Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
50 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Living Wisdom School of Seattle 2

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
A number of their classes have heavily mixed grade levels which can make it very difficult to teach each child to the appropriate level. Likely because of this issue it doesn’t appear that their classes really prepare kids academically. So if you want to transfer to another school your child isn’t likely to be ready unless you do a lot of work at home. So you are kind of stuck with their system.

Living Wisdom School of Seattle 5

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
As another reviewer said, this school is an undiscovered gem! My son has blossomed at LWS. As part of the regular curriculum he is learning French, has the opportunity to take violin lessons, and is getting introduced to other cultures through cooking and a diverse student body and staff. He has been taught about bees from an actual beekeeper, has hands on cooking class from a chef, and yoga from a certified yoga instructor. He is now doing math well above his grade level and using a vocabulary I am consistently impressed with. I can't say enough good things about this school. I know he is in an environment where he is getting individualized attention and is loved by his classmates and his teachers. I get text messages with photos from his teacher and know what the weeks lessons will be. If he is struggling or excelling in a subject I will always know because of the amazing open communication that comes from such a close knit community that the school fosters. We LOVE Living Wisdom!!!!


Living Wisdom School of Seattle 2

Posted June 27, 2016
- a community member
After reading the LWS web site we thought it would be a great place for our child. A safe, loving, and nurturing environment. Our child has some social/ emotional issues and they really didn’t have the skills or resources to cope with it. In the end they really didn’t want to deal with a child that fell outside the norm. We felt that their position was contrary to what they profess to be their values.

Living Wisdom School of Seattle 5

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
This school has a wonderful and close knit school and spiritual community. My wife and I love that our children practice yoga and meditation and that they are always encouraged to be calm and present. Our son is in pre-school and he loves circle time, show and tell, art and nature. Our daughter is in kindergarten and she loves math and reading as well as the curriculum around art and nature. Small class sizes allow a lot of personal attention from the teachers.

Living Wisdom School of Seattle 5

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
As a child I had the opportunity to study both in a holistic school, and at a factory school. As a parent I am glad we found a holistic school for our 3 and 5 year old. They have been attending the school for 2+ years and not once have they said that they don t want to go to school. When I drop them off, it is a happy sight of two little girls skipping and hoping their way from parking lot to class room. With low student to teacher ratio they get the attention needed to encourage them to see learning as a joyful experience. School emphasizes on the child as a holistic human being who will grow up to be aware of other people s realities and not just their own. One way to think of Education for Life approach that this school follows is; Montessori + Child as a kind and centered human being. Yes, the little ones do Yoga, and learn to sing (French version of Frosty the Snow Man is quite entertaining) among other things. The school is run by a spiritual community but it is not a religious school. It has kids from families representing many religions, Christian, Buddhist, Muslim, Hindu and others. You will also meet many open minded parents who will welcome you into their social life.


Living Wisdom School of Seattle 5

Posted January 03, 2015
- a parent
Our 3 & 5 year olds are attending for their 2nd year. I feel the school is an undiscovered gem, deserving of a waiting list! There is nothing else like it in WA State, let alone Shoreline. The teachers teach to the natural passions of the students, providing academic structure and guidance while leaving room for magic and wonder. The way grades are grouped, younger students learn from older students and vice verse. The typical rows of desks facing a chalkboard is turned on it's head with multiple learning stations occurring simultaneously. At first it was not clear how having such an emphasis on nature, art, basic meditation skills and yoga so early on would lay a foundation for academics excellence, but with random visits during the school day we have seen how the sometimes lofty sounding philosophy of "education for life" has a tangible brilliance. What a difference it makes when the motivation comes from within! Remarkably our children are becoming more calm, rational and learned, digging into homework assignments, memorizing and reciting entire poems, singing in french... we have noticed some wonderful changes in our children since attending Living Wisdom School.

Living Wisdom School of Seattle 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
An absolutely wonderful holistic school. Finally a school that(REALLY DOES put the kids first (instead of just saying they put the kids first in order to gain advertising appeal). This is a small community of kind and friendly families and teachers that enjoy their job teaching and knowing each of the children on a very individualized and personal basis. Its a real blessing to have found LWS. Never before has our son been so highly motivated to go to school each day, stay extra after school, and like doing homework! There is no battle at all after he started at LWS. And this isn't the first time he was at a private school. He was at a "child centered" school prior to LWS, and - trust me - the results were no where close to the same. NOW (not before) he is super stoked about learning.

Living Wisdom School of Seattle 1

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
I once wrote an excellent review of this school and am so happy it was never posted. Our son has been dealing with issues of being bullied on and off and the response from the teacher and the director is that he brings it on himself and suggested we try to be positive and wait it out till the end of the school year. So much for helping children learn how to be in community harmoniously and taking adult responsibility vs. blaming the kids!


Living Wisdom School of Seattle 5

Posted June 02, 2010
- a parent
I have a son in first grade here. He is reading above his level, and has a passion for math. His teachers noticed this and have challenged him one on one to the point that he is now doing some fourth and fifth grade math and loving it! This school is unique in that they work with each child at their level, and challenge them in fun ways to grow. My son has thrived academically here. But this school is more than just academics. He has practiced yoga and meditation there since preschool and is a calm, happy child because of it. He has learned how to effectively channel his emotions, to feel confident in his strengths, and how to take joy in helping others succeed. I think this place is the best kept secret in Seattle area schools.

Living Wisdom School of Seattle 5

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
My child has been at living wisdom school for 2 years now and I couldn't be happier with the program. She is a very bright child and was struggling in her public school setting to the point where she was falling behind academically. She was very frustrated and overwhelmed. I have seen dramatic changes both in her academics and overall outlook as a student since the move. She is up to grade level in all subjects now thanks to the one on one academic planning and the teachers ability to work with each students strengths. She is now truly excited about learning! I highly recommend this program.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Living Wisdom School of Seattle
2000 NE Perkins Way, Shoreline, WA  98155
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (425) 772-9862
Last modified Living Wisdom School of Seattle is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top