Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
318 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Luke School 5

Posted November 26, 2015
- a parent
Rick Boyle became the principal in 2013 and has worked miracles at this school with incredible technology initiatives and other vast improvements. Mr. Boyle knows each student and is just an incredible leader and wonderful mentor. My son has flourished here. The community here is incredibly loving, nurturing and inclusive whether you are Catholic or not. My one complaint, and I sincerely wish it would be addressed, is the middle school math teacher. She seems absolutely over-whelmed raising her own spirited small children and that seems to leave very little energy for her teaching. Very few of the parents and students have much respect for her as a teacher (but enjoy her as a person) because she has such a short fuse. Even with that teacher in place, I still think St. Luke is an excellent institution and am so grateful that I chose it for my son.

St Luke School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 26, 2015
- a parent
Thanks, Mr. Boyle! You're knocking it out of the park for St. Luke and we're grateful for your leadership.


St Luke School 5

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
St. Luke has a wonderful community of parents, kids and teachers. The parent involvement is tremendous and as is the case with most parochial schools, a requirement. I know my child won't "fall through the cracks" here, each child is seen as an important individual with infinite potential, it is a caring, and nurturing environment but also one that is demanding in respect for one another. The Children are taught to care for each other, for their community and to serve as stewards of the planet. It has one of the most impressive recycling programs I have ever seen. The principal knows the 350 kids by name as well as the parents, he knows the power of a kind word or encouragement and the positive effect it has on our children. Some of the teachers have served this community for decades and they continue to display an incredible passion for what they do.

St Luke School 5

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
We have two children in St Luke and we've been there since 2005. It's a perfect fit if you want a school that requires accountability for both kids and parents, strong values, and a sense of real community. The teachers are able to take a real vested approach to each child since class sizes are no too big. The principal actually has children in the school, which is a bonus, and it shows. This is school and community (whether you are a parishioner or not) and we believe that it is absolutely preparing our boys for life.

St Luke School 2

Posted September 26, 2012
- a community member
St. Luke used to be a wonderful school! The teachers were very nice, and I've really become more confident and comfortable throughout my 8 years here! When middle school hit, things started getting bad! Bullying became a pretty big problem, and it caused many of my friends to leave, and no one did anything about it! Some of the middle school teachers have caused great grief to some students, and some have even told students they couldn't teach them! Recently, they're having kids write everything in cursive, and the school is turning into an old, traditional Catholic school. I left the school after 7th grade, and my parents are pulling my sister out as well. I don't like how the school is run anymore, and even though I miss the school, I don't think I'd want to go back there unless things change soon!


St Luke School 5

Posted January 23, 2012
- a parent
St. Luke has been a fantastic place for our three children. Our family has experienced every grade from preschool through 8th, and at each stage, the teaching was excellent. In particular, the junior high teachers are very experienced and really "get" the kids at that age, simultaneously challenging and nurturing kids through those tricky middle school years. We love the fact that at St. Luke, our kids are not only receiving an excellent education, but have the opportunity to do so much beyond the classroom: band, speech, chess, etc. In particular, all our kids have loved playing CYO sports, where they have learned sportsmanship, physical skill, and how to win and lose with grace. What we appreciate most about St. Luke is that, beyond top-notch academics and athletics, they are teaching our children to be good people. To share their gifts with others. To give back to the community. To help those less fortunate. To set a good example. To be a leader. This is what St. Luke does best. Overall, St. Luke School is a loving, welcoming community where students are exceedingly prepared for high school and beyond. I can't imagine sending my children anywhere else.

St Luke School 5

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
I have found this school to generate in my daughter a "love of learning". She is excited about school and feels successful. I am happy with the curriculum and also the emphasis on helping others (Philippines) Having switched from public to private we were worried about "cliques". This is one of the nicest parent groups that I've been around. The kids here are very nice and "inclusive" vs. exclusive. The energy from teachers, principal, office staff, parents and kids is upbeat and friendly.

St Luke School 5

Posted May 12, 2011
- a parent
St Luke School has a close, family-like feel! They have fantastic, dedicated teachers and a caring staff that has always welcomed me and helped me feel at home when I walk into the school. The teachers utilize progressive teaching styles targeted to the individual needs and learning abilities of each of my three children. Students are encouraged and educated according to their abilities, not the average child in the classroom. My primary interest for my children was for them to gain a strong appreciation and love for learning, a foundation for understanding how to pursue their specific interests and most importantly, for them to blossom individually, with a strong sense of christian values and healthy self-esteem. St. Luke School has meet all three of these goals and has been an excellent choice for all three of my unique and individual children.


St Luke School 5

Posted March 18, 2011
- a community member
St. Luke has been such a great experience for me. I have been there since Pre-School and I have grown up with my friends here. The teachers are so unique and fun! They know how to teach a student or how to get through to them when they're struggling. The new principal has been a delightful addition to the community. In this school, you will have the chance to get to know other families/parents/students/teachers, etc. You start to feel a strong sense of school pride after a while. Again, I practically grew up here. This school is amazing. It's like a second-home. St. Luke has been a joy to me and I cannot wait to spend one final year here in 8th grade.

St Luke School 5

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
I have two kids at St Luke School and they love it!!! We recently moved and were new to the school this year. My kids felt very welcomed and comfortable - they fit right in and made friends right away. The St Luke community is also very welcoming to us as a family. I am very particular about my children's education and would wholeheartedly choose St Luke again. A few of the other reviews suggested that the school needs a new leader - well, the new principal started this year and he has brought so much wonderful, fresh energy to the school. The kids, staff, and parents are happy - it is a great place to be!

Nearby schools

St Luke School
17533 Saint Luke Place North, Shoreline, WA  98133
(206) 542-1133
Last modified St Luke School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top