Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Evergreen School

Private | PK-8 | 441 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Shoreline

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $259,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2008

Great teachers and lots of opportunities to broaden the minds of kids growing up in a global world. We love the focus on international studies, and languages other than English. A very diverse community and not just for those in the very high income bracket.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

Good afterschool programs and great families. As for academics we thought it was overrated. It was difficult to measure any progress with our kids since they don't give traditional grades and don't believe in standardized testing (except to get in). The school has experienced growing pains and may have lost their way but overral it is still a good school. As long as you don't set you expectations too high you won't be dissapointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

This is a great school for gifted students. Our daughter was nurtured by some fantastic teachers in the younger grades and then invigorated and challenged by a rigorous program and energetic teachers in the upper grades. The school gradually increases expectations and responsibilities as they children get older, and the ability of my child to be an independent worker, to be proud of her achievements and tolerant of her mistakes is amazing. She is a good team worker, loves to learn, and is ready to confidently enter the world. The music and sports programs have improved immensely, especially after the school built a gym and small theater. Exceptional after-school program, especially chess. The campus is beautiful, and there is a good focus on being environmentally responsible. Wonderful parent body - diverse, tolerant, fun people committed to helping make the school great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

I find the school a center of excellence in the greater Seattle area. My children receive an excellent education tailored to their abilities and learning styles. You get what you pay for, and with Evergreen you get that and more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2006

Public image of the school and quality of education is overrated. Some good teachers retired, left, or were even encouraged to leave. School is lacking core of great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

Very disappointed with this school... I don't find this school to be a school for 'gifted' children. Some are struggling with academics and have behavior problems. Some of the teachers are incompetent and emotionally hurtful to children. Many of the teachers seem burnt out. Surprisingly, the administration did nothing about some of these teachers for over 10 years even though the parents complained year after year. One thing they do offer is good extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

I had two children that went to Evergreen from Preschool through 6th grade. Overall I think the quality of the academic programs in the early elementary grades was very strong. I was much less impressed with the middle school. In my opinion there are some really amazing teachers, and there are some real duds. I also feel it's well known who the duds are, but not much is done to get rid of them. We loved the community feel of the school. There is lots of parental involvement and lots of different ways to be involved. Our main reason for leaving was finacial. We have a third child, and we could not afford to enroll them, so we decided to move everyone to public school. We are very happy with that decision. The arts at Evergreen are excellent. Afterschool sports opportunities are much better at public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

We were recommended to this school by Dr. Fred Provenzano after he evaluated our first grader. We are extremely happy with the school. It requires a bit more of parent involvement than most, but worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2004

Evergreen is a good academic school for gifted children, but our experience was that it lacked attention to the social interactions of the children and that caused some very hurtful and problematic situations. In particular for our child, there were others who shunned the newcomer and much exclusion that the teacher and staff did not deal with at all. It was well into the year when we discovered this as our child did not say anything about it, and we had to pressure the school to do anything to try to remedy the situation, or apologize in a meaningful way. I belive it left a very lasting impact on this young person. I would be very careful to check this school out before sending a student here; perhaps they're paying more attention to this now.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 60%
Two or more races 21% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 7%
Black 2% 5%
Hispanic 1% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Margaret Wagner
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15201 Meridian Avenue North
Shoreline, WA 98133
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 364-2650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lakeside School
Seattle, WA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT