyone just got along and there was bad stuff going on like at any high school, but there was never any pressure to do anything you didn't want to. Even thought our sports teams weren't always #1 and sometimes were last, everyone at Shorewood has so much pride and team spirit all the time. Compared to my friend's from other schools, Shorewood was the dream school. Love love love it.

Shorewood High School 4

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
Our son is in his Senior year and has had 4 years of wonderment. He jumped in and became involved from the start. He has taken AP classes and has not slacked off. He does not waste time and is always looking for new adventures. If a student tries something they might like it. Did you know Shorewood has a bowling team. How about the acclaimed Jazz band. Not your cup of tea, there's cheer,flag and drill teams. Also to many clubs to mention, but there is also something for everyone who wants to experience Shorewood during their time there.

Nearby schools

Shorewood High School
17300 Fremont Ave North, Shoreline, WA  98133
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (206) 393-4372
Last modified Shorewood High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top