Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Centennial Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2012

I'm a single Father of two children. My oldest daughter attended this school for 7th and 8th grade. She enjoyed all teachers but one. The greatest part of this school is all the parent interaction in that school. I loved helping out when ever possible. I also served as Watchdog and really enjoyed being part of my daughters academic achievements at Centennial. I thank the all the staff for your hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

Centennial was a great experience for both of my kids. My older child has gone on to excel academically at the high school and my younger one seems to be right at her heels. Their teachers cared enough to email us with progress reports, upcoming projects and major assignments. Many teachers also maintained websites which helped us keep track of daily assignments. Family access also kept us informed of grades and missing assignments. All in all I think the teachers do a great job of not only teaching but of keeping parents in information needed to help our kids succeed academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

Very oppressive environment. Kids are not challenged academically. Lack of building leadership and enthusiasm. Had 3 kids go through the 2 years at this school and nothing has changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

I LOVE CENTENNIAL! Its the best school i have ever gone to and i feel TOTALLY safe. If i ever need help from one of my teachers all i have to do is speak up and i will be helped. I <3 Centennial! GO PATRIOTS!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2007

Centennial has been a great school for my child and she has excelled.The entire school has stepped up to the plate regarding the WASL testing. The teachers have been wonderful, and ask to be contacted frequently by parents if there are any concerns. Parents need to know this is the age when it is expected of them to take a step back, yet still be there in the background, and allow the child to grow, so to prepare for high school, to learn what is expected and the coincidences if the child does not follow through. The PTO these last two years is fantastic! They've purchased several computers for the library, as well as classroom technology for all classes. All other activities are also supported by the PTO, to reduce costs for parents and to make sure the kids have some fun things to do at school too! Wonderful Two Years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2006

My child is in her last year at this school, and for the first time ever I am having to pay for her to get extra help, pretty much all her grades have fallen, except band.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2006

I think that there is a discipline problem at the school. If a student drops a piece of paper on the ground it is grounds to give out a detention or suspension. Last year the principals gave out over 53 suspensions for the last 3 days of school. The principal is pretty much a mid manager. Supports the teachers, but not the parents or students. The teachers are pretty good . Maybe that's why their 7th grade WASL scores are low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

My child has an IEP for a learning difficulty. I am disappointed with the progress that he is making in school. I would like to see a better program for helping these guys out so they won't fall thru the cracks. I feel like its a 'sink or swim' environment in the regular classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2004

Two of my kids have attended CMS and I've been very impressed. My oldest was weak in math and very shy and was nurtured and really advanced in her study skills and confidence. Her math teacher, Mr Berry never gave up and was very approachable in and out of class. My son has been able to take advanced math classes under Mr Taylor and he has done really well. When I've had concerns about each of my children they have been handled to my satisfaction quickly by the couselor, Mr. Hoover. When I've attended conferences I've been impressed that all of the teachers knew my kids both academically and personally. The band director, Mrs. Pilcher is fun and passionate about music and the band is excellent. Andrea
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2004

Centennial is a fantastic school that is centered around respect. CMS is full of a great group of respectful kids with great academic achievement. Honors courses are available for those students who may need an extra challenge.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2003

This is a great school with lots of helpful teachers. The extracurricular activities range from academic to sports to the arts. The respect rule at Centennial tells you alot for this is the one and only rule there! Respect yourself, others, and CMS and you'll be fine!


Posted October 17, 2003

cool school, but needs new portables lol


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

343 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students46%
Female54%
Male40%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic26%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income23%
Not low income56%
Special education10%
Not special education53%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female76%
Male49%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income40%
Not low income71%
Special education34%
Not special education66%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students61%
Female77%
Male48%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income41%
Not low income70%
Special education24%
Not special education68%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students34%
Female40%
Male29%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic16%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White37%
Low income19%
Not low income40%
Special education7%
Not special education39%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female63%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Low income43%
Not low income58%
Special education23%
Not special education59%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students48%
Female52%
Male44%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White49%
Low income31%
Not low income54%
Special education12%
Not special education54%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

37 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students96%
Female94%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White97%
Low incomen/a
Not low income96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Low incomen/a
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 60%
Hispanic 7% 20%
Two or more races 6% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 7%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 11%N/A8%
Special education 113%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 229%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 21N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 14N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 62%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3000 South Machias Rd
Snohomish, WA 98290
Phone: (360) 563-4525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hillcrest Academy
Lake Stevens, WA



Snohomish Center
Snohomish, WA


Alc
Snohomish, WA


Parent Partnerhip
Snohomish, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT